We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Kingpin Bowling Lounge

Neighbourhood: Southbank
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Get directions
Address: 8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Phone Number: +61 13 26 95
Website
Description:

Not your traditional bowling alley - Kingpin Bowling Crown is the ultimate...

Not your traditional bowling alley - Kingpin Bowling Crown is the ultimate entertainment experience. With 15 state of the art bowling lanes, pool tables, 2 fully licensed bars, great food options & co-located with Galactic Circus - Australia's Largest Indoor Interactive Theme Park - Kingpin Bowling Crown is your one stop shop for FUN!

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 13 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 2
    Excellent
  • 5
    Very good
  • 1
    Average
  • 1
    Poor
  • 3
    Terrible
Fun but long wait

Booked at 7.45pm only to be told to come back at 10.55pm. Ended up going back to counter to ask what was happening after other people after us got a lane first.

3 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 July 2015
Cam L
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

13 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 12: English reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2016 via mobile

Went here for 2 games at 8pm on a Saturday night. Got there 15 min early as requested and was told the lane wasn't ready and to come back in 20 mins, which was fine. We got back and then got our shoes and waited for our lane to free up. We went to the bar and ordered a cocktail... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2016

Can't beat a bit of ten-pin bowling -- it evokes childhood memories and brings out the competitor in me. We decided to have a couple games during the hottest part of the day as a way to cool off. Two days later, it was raining, so my husband challenged me to a rematch. Pleased to say I reign victorious. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank aprilinperth
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2016

Great night out bowling with friends. I love that you can have a few drinks here and that they aren't ludicrously expensive. Its also great that you can purchase a pair of socks for only $5 if like us, you have been wearing thongs all day. Our lane was a little dodgy as the 9th pin would always get knocked... More 

Helpful?
Thank Danielle A
Morwell, Australia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2015 via mobile

Cool bowling alley with bar and food. Great appearance and the set up Meant it was not too noisy with segregated bowling areas. Staff were friendly and helpful but could do with cleaning up after patrons when they leave. We had empties and wet tables to contend with.

Helpful?
1 Thank Graeme S
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2015

Great Bowling Lounge! Lots of fun for friends and families! Bar was good with a great range, however they didn't have any mint on a Wednesday night which was weird and limited the actual available choices. Fun environment & lovely staff

Helpful?
Thank Alice R
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2015 via mobile

Booked at 7.45pm only to be told to come back at 10.55pm. Ended up going back to counter to ask what was happening after other people after us got a lane first.

Helpful?
Thank Cam L
Taryn D, Marketing Manager at Kingpin Bowling Lounge, responded to this review

Hi Cam, Thanks for taking the time to review our venue here at Kingpin Crown! Sorry to hear you had to wait to get on a lane - school holidays always certainly increases the wait time in centre - but it's great to hear you had a great time once you got onto the lanes. We will certainly pass your... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2015

I use to frequent bowling alleys and was an amateur enthusiast for a number of years. So when I say that Kingpin bowling is the worst (and most poorly organized) bowling joint I’ve ever visited it should come with some weight to it. When my family and I visited for a quick weekend game we could not help thinking, throughout... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Arielred
Taryn D, Marketing Manager at Kingpin Bowling Lounge, responded to this review

Hi Ariel, Thank you for your feedback and we are sorry to hear about your experience here at Kingpin Crown. At Kingpin we pride ourselves on our customer serviuce and try to exceed expectations on all occasions, which clearly didn't occur on this occasion. We would love to discuss your experience further so we can ensure this doesn't occur again.... More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2014

Malfunctioning bowling equipment had to be reset six times tonight, my son had to go to the counter for assistance, long waiting times made this a disappointing customer experience for a fun venue! The nachos we ordered were uncooked, service poor all around, no feedback forms at the counter. Overall a negative KINGPIN bowling experience!

Helpful?
Thank VSmail1234
Taryn D, Marketing Department at Kingpin Bowling Lounge, responded to this review

Hi Vsmall1234, Thank you for your feedback :) We understand that you didn't have the greatest experience at Kingpin - right from arrival as we were closed for an exclusive function. We have passed your concerns onto the team and will be discussing this with our team at our upcoming staff meeting. Thanks for your feedback in relation to our... More 

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Liked: Very clean and organised foyer and gaming area, friendly staff, big screens for music and videos, modern lighting. Disliked: Very long wait at the desk (but there was a large group of young teen girls being a bit indecisive) We were bad at bowling.

Helpful?
Thank Natalie S
Taryn D, Director of Sales at Kingpin Bowling Lounge, responded to this review

Hi Natalie Thanks for the great review!! We will pass your feedback onto the team. Sorry you had to wait at the counter to get served - got to love indecisive teenagers! We hope to see you again soon Taryn More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We paid in full for a Team Building event. We had three people resign literally three days before the event, we then asked that considering the extreme circumstances could we forfeit our deposit and get a refund and/or postpone the event. We were met with 100 nos until eventually we got an agreement to forfeit our catering payment of $165... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Chelsea C
Taryn D, Director of Sales at Kingpin Bowling Lounge, responded to this review

Dear Chelcie Cooper, Thank you for advising of your dissatisfaction with the customer service you received from our sales department. As we never like to hear of an unhappy customer, we have been in contact with your direct manager to avoid any further confusion and have re-scheduled your event. We are pleased that your company will be visiting us before... More 

Travellers who viewed Kingpin Bowling Lounge also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Kingpin Bowling Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Kingpin Bowling Lounge staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?