We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shantytown Heritage Park

Rutherglen Rd | Paroa, Greymouth 7805, New Zealand
+64 3-762 6634
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Underwhelming and expensive

$33 per adult is an absolute rip off and you wonder what this actually buys you as you still pay $7... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
ThePearOrchard
,
Nelson, New Zealand
Going back in time...

A neat experience, to visit a place that has actual local history! Good fun on a good day!!! Been... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Antony602016
Read all 439 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Shantytown is a leading New Zealand culture and heritage attraction. Made up of over 30 historic buildings it is a faithfully recreated 19th century pioneer town, inspired by the West Coast gold rushes of the 1860s. Highlights include riding the steam train, gold panning, the Beehive store with its range of traditional confectionery and the opportunity to have an old time photo portrait taken as a memento of your visit.
  • Excellent30%
  • Very good42%
  • Average21%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“steam train” (85 reviews)
“gold panning” (118 reviews)
“shanty town” (31 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
Hours Today: 08:30 - 17:00
LOCATION
Rutherglen Rd | Paroa, Greymouth 7805, New Zealand
CONTACT
Website
+64 3-762 6634
Write a Review
Reviews (439)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 403 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

$33 per adult is an absolute rip off and you wonder what this actually buys you as you still pay $7 if you want to do some gold panning or god knows how much if you wanted to take your picture in old heritage dress...More

Thank ThePearOrchard
Reviewed 1 week ago

A neat experience, to visit a place that has actual local history! Good fun on a good day!!! Been here a few times over the years and its stiil good to visit.

Thank Antony602016
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a family favourite over the years, there are many activities for both young and old and the attractions have been upgraded over the years. I particularly like the sawmill and of course the steam train. Being interested in geology the Miners hall was...More

Thank Alaine B
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The brochures promoting this made it seem we were in for a real treat but honestly it was crap, way overpriced and so many things either not working or closed for the day. I would recommend people go elsewhere for gold panning as $7 for...More

Thank RMHOP
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visited Shantytown on the morning of Monday, 26th June, 2017. When we purchased the ticket, the lady at the counter recommended to check out the gold panning. She said it would be fun. We listened to her recommendation, and we paid for $80 ($33...More

1  Thank Johnny N
Shantytown, Manager at Shantytown Heritage Park, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Johnny, Thanks for your review. I'm really sorry to learn of your recent experience at Shantytown. You're correct, you should have received 2 gold coin tokens if you had paid $80.00 at the ticketing office. For this, I apologise on behalf of our ticketing...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Kids (8,7 and 5) enjoyed the park. The big hit was the gold panning which resulted in a small vial of gold. The train ride was a bit of fun and the kids liked the gold sluicing demonstration. Our guide was very helpful.

Thank DanMarlee
Shantytown, Manager at Shantytown Heritage Park, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi DanMarlee, Thanks very much for taking the time to write us a review! We love reading about family fun experiences at Shantytown!

Reviewed 7 June 2017 via mobile

Been here several times, including a first visit about 46 years ago when most of the old stuff was new 😉. Serveral disappointing visits since, but things have greatly improved in recent, judging by today's visit. The entry fee includes a steam train ride but...More

Thank Gavin6114
Reviewed 7 June 2017

Great spot to take out the family for a day out - it really is a mini town with all the necessities...worth a visit if you in West Coast

Thank Nilesh W
Shantytown, Manager at Shantytown Heritage Park, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks Nilesh. We really enjoy being able to provide an attraction where families get to spend some fun family time together.

Reviewed 29 May 2017

Quaint little setting Interesting on a museum level Children found this place fun going in and out of the building

1  Thank TrishTravels
Shantytown, Manager at Shantytown Heritage Park, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for the review Trish. Very happy to hear your feedback regarding our museum and the fun your children had at Shantytown. We bet they were intrigued with the olden-day technology!

Reviewed 25 May 2017

Stopped in while in Greymouth. I visited Garth and his Jade shop in Shantytown. It's really a cool place and I'm glad I backtracked to see Shantytown and to visit the Jade shop.... not far off coastal highway at all

1  Thank gary c
Shantytown, Manager at Shantytown Heritage Park, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Gary, Thanks for taking the time to pop up the road to Shantytown after your visit to Garth Wilson Jade. We hope you got a lovely piece of pounamu to take home with you

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Junction Honey Cafe
47 reviews
6.88 km away
Maggie's Kitchen
220 reviews
9.94 km away
Ali's Eating & Drinking
315 reviews
10.00 km away
Buccleugh's on High
401 reviews
8.54 km away
Nearby Attractions
On yer bike! Adventures
472 reviews
14.12 km away
Coal Creek Track
9 reviews
15.36 km away
Monteith's Brewing Company
501 reviews
9.31 km away
Mitchells Gully Goldmine
35 reviews
9.84 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
vickie413
30 March 2017|
Answer Show all 4 answers
Response from Kim H | Reviewed this property |
Half a day would be enough ... we arrived at lunchtime and left at closing time.
1
Vote
Ian L
18 July 2015|
Answer
Response from DDSWM |
Taxi
0
Votes