We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Brokenwood Wines

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: McDonalds Road, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Phone Number:
+61 2 4998 7559
Website
Today
09:30 - 17:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 09:30 - 17:00

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 169 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 107
    Excellent
  • 33
    Very good
  • 12
    Average
  • 5
    Poor
  • 9
    Terrible
Visit by horse-drawn carriage

A group of 15 made the tasting a fun exercise; and the wines were well-presented, with a good range to taste.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
awpursey
,
Greater Sydney, Australia

Similar Things to Do in Pokolbin

Add Photo Write a Review

169 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 166: English reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
100 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

The cellar door experience was very average. Asked if we could buy cheese/wine etc and we were told only members could do that. Staff were disinterested

Helpful?
Thank Craignjanet
Lauretta P, Manager at Brokenwood Wines, responded to this review

Hi Craignjanet Than you for visiting. We're sorry to disappoint you regarding the cheese boards, we don't have a restaurant on site so it means that we have to pre-order any cheese for members when they book. We are opening a new Cellar Door next year that will include a restaurant, bar and cafe, museum, terrace spaces, space for more... More 

Greater Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A group of 15 made the tasting a fun exercise; and the wines were well-presented, with a good range to taste.

Helpful?
Thank awpursey
Lauretta P, Manager at Brokenwood Wines, responded to this review

Thanks for the review awpursey, and thanks for visiting! We hope to see you again soon. Cheers, Lauretta More 

Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We had the best wine tasting we ever had. Because we are a member - they provide us with private tasting room with the manager. The manager was so kind and nice and very knowledgeable-and the taste of Graveyard from the barrel was extraordinary and out of this world We will come back for sure

Helpful?
Thank ErwinS2014
Lauretta P, Manager at Brokenwood Wines, responded to this review

Hi ErwinS2014, Thank you for the review, great to hear you had a fun time! We look forward to having you back soon. Cheers, Lauretta More 

1 review
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

Brokenwood was a fantastic experience, we had a great time tasting all the various wines and the knowledge of the staff was phenomenal. James in particular made the experience, he was professional, knew about his product and had a great sense of humour. We knew we wanted to walk away with a brokenwood wine no matter what. We walked away... More 

Helpful?
Thank Adelle P
Lauretta P, Manager at Brokenwood Wines, responded to this review

Hi Adelle, Thank you for your review. Great to hear you love James as much as we do. Thank you for visiting and enjoy the magnum! Cheers, Lauretta More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
1,383 reviews
246 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 733 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

The wines here are fantastic. We had a wine tasting in the front patio. Our host was enthused about their delicious product. I really learned about their Shiraz, but I really liked a dessert wine called Sticky Wicket. I sent a case back to the USA and I can't wait to get it!

Helpful?
Thank James S
Lauretta P, Manager at Brokenwood Wines, responded to this review

Thanks for the review James. Glad to hear you enjoyed the wines, we hope to see you again soon. Cheers, Lauretta More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2017

Can't recommend this place highly enough. Have visited 3 times now, and the staff always greet me with a smile and a chat. The wines are superb, and everybody who works at Brokenwood clearly has a passion for the whole wine making process, as well as for making you feel at home here. There have been some negative reviews about... More 

Helpful?
Thank crazycatlady1
Lauretta P, Manager at Brokenwood Wines, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review, much appreciated. We hope to see you again soon for your 4th visit! Cheers, Lauretta More 

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2017

Tastings : $5 per person for regular wines and $15 pp for premium wines. We opted for the premium tasting but left thoroughly unimpressed and didn't even buy a bottle!

Helpful?
Thank V00Doo
Lauretta P, Manager at Brokenwood Wines, responded to this review

Hi V00Doo, I'm sorry to hear you weren't happy with your tasting. If you would like to contact me with more details as to why please feel free to email me at lauretta@brokenwood.com.au or phone 02 4998 7559. We do have tasting fees to cover the cost of the wine we pour but this is refunded on purchase if you... More 

Level Contributor
188 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

Lovely friendly staff who made us few welcome straight away. Great wines and had to buy a few bottles of the cricket pitch red 😍🍷

Helpful?
Thank Michael L
Lauretta P, Manager at Brokenwood Wines, responded to this review

Hi Michael, Thanks for visiting! Enjoy the Cricket Pitch Red. Cheers, Lauretta More 

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2017

The staff should totally undergoing basic customer service training. Lack initiative and not interested to attend to us at all. Such service & you got to pay for tasting? We sampled two reds and was so upset with the service, we just walked out. Not worth visiting at all.

Helpful?
Thank Kaserine T
Lauretta P, Manager at Brokenwood Wines, responded to this review

Dear Kaserine - I'm so sorry to hear you had a bad experience, we have notified staff of this review. We do a lot of customer service and wine knowledge training and we pride ourselves on providing one of the best experiences in the Hunter Valley, so we certainly take your review seriously. We do charge a small fee for... More 

1 review
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

Fraiah was amazing! Very knowledgeable in there wines as well as the surrounding area. Highly recommend Brokenwood winery delicious wines and great tastings.

Helpful?
Thank Laura R
Lauretta P, Manager at Brokenwood Wines, responded to this review

Thanks Laura! Glad to hear you had a good time. Check out our website if you would like to purchase from home. We hope to see you again in the Hunter Valley soon. Cheers, Lauretta More 

Travellers who viewed Brokenwood Wines also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Brokenwood Wines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Brokenwood Wines staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?