We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Temptation Sailing

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Marina Pier, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia
Phone Number: +61 412 811 838
Website
Description:

Temptation is a 58 foot sailing catamaran which has been doing wild dolphin...

Temptation is a 58 foot sailing catamaran which has been doing wild dolphin swims daily since 2001, in this time we have never been out on a dolphin cruise and not seen dolphins. In fact we will give you all your money back if dolphins are not seen on this cruise. Dolphins always come over to Temptation and you can stand or lay above them on our front nets. If you wish to swim, no worries (but book early to avoid disappointment) this is a totally wild experience, no feeding, no touching just viewing from within the water. Because these are wild dolphins we have strict rules to abide by (both for the safety of the swimmers and the dolphins) and sometimes it can be rushed to get the swimmers in the water and sometimes the crew do need to yell so that the swimmers know which way to look under water. If you book in for a swim and on the day change your mind, no problems we can refund the difference (direct bookings only), especially for young children who decide they don't want to swim, that way they don't need to feel forced to go into the water. Remember you will always see more dolphins from on board, but seeing wild dolphins underwater is just amazing.

read more
Book In Advance
More Info
US$51.63*
and up
Dolphin Cruise from Adelaide with Optional Dolphin Swim
Why book on Viator?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information ›

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 183 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 100
    Excellent
  • 35
    Very good
  • 18
    Average
  • 14
    Poor
  • 9
    Terrible
Great way to spend a morning!

The crew was lovely and it was a great day, we had 3 children ages between 5-13 and all were happy. Our 10 year old found the water current a bit too strong and struggled a bit... read more

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed 30 December 2015
Heather S
,
Alice Springs
Add Photo Write a Review

183 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 176: English reviews
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2015

Together with my doughter, She is 9 years Old, we Booked a dolphin cruise. We saw many wild dolphins And was the highlight of our vacation

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank dennydeboer3
Stephen W, Manager at Temptation Sailing, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that and your daughter enjoyed your time with the dolphins. The dolphins are beautiful and I can understand that they were the highlight of your trip. We hope to see you on-board again. More 

Ballarat, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2015

Overall great exprience. The only thing that wasn't that good was seeing the dolphins in the waters. Looking down was clear but everywhere else was murky. But that was becuase of the storm the sunday before we went. Thats why I would love to go again and hopefully see the dolphins in clear water. The trip was still worth it... More 

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank amanda298
Stephen W, Manager at Temptation Sailing, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Yes unfortunately storms can murk up the water, we suggest waiting at least 2-3 days after a storm to ensure perfect visibility. We would love to have you back on-board in the near future. More 

Alice Springs
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2015

The crew was lovely and it was a great day, we had 3 children ages between 5-13 and all were happy. Our 10 year old found the water current a bit too strong and struggled a bit holding on to the rope when in the water, but still enjoyed his time both in and out of the water. Definitely a... More 

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Heather S
Stephen W, Manager at Temptation Sailing, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you and your family enjoyed your time with the dolphins. Unfortunately some children do struggle with the swim component hence why we ask if the children have upper body strength. We are glad that your daughter loves her snow globe, it was a pleasure having you all on-board. More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2015

What a day. light breeze, hot day and a leisurely cruise up and down the Adelaide metropolitan beach. left from Glenelg and went as far north as Semaphore then turned around and came back. Saw some dolphins and lots of birds- pelicans and cormorants. Steve and his team are fantastic. Very accommodating and make you very welcome. Would recommend this... More 

Helpful?
Thank brucerobyn153153
Stephen W, Manager at Temptation Sailing, responded to this review

Hi Bruce, thank you for your review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time on Temptation for our Public Coastal Cruise. We hope you welcome you on-board again soon. More 

Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2015 via mobile

A must do for anyone lucky enough to be in Adelaide. What a way to spend the morning swimming with the Dolphins in there natural environment. Perfect weather , staff were so informative and helpful. Great idea to purchase the photos on the usb, you will have lifetime memories.

Helpful?
Thank cracky31
Stephen W, Manager at Temptation Sailing, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your time on Temptation and your time spent with the dolphins. More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2015

I have recently been out on Temptation for the dolphin swim, and loved everything about it. The crew were friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. The Dolphins were extremely interactive (far more playful than I thought wild dolphins would be) and we saw 7 good size pods. The only thing that was not great was the visibility which would have made it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jamie R
Stephen W, Manager at Temptation Sailing, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your time spent with the dolphins. More 

Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2015

We had the most wonderful morning with our grandchildren aged 8 & 6. Instead of toys & clothes we decided that a dolphin cruise was the perfect Christmas present. And they haven't stopped talking about it. It was well run, very safe, with friendly staff who were happy to answer all questions about the coastal marine life. There were Dolphins... More 

Helpful?
Thank Trident18
Alice Springs, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2015

Great day. Swam with the dolphins. I would recommend the watching as well. Knowledgeable crew. I have three kids, a good time was had by all. I would do this tour again.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank ron_sackett
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2015 via mobile

Sadly the dolphins were not out to play but the efforts made by the team were exceptional. They were as frustrated as us on the cruise. Team are clearly experienced and knowlegable. Refund given of $30pp due to lack of dolphins which was very kind.

Helpful?
Thank 400raquel
Kurrulta Park
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2015

The trip was a great experience and I did get to see dolphins. The problem is the conditions need to be perfect for this kind of activity. The guys on board know what they are doing and had no difficulty finding dolphins even in less than perfect conditions. The problem was the choppy water and visibility once we got in... More 

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Kathryn L
Stephen W, Manager at Temptation Sailing, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It sounds like the conditions for this cruise was not perfect, however we are thrilled that you did enjoy your time with the dolphins. We hope to welcome you back on-board when the weather conditions are a little nicer. More 

Travellers who viewed Temptation Sailing also viewed

Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
 
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Temptation Sailing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Temptation Sailing staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?