We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 29 Fitzroy St | at The Prince Hotel, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Phone Number:
+61 3 9536 1177

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 18 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 3
    Excellent
  • 4
    Very good
  • 8
    Average
  • 2
    Poor
  • 1
    Terrible
Ripped off by bearded bar man

Music fantastic atmosphere great first drinks great second drinks ripped off by bearded man at bar gave him 50 for a beer and bourbon hot $15 back

3 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 weeks ago
carolynandsimon
,
Geelong, Australia
via mobile

Similar Things to Do in St Kilda

Add Photo Write a Review

18 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 18: English reviews
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Music fantastic atmosphere great first drinks great second drinks ripped off by bearded man at bar gave him 50 for a beer and bourbon hot $15 back

Helpful?
Thank carolynandsimon
West Monroe
Level Contributor
253 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2016

We were looking for a place to eat and have a drink. It started raining, so we ducked into the Prince Public Bar. To best describe this establishment you have to think of a Pub. Food, drink and a place to play pool. The interior was all wood and booths. The menu is very limited, so we had a drink.... More 

Helpful?
Thank kyderby
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
253 reviews
142 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2016 via mobile

They don't make them like this anymore, sadly and I hope the gentrification doesn't take this pub down. It's got pool tables and spot for a band and a seat for its locals. That's all I need.

Helpful?
Thank xvictoriax
Brisbane, AUS
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2016 via mobile

Given its position on Fitzroy street it should be the centre of attention. Alas, some staff Are great, others think they are too cool for school even tho it's best days are behind it. Food is average and they have an obsession of putting chilli in everything they can. The only redeeming feature about this pub us they show AFL... More 

Helpful?
Thank YanniB
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
384 reviews
118 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2016

The public bar offers a range of $10 lunches. I had the chicken schnitzel. It was a satisfying meal.

Helpful?
Thank Lee S
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2016

Phil Para.A great band in a real "sticky carpet" pub.The front bar is really run down but in keeping with the type of music playing.Great view of Fitzroy St early evening with the crowds walking past and patrons at tables outside.Limited numbers allowed in but room to move and see the band.Close to public transport and eateries If you like... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wendy D
Level Contributor
351 reviews
153 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2015

Good looking grunge bar, really has that grunge feel nailed, but rudely served, not given the beers we ordered, just not good enough

Helpful?
Thank Tartyone
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2015

Went to the Prince Public Bar with a group of 9 for drinks and to check out the $10 meals for Sunday lunch. I used to go to the Prince regularly in the 80s and 90s and haven't been back since now. The inside of the public bar looks almost the same and the drinks are still watered down LOL... More 

Helpful?
Thank Matthew D
Dylan T, Public Relations Manager at Prince Public Bar, responded to this review

Hi Matthew, Sorry to hear you had a bad experience with us. We can assure you that our beer isn't watered down and that we do strive to offer a genuine value for money meal. Were you able to bring these items up with staff whilst you were in venue? If so, please email us on info@melbournepubgroup.com.au and let us... More 

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2015 via mobile

Great pub food , good beer and great staff! Just what me and my wife were looking for after walking around st Kilda to unwind.

Helpful?
Thank Paul P
St Kilda, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

The Prince of Wales, St Kilda, Victoria used to be a genuinely friendly local pub. The downstairs bars had pool-tables, and a staff who basically knew what was what. Admittedly there were a few undesirables from time to time, but usually it was a place to meet, drink and talk...... NOT ANY MORE! Since the Melbourne Pub Group took over... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank 3182Local

Travellers who viewed Prince Public Bar also viewed

 
St Kilda, Port Phillip
St Kilda, Port Phillip
 

Been to Prince Public Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Prince Public Bar staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?