We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 2 Buddle Street, Wallsend NE28 6EH, England
Phone Number:
+44 191 236 9347
Website

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 176 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 49
    Excellent
  • 66
    Very good
  • 25
    Average
  • 19
    Poor
  • 4
    Terrible
Buying merchandise and taking a break

Stopped here after walking from Tynemouth. The staff were really helpful. Cafe food was reasonably priced. Merchandise for Hadrian's Wall was a little pricey but good

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Con_and_Julie
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

176 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 163: English reviews
Level Contributor
233 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped here after walking from Tynemouth. The staff were really helpful. Cafe food was reasonably priced. Merchandise for Hadrian's Wall was a little pricey but good

Helpful?
Thank Con_and_Julie
TyneandWearMuseums, Manager at Segedunum, responded to this review

Hello Thank you very much for your review. Geoff Woodward Museum Manager More 

North Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Segedunum is a roman fort and museum in Wallsend 5 minutes from Wallsend metro station. Well worth a visit. Series of talks and exhibitions over the summer. Todays talk was by John O'Rourke who constructed the metal statue of Sentius Tectonicus on display at Segedunum. He told the story of how it was made. There is an exhibition showing the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michael H
TyneandWearMuseums, Manager at Segedunum, responded to this review

Hello Mike Thank you very much for your review of your visit to Segedunum. I'm glad you enjoyed yourself, and we hope to see you again. Geoff Woodward Museum Manager More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Drove for 2 hours to come here thinking that there would be a substantial part of Hadrian's wall. Oh I was wrong. It was a rock. Hadrian's rock, not a wall which was annoying. The rock that had the builders names on was interesting. The reconstruction of the baths were shut which was very disappointing. The museum itself was quite... More 

Helpful?
Thank charlied321
TyneandWearMuseums, Manager at Segedunum, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Segedunum. I am sorry that you had such a disappointing experience. Segedunum does include an 80 metre stretch of the foundations of Hadrian’s Wall, which is in parts several courses high, and is very significant in terms of archaeological evidence. Next to it we have a 3.5 metre... More 

Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I like Roman History; my wife likes Roman History. We know that Roman sites cannot be located in idyllic settings with unlimited resources. We were prepared for the surroundings of Segedunum. This ranks as an extremely poor example of how to "package" Rome in northern Britain. The money and experience was there to make this a better experience and one... More 

Helpful?
Thank David S
TyneandWearMuseums, Manager at Segedunum, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit to Segedunum Roman Fort and for taking the time to pass on your comments. I am sorry you and your wife had such a disappointing experience when you visited the museum and site, especially since you are both such Roman history enthusiasts. The museum is aimed at a broad audience,... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My partner and I came here last year with our 8 year old son. It was nice and quiet for us, ( I think we just hit on very lucky). My son made a Roman coin and their was a lot of activities for children to get involved in, we thoroughly​ enjoyed it and will be back.

Helpful?
Thank Ginbigg
TyneandWearMuseums, Manager at Segedunum, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for your review - I'm glad you and your family enjoyed your visit. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Geoff Woodward Museum Manager More 

Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2017

The museum is a good visit, detailing Roman life at the edge of the frontier. The ruins are easily accessible and the ability to view from the tower allows for a unique perspective on life in the Roman empire. Wandering the ruins is also very interesting. Unfortunately during our visit the reconstructed bathhouses were closed for preservation work.

Helpful?
Thank dmathewYEG
TyneandWearMuseums, Manager at Segedunum, responded to this review

Hello Thank you very much for your review I am glad you enjoyed your visit. I'm sorry that you were unable to access the reconstructed bath house - it is closed for necessary maintenance at present. I'm pleased you were able to appreciate the museum and the ruins of the original fort. Best wishes Geoff Woodward museum Manager More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2017

i was transfixed, my friend cried out, 'look at what? there's nothing there!' i guess it's all your point of view. for those who claim there's nothing to see from the tower, the museum is fascinating, i couldn't get that same person out of it. i loved both. the staff are friendly and helpful, the cafe is wonderful and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank diane c
TyneandWearMuseums, Manager at Segedunum, responded to this review

Hello Thank you very much for your wonderful review - I'll pass on your comments to the team. Thanks Geoff Woodward Museum Manager More 

Seahouses, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2017 via mobile

The staff of the museum couldn't have been nicer, pointing out everything we asked of them. The site and the excavation were a little disappointing looking a little tired and focused on child visitors, rather than adults. The recently excavated area of Hadrian Wall, a few hundred meters from the museum was fascinating and well worth the museum fee. Overall,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mick M
TyneandWearMuseums, Manager at Segedunum, responded to this review

Hello Thank you very much for your comments. We were all very excited that the original bath house was recently unearthed, it's good to hear your enjoyment of that. I'm sorry you were disappointed as we have been recently refreshing the site including painting fencing and working with partners to commission a brand-new Centurion sculpture to mark the eastern end... More 

Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
344 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2017 via mobile

We'd been meaning to visit here ever since it opened, and took advantage of a few days in the area to use the Metro to see various sights. It was easy to find from the station, only a short walk. We had a £1 reduced entry fee, as the bath house wasn't open, but we were able to see a... More 

Helpful?
Thank gingerjudith
TyneandWearMuseums, Manager at Segedunum, responded to this review

Hello Thank you very much for your review. I'll pass on your kind comments to the team. Best wishes Geoff Woodward Museum Manager More 

1 review
Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

What a view. Food in the cafe is really nice, lots to see and look at inside and around the site and When you arrive you're greeted by the amazing centurion, looks powerful and fearsome. Amazing sight, highly recommend visiting

Helpful?
Thank Jamie H
TyneandWearMuseums, Manager at Segedunum, responded to this review

Hello Thank you very much for your review. It's great to hear this feedback about our new Centurion sculpture too. Best wishes Geoff Woodward Museum Manager More 

Travellers who viewed Segedunum also viewed

South Shields, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Segedunum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Segedunum and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Segedunum staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?