We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Farmhouse Rotorua

24 Reviews
Sorry, there are no tours or activities available to book online for the date(s) you selected. Please choose a different date.

The Farmhouse Rotorua

24 Reviews
Sorry, there are no tours or activities available to book online for the date(s) you selected. Please choose a different date.
Recommended experiences in and around Rotorua
from US$120.87
More Info
from US$53.54
More Info
from US$93.84
More Info
Full view
Location
Contact
RD6, Kaharoa 55 Sunnex Road RD 6, Rotorua 3096 New Zealand
Get to know the area
Ziplining Forest Experience - The Ultimate Canopy Tour Rotorua
Hiking & Camping

Ziplining Forest Experience - The Ultimate Canopy Tour Rotorua

956 reviews
Experience the vibrant New Zealand bush on this unique, thrilling zipline adventure. Get right up into the otherwise-inaccessible canopy of the Bay of Plenty forest, where native birds like tui, robins and plump kereru make their homes, and zip through the native trees to the forest floor. This small-group adventure is a great way to experience New Zealand’s native forests without working up a sweat or waiting in line forever.
US$144.76 per adult
24Reviews1Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 15
  • 4
  • 2
  • 1
  • 2
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Eve wrote a review Feb 2020
Auckland, New Zealand3 contributions
As someone who hasn't done horse riding in years, I would highly recommend this trek to any beginners. Our guide was fantastic at explaining everything and making us feel comfortable on the horses. Riding through the farm and bushland made me feel so at peace with nature. We got a great view of Lake Rotorua as well. One thing I would have enjoyed is if we had the option to try out a trot. I didn't have a problem with the trek being walking only, but it might have been fun if the guide offered to teach us how to go a little bit faster. Overall, a great beginner's horse trek. It has made me keen to get back on a horse again.
Read more
Date of experience: February 2020
Helpful
Share
mdjtagufa_0421 wrote a review Oct 2019
Hong Kong, China45 contributions
+1
we went for horse riding at the farm house rotorua, they have the best view and farm! the horse we rode is name Dancer, and i forgot the name of the other horse, they were both so beautiful, i instantly fell in love with them! Before I book for the ride, I did a little research for other house riding in rotorua, and i think the Farmhouse has the best price and best view and best horse and a dog that walks along with you! Definitely recommend the Farm House for horse riding in Rotorua!
Read more
Date of experience: October 2019
Helpful
Share
Destiny wrote a review Mar 2019
44 contributions6 helpful votes
What a fantastic ride! The guides were lovely and knowledgeable, horses are well cared for and obviously loved by the guides. The horses are picked to suit the rider. My son really enjoyed his ride on pudding. We will be back!
Read more
Date of experience: March 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from TheFarmhouseRotorua, Office Administrator at The Farmhouse Rotorua
Responded 16 Mar 2019
Thank you for the lovely feedback - Pudding is a sweetheart. We look forward to seeing you again :-)
Read more
MrsSCunningham wrote a review Feb 2019
3 contributions
We held my sons 7th birthday here, there were a few things that could be improved on, the first thing was I wasn’t greeted by anybody, i wasn’t even sure who was running the place still have no idea. The people who got us organised with the horses were awesome!!! Loved the trek the kids loved it and we will definitely go back again for that. With the birthday party side of things it wasn’t what I expected, while the kids ate there were 3–4 dogs inside trying to eat the kids food, and the lady that was our host was very nice but was really hard to understand and very quiet, I felt like more enthusiasm and hospitality was needed in terms of hosting. A birthday cake was supposed to be included in the birthday package and a cake in a box was brought out randomly and put on the table, no candles or anything so it was just a cake, didn’t receive a memo on candles but yeah so that was disappointing for me cause my son didnt get to blow out his candles. I think overall I’d say 5/10 only cause the hospitality side was a let down seemed like everyone wasn’t too bothered but thank you to those that made the trek awesome for the kids.
Read more
Date of experience: February 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from TheFarmhouseRotorua, Front Office Manager at The Farmhouse Rotorua
Responded 26 Feb 2019
Thank you for your feedback. Following our email correspondence, I spoke with our staff members in regards to the issues you brought to our attention. Normally, we do provide candles on our cakes, however, the staff that hosted the birthday party was new to the role, so she did not know about the candles. We have talked and we will ensure that is not to happen again. We sincerely apologies for the miscommunication and also the dogs - We have told staff to ensure dogs are kept away during meal times. Our Stable's Manager told me that she greeted you all when you arrived. Unfortunately, we had an animal emergency out on our farm that caused the normal greeting staff member to be away during your arrival. We did our best to accommodate your group. Safety and fun with the horse trekking is our main priority. We hope to see you all here again! Thank you for coming. Kind Regards The Farmhouse Rotorua
Read more
Avaloncircus wrote a review Jan 2019
Australia8 contributions
Despite first impressions when driving in the property (looks a little run down) we really enjoyed our horse riding afternoon. Mel the instructor was very knowledgeable and good with our three chatty children who had not ridden before. The horses were nice and calm and the kids felt safe. We did the one hour ride and enjoyed riding through the working farmland (rather than inner city) especially through the cow paddock with the massive bull! We would recommend this as a family activity.
Read more
Date of experience: January 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from TheFarmhouseRotorua, Manager at The Farmhouse Rotorua
Responded 11 Feb 2019
Thank you very much for your review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your horse trek with us. We hope to see you all here again soon!
Read more
Previous