We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wellington i-SITE Visitor Information Centre

111 Wakefield Street | In front of the Michael Fowler Centre, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
+64 4-802 4860
Call
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Missing vital Information

We've dropped by these iSites in several cities. This one has the usual racks of local and regional... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
ruthandvern
,
Wilton, California
small, but informative

Rather small considering WLG is the capital, but then the ladies were helpful and friendly, and we... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
jobst56
,
Hamburg, Germany
Read all 492 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
We are the official Wellington i-SITE Visitor Information Centre and your local experts in our harbour capital city. This Qualmark endorsed centre is operated by WREDA (Wellington Regional Economic Development Agency)and is part of New Zealand's official Visitor Information Network (i-SITE). We are your 'one stop shop' for travel advice and bookings for Wellington tours, activities and accommodation. As an official i-SITE, we also specialise in travel arrangements for all New Zealand destinations. Better still, our service to you is FREE.
  • Excellent62%
  • Very good29%
  • Average6%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“civic square” (13 reviews)
“new zealand” (31 reviews)
“free wifi” (14 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM
LOCATION
111 Wakefield Street | In front of the Michael Fowler Centre, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
CONTACT
Website
+64 4-802 4860
Write a ReviewReviews (492)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 422 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

We've dropped by these iSites in several cities. This one has the usual racks of local and regional brochures and helpful staffers busy with travelers and bookings. We were there to try and get a complete map of all the public transportation options in Wellington....More

Thank ruthandvern
WellingtonInfoCentre, Manager at Wellington i-SITE Visitor Information Centre, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thanks for your feedback which we will pass along to Metlink who provide all the timetables and route maps - agree this would be a very useful tool for all to use. The transport provider services other centres as well so the benefit could extend...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Rather small considering WLG is the capital, but then the ladies were helpful and friendly, and we got all we expected.More

Thank jobst56
WellingtonInfoCentre, Manager at Wellington i-SITE Visitor Information Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thanks for your feedback. Yes, we are in a smaller office that we'd prefer however we had to move as a result of the November 2016 earthquake and to remain centrally located for everyone's convenience we've had to compromise on size. Hopefully a bigger space...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Not a big venue with 2 staff collecting booking money for tours In the morning. Would be hard to get personal info. Need to get there before 10 or after 11am.

Thank Oleh C
WellingtonInfoCentre, Manager at Wellington i-SITE Visitor Information Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Unfortunately we have needed to re-locate to temporary premises as a result of the November 2016 earthquake and to be able to remain centrally located we have had had to compromise on the size of our premises until the redevelopment can commence.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were assisted by Leanne on arriving in Wellington and not far from our accommodation. Handily located and with plenty of info not just for Wellington but also those travelling further. A good place for tickets to attractions, free maps and advice.

Thank Simon D
WellingtonInfoCentre, Manager at Wellington i-SITE Visitor Information Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for your comments Simon - appreciate you taking the time and hope you enjoyed your stay in Wellington and your travels beyond.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our frist impression of Wellington was not good, huge traffic and no where to park. The information stop was small and dingy, and not at all welcoming. We had no idea where to go, so we headed for the Te Papa Museum, thanks for nothing.More

Thank gardengirl54
WellingtonInfoCentre, Manager at Wellington i-SITE Visitor Information Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Sounds like you were having a bad day! Sorry to hear of your woes. Suggest next time you're in a situation like this that you ask to speak to the person in charge so that they can deal with the actual matters of concern to...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

very helpful and helped us make an informed decision on things to do. gave us good time even though there were others to see to

Thank Helen B
WellingtonInfoCentre, Manager at Wellington i-SITE Visitor Information Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

So pleased we could assist you and hope you enjoyed your stay in Wellington!

Reviewed 8 November 2017

My overseas visitors love this as their jumping off spot each day. They can hang out with a coffee while they plan, and also get pamphlets or help if unsure about how to get to their next attraction.

Thank Ripoata
WellingtonInfoCentre, Manager at Wellington i-SITE Visitor Information Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2017

Wonderful to hear thanks - we love helping visitors make the most of their time in our region and country so pleased your visitors enjoy it as much as us!

Reviewed 7 November 2017

Like almost all i-SITE visitor information centers, this was very helpful due to the knowledgable and friendly staff. They guided us to many Wellington sites, both famous and not-so famous. Great staff!

Thank Dan W
WellingtonInfoCentre, Manager at Wellington i-SITE Visitor Information Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Really appreciate your positive feedback thanks Dan - always a pleasure to showcase our city.

Reviewed 30 October 2017 via mobile

I was there for my route planning for the south island. I was perfectly consulted and booked by ruiha about which is the right bus system for my requirements, how long the journeys take, where to stop etc. Extraordinary service :)

Thank G R
WellingtonInfoCentre, Manager at Wellington i-SITE Visitor Information Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Absolutely appreciate you taking the time to feedback on the fine work provided by Ruiha and hope you're enjoying your travels around Aotearoa New Zealand.

Reviewed 12 October 2017

I have nothing but praise for the I-SITE Visitor Information Centres in New Zealand. Knowledgeable staff, well-stocked information, and central and convenient locations. I waited until I was in New Zealand before booking any of my wine tasting tours since weather conditions are so variable,...More

Thank Doubletee_45
WellingtonInfoCentre, Manager at Wellington i-SITE Visitor Information Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Wonderful to hear our i-SITE Visitor Information Centres are helping you enjoy our beautiful country and making your visitor experience one to remember for all the right reasons. That's a wonderful tour for sure and they're a very professional company with great experience to deliver...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Apache
174 reviews
.04 km away
Little Peckish Cafe
82 reviews
.16 km away
The Lido Cafe
168 reviews
.16 km away
WBC Restaurant
137 reviews
.16 km away
Nearby Attractions
Wellington City Library
245 reviews
.18 km away
Civic Square
150 reviews
.14 km away
City Gallery Wellington
132 reviews
.15 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
chancr
6 August 2015|
Answer
Response from WellingtonInfoCentre | Property representative |
What a wonderful experience to be looking forward. Great that you're planning in advance to be able to make the most of your time in Wellington, and Weta Workshop Tour really is a highlight. A cruise shuttle service... More
0
Votes