We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Churnet Valley Railway

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Kingsley & Froghall Station, Froghall, Stoke-on-Trent ST10 2HA, England
Phone Number:
+44 1538 758491
Website
Today
11:00 - 17:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Wed 11:00 - 17:00
Sat - Sun 11:00 - 17:00
Description:

The Churnet Valley Railway, is a picturesque heritage Steam Railway that...

The Churnet Valley Railway, is a picturesque heritage Steam Railway that runs through Staffordshire’s Little Switzerland, the Churnet Valley. It meanders alongside the Caldon Canal and the River Churnet for a delightful nostalgic 11 mile return journey.

Kingsley & Froghall Station has ample parking and disabled access and is home to the award winning traditional Tea Room plus the railways Souvenir Shop, both of which are open on running days.

Consall Station has no public road access making it very quiet and isolated in its situation beside the weir on River Churnet where the canal splits from the river. Nearby are the Lime Kilns and the Black Lion Public House.

At Cheddleton Station you can visit the Railway’s Engine Sheds and its small Railway Artifacts Museum.

Trains run most Sundays from February to October, and full weekends from Easter as well as Wednesdays from June to September. Additional services run on all Bank Holiday Mondays and school holidays.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 321 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 184
    Excellent
  • 82
    Very good
  • 31
    Average
  • 15
    Poor
  • 9
    Terrible
Beautiful

Lovingly kept in a wonderful location Warm friendly staff Thoroughly recommend Care at a very detailed level

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed 15 September 2016
Tony D
,
Bath, United Kingdom
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

321 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 321: English reviews
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

Lovingly kept in a wonderful location Warm friendly staff Thoroughly recommend Care at a very detailed level

Helpful?
Thank Tony D
HOCVR, Administrator at Churnet Valley Railway, responded to this review

We're delighted to receive such a positive review and look forward to welcoming you back soon. More 

UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

Very disappointing..... No Steam train as advertised, no option to enjoy the entertainment at Frogall station .... Just going back & forth on the same bit of track for 3 hrs !!...Food & service good on train .... But certainly not the 1940s extravaganza expected !!!

Helpful?
Thank SABERUk
HOCVR, Administrator at Churnet Valley Railway, responded to this review

We’re sorry that you were disappointed with your visit. Whilst every effort is made to ensure that steam trains will be in operation, due to the age of our locomotives we can never guarantee this. On this occasion a diesel locomotive was used as the steam locomotive had failed, and our volunteers worked overnight to ensure that the steam locomotive... More 

Aldridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2016

For an afternoon out we booked a reservation on Churnet Valley steam railway "Cream Tea Train" Our journey from Aldridge in the west Midlands to the station at Froghall in Staffordshire took about one and a quarter hours, this journey is very scenic and worthwhile. At Froghall station the era of steam was well presented and preserved by the staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank davidcoldicott2
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2016

We had a trip on the steam loco ,Hotspur, at Churnet Valley Railway yesterday. The trip included a cream tea, and was part of a family gift. We thought the cream tea was lovely, scones were large , tasty and fresh,and apparently made in local bakery. We could have as much tea as we wanted, and were encouraged to ask... More 

Helpful?
Thank janfizz
HOCVR, Administrator at Churnet Valley Railway, responded to this review

We're glad you had such a memorable visit and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Unfortunately, due to the design of our heritage dining car we're unable to accept children under 14 on our cream tea and dining trains for health & safety reasons. However visitors of all ages (and well-behaved 4-legged ones!) are very welcome to travel in... More 

UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

We caught the train a couple of minutes from our holiday cottage. Had a debate about whether our 3 boys (3,4,6) would manage a 2 hour round trip. It was also rather damp so didn't particularly want to get off and walk to break up the day. We bit the bullet and went for it. The prices were a bit... More 

Helpful?
Thank HonestlyMe
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2016

My wife had a trip on the footplate (birthday gift from our kids) which she really enjoyed, trip in the coaches was good too, lot of photo opportunities. Scenery was definitely England, not Switzerland but very pleasant especially seeing narrow boats. Try to blag into the works, brilliant if interested in engineering.

Helpful?
Thank johnsY7314JG
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2016

My wife and I enjoyed Sunday lunch on the Moorlander dining coach last week. Not every chef is capable of preparing a 3 course meal in a cramped kitchen and on a moving train but this one is! Congratulations to him and his bevy of lovely and efficient waitresses.

Helpful?
Thank johnturner27
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

Took our 20 month old for a lovely train ride, he thoroughly enjoyed it and even got to have his photo taken with the fat controller (ticket inspector) well worth the money.

Helpful?
Thank Tina L
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2016

Beautiful relaxed environment in a picturesque setting to remind us of the good old days. An interesting, leisurely and lengthy journey with one of the steepest gradients in Britain to stop but not alight in the foothills of the Peak District with far reaching vistas. Helpful staff. It may be a little off the beaten track but it is well... More 

Helpful?
Thank One-Gerry-G
Thame, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2016

Had been wanting to visit this Heritage Railway for sometime and was not disappointed. Something for everyone old or young. Went from Froghall Station. Very helpful staff excellent catering, good Loo's.The line goes through interesting countryside with the options to take walks from the stations. Train was Steam hauled with superb carraige rolling stock. Will definitely return but will try... More 

Helpful?
Thank Travelsrs

Travellers who viewed Churnet Valley Railway also viewed

Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
Trentham, Stoke-on-Trent
 
Biddulph, Stoke-on-Trent
 

Been to Churnet Valley Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Churnet Valley Railway and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Churnet Valley Railway staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?