We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mitre Peak Cruises

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Milford Sound Visitor Centre, Milford Sound 9679, New Zealand
Phone Number:
+64 3-249 8110
Website
Today
09:00 - 17:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 09:00 - 17:00
Description:

Mitre Peak Cruises offer fantastic 2 hour cruises of stunning Milford Sound...

Mitre Peak Cruises offer fantastic 2 hour cruises of stunning Milford Sound on its small purpose built boats (maximum capacity 75). Mitre Peak Cruises takes you where the big boats can't go, taking you closer to the waterfalls, wildlife and spectacular scenery of Milford Sound. Coach, fly and helicopter options are available from Queenstown and Te Anau.

read more
Book In Advance
More Info
US$50.47*
and up
Milford Sound Scenic Cruise
Why book on Viator?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information ›

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 508 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 365
    Excellent
  • 71
    Very good
  • 18
    Average
  • 3
    Poor
  • 7
    Terrible
Enjoyable Small Cruise

We took the Milford Sound tour with Mitre Peak. We altered our trip at the last minute and the guy at the check-in booth was great in handling our change and related refund. The... read more

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 days ago
Jeff K
,
Pittsburgh
via mobile

Similar Things to Do in Milford Sound

Add Photo Write a Review

508 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 464: English reviews
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
432 reviews
107 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,308 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We took the Milford Sound tour with Mitre Peak. We altered our trip at the last minute and the guy at the check-in booth was great in handling our change and related refund. The cruise was nice and we only had about 35 people. The Mitre Peak boat is much smaller the boats used by the other cruise operators. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jeff K
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Really enjoyed the cruise, great boat and less crowded with awesome views. I had a nice day coach tour from Queenstown.

Helpful?
Thank Erika T
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at Mitre Peak Cruises, responded to this review

Thank you for such a great review. We hope you enjoy the rest of your holiday as much as you enjoyed our cruise. From the team at Mitre Peak Cruises. More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Did choose for mitre because of the tripadvisor reviews. An awesome choise. Its the smallest boat of all, which makes you closer to the animals and leg dolphins play around the boat. Do it, you wont regret!

Helpful?
1 Thank Marjolein O
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at Mitre Peak Cruises, responded to this review

We are very glad you had such a fantastic trip. We always do love getting reviews that reflect the same way we feel about our trips. From the team at Mitre Peak Cruises. More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

I have to imagine that all of the below-reviews were of tourists who made their own way to Milford Sound and/or avoided the coach cruise passengers. Mitre Peak Cruises partners with Kiwi Discovery to run the coach transit program. I would highly suggest that Mitre Peak changes its coach partner. Unfortunately, the coach-cruise-coach option is the worst way to see... More 

Helpful?
Thank worldtraveler786
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at Mitre Peak Cruises, responded to this review

Hello worldtraveler786, thank you for your review. It’s unfortunate that your experience with the coach was so disappointing. The coach itself does not begin pickups until 6.25am and we endeavour to leave Queenstown no later than 7.00am as we would struggle to meet the cruise on time. We would like to look into this further to find out what went... More 

Collinsville, IL
Level Contributor
186 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

You walk by all these large ships and at the end is the dock was this small ship. The crew was great. We were the first to pull out and the last to pull in. They gave extra time to features and got closer. A great excursion.

Helpful?
Thank Mark1Rob
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at Mitre Peak Cruises, responded to this review

Hi. We’re glad you enjoyed our cruise. There are many benefits to having a small boat, like our ability to get closer to wildlife and waterfalls. We hope to see you again some day! From the Mitre Peak Cruises Team. More 

Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Our boat was small and uncrowded. There was an excellent brochure which detailed what we would see, and clear announcements en route. Tea and coffee were free and self service. We felt very well looked after, and crew members came round to talk to us which gave it a personal touch.

Helpful?
1 Thank JaneMay
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at Mitre Peak Cruises, responded to this review

Hi there. Thanks for choosing Mitre Peak Cruises and for your nice review. Our crew do their best to make sure everyone is happy on board, so we are glad you felt looked after. Passengers cruising with Mitre Peak Cruises are in good hands. Thanks again! More 

North Bend, Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We picked this cruise outfit because they have much smaller boats, which was perfect. In addition, we went on the first cruise of the day, which meant the tour was not sold out, so there was plenty of room on the boat. We couldn't have picked a better boat. The staff was friendly, the captain explained everything, and we went... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank kec425
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We chose Mitre Peak because they operate a smaller boat than other companies. They were well organised and there was free tea or coffee on board. I don't believe the boat was at full capacity when we went, but even if it were I feel there would still be plenty of opportunity to stand on the open upper deck and... More 

Helpful?
Thank KerryKC
Level Contributor
112 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We did the Mitre Peak cruise earlier today which was absolutely fantastic and lasted 2 hours for only 80 dollars (cheaper compared to others and a small boat which was great). Breathtaking views, and we even saw seals and even more rare, dolphins who were showing off just beside the boat! The captain was great and sailed right up to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andrea v
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at Mitre Peak Cruises, responded to this review

We love it when Milford’s bottlenose dolphins decide to come and hang out by the boat. They are playful and intelligent creatures and seem just as curious about us as we are about them. The benefit of a small boat like ours it that it is much more manoeuvrable, so when we do spot wildlife, we can get nice and... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I spent hours pouring over reviews of different boat cruises on Milford Sound and eventually settled on Mitre Peak cruises. I am so glad I did. The boat is great, the captain and crew are great and the cruise is great. Free tea and coffee on the boat. The boat gets really close to the waterfalls and seals. The trip... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Taar411
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at Mitre Peak Cruises, responded to this review

We are happy you chose us after your lengthy search. There are so many options in Milford and choosing a cruise company can be a daunting task. We do our best to stand out from the crowd with our small boats which allow us to get nice and close to the wildlife and waterfalls. More 

Travellers who viewed Mitre Peak Cruises also viewed

Milford Sound, Southland Region
Milford Sound, Southland Region
 
Milford Sound, Southland Region
 

Been to Mitre Peak Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Mitre Peak Cruises and other visitors
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Mitre Peak Cruises staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?