We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mimizan Surf Academy

Mimizan, France
More
About Mimizan Surf Academy
Mimizan Surf Academy is surf school located on one of the least crowded beaches in Mimizan South. We offer surf lesson for beginners and advanced surfers in several languages (French, English, Dutch and Spanish). See u soon in the water!
Read more
Open Now
Hours Today: 9:00 am - 8:30 pm
See all hours

Mimizan Surf Academy
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
75Reviews2Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 57
  • 14
  • 3
  • 0
  • 1
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Marten D wrote a review Sep 2020
Utrecht, The Netherlands4 contributions
We arrived in Mimizan for a 5-day class (stage) but the weather was unfortunately very poor. Luckily Romain and Eva were flexible and friendly to help us out! We enjoyed two one-hour lessons on surfing and could continue to surf after the class by ourselves without extra charges. They both spoke and taught us very well in English! We’d recommend surfing at Surf Academy to other people visiting Mimizan! Thanks Romain and Eva!
Read more
Date of experience: September 2020
Helpful
Share
vincent k wrote a review Aug 2018
4 contributions
Had a week of surf lessons at this place and the first lesson, which was given in English, I couldn't manage to understand a single thing the teacher explained. The second third and fourth lesson I had a great teacher who spoke both English and Dutch and had a great few lessons j just had problems getting up on my board but he helped a lot and kept on giving tips and I felt that I was almost at the point of surfing The fifth lesson was a mixed class with french people since I was the only one that day that wanted English lesson but again great teacher who I could understand really well and he really had a great number of tips and improvements. But somehow Everytime I got almost onto my feet I fell Then the last lesson came with again a french English mixed group, because the Dutch speaking teacher had a day off. This guy asked how many time everyone surfed, he then started to explain the basics of your first surf lesson in french and then in English. I wasted a solid 20 minutes with this on my last class. He gave a a few tips that where totally different than anything I heard before from the other teachers and after the lesson I left and gone back to the Netherlands thinking, they could have given me so much more effective training than this. I did some research on the board they supplied me with during the classes, a good beginner board for someone up to 85 kilos. They could have told me that this was their weight limit since I'm 25 kilos heavier so I'm left wondering could I have ever made it up the board or am I just to heavy.
Read more
Date of experience: August 2018
Helpful
Share
Response from MIMIZANSURFACADEMY, Gérant at Mimizan Surf Academy
Responded 20 Aug 2018
Dear Sir, Sorry to hear you didn't do as well as you expected in the water. Our boards are designed for beginners and given the wide range our boards we provide, it is too bad you didn't find something that suited you. Normally 8'6 boards fit really heavy people (well over 85kg) I'm sorry you rated the whole experience as horrible but I'm glad you had a good experience with Achile and the other instructor you had. Surfing requires a lot of trying and failing. It leaves even the most experienced surfers with a bittersweet feeling at times. Having different instructors with different methods and advice can be good because, especially when you don't manage to stand up, everything is good to take. Best regards
Read more
Gina H wrote a review Aug 2018
London, United Kingdom56 contributions48 helpful votes
Great experience for all of the teenagers (and the one “older” teenager - one of the mothers in our group!). Really encouraging thoughtful teaching with superb English and the ability to mix and match languages/abilities/confidence levels as need be; also terrific organisation and really lovely calm staff sorting out the bookings including people in our group deciding to join in at the last minute. Lessons with Ashil were a huge hit - such a lovely guy! The whole experience comes highly recommended from us!
Read more
Date of experience: August 2018
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from MIMIZANSURFACADEMY, Gérant at Mimizan Surf Academy
Responded 20 Aug 2018
Thank you very much Gina for the great review. We are glad that you had a great time and hope to see you again someday.
Read more