We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Blue Mountains Explorer Bus

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 283 Main St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Phone Number:
+61 2 4782 1866
Today
09:00 - 17:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 09:00 - 17:00
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Description:

Explore the Blue Mountains - Your Way!

The Blue Mountains Explorer Bus is...

Explore the Blue Mountains - Your Way!

The Blue Mountains Explorer Bus is the ultimate hop-on hop-off bus tour of the Blue Mountains. With 29 brilliantly located stops across Katoomba and Leura, we give you the freedom to explore this spectacular World Heritage wilderness on Sydney's doorstep - all at your own pace.

The Explorer Bus is more flexible than a day tour, cheaper and less stressful than renting a car, and much more fun than trying to cover all the sights on foot.

Our great-value passes give you unlimited travel all day, making it easy to put together your own perfect day in the Blue Mountains. With buses running every half hour, you'll have plenty of time to hit all the highlights.

We'll drop you at the door of star attractions like Scenic World and the famous Scenic Railway, and give you as long as you like to hang out with our beautiful Three Sisters. Want to stretch your legs on a bushwalk? Simply hop off the Explorer Bus and we'll meet you at the other end!

If you're coming up by train, we pick you up right outside Katoomba Station - and we don't waste any time taking you straight to the big views.

Instead of throwing away 45 minutes of your day walking through town to Echo Point or Scenic World, simply jump on the big red Double Decker bus and we'll get you to the cliff top quicker than you can drink a cup of coffee.

While you relax and soak up the unbeatable views from the top deck, our friendly drivers will entertain you with a running commentary of fascinating local facts and stories.

And at the end of the day, we'll get you back to the train or your hotel with time and energy to spare.

Grab your slice of freedom. Start planning your perfect day in the Blue Mountains now.

read more
Book In Advance
More Info
US$33.45*
and up
Blue Mountains Hop-on Hop-off Tour with Optional Scenic World Rides and Waradah...
Why book on Viator?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information ›

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 412 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 257
    Excellent
  • 66
    Very good
  • 31
    Average
  • 15
    Poor
  • 11
    Terrible
Fantastic Service

My Husband and I purchased tickets for the bus when we arrived in Katoomba. At $44.00 each for the 3 days we were there it was excellent value. With 28 stops it offers a great... read more

Reviewed yesterday
Karen S
,
New South Wales, Australia
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

412 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 380: English reviews
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

My Husband and I purchased tickets for the bus when we arrived in Katoomba. At $44.00 each for the 3 days we were there it was excellent value. With 28 stops it offers a great choice of where to visit. The extensive book was good with a map, brief overview of each stop and what time the bus arrives. The... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Karen S
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We planned to spend a morning getting to know the local area via the Explorer Bus as we'd already visited Echo Point and Scenic World, and it was just as hoped- the drivers offered commentary with information on the history of different places, advice on worthwhile stops and a friendly face when we hopped back on each time. We hopped... More 

Helpful?
Thank Annabelle P
DamienSales, Customer Service Manager at Blue Mountains Explorer Bus, responded to this review

Hi Annabelle P Thanks for taking the time to review our service. I am pleased you enjoyed it. It appears you made the most out of your time and hopped off at many amazing places, and as you mention, the fact that the timings are every 30 minutes, you have the ability to choose which walks to take and for... More 

Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Highly recommended even if you come to the mountains by car, but especially if you come by train or are staying in the mountains. We did a day trip with 3 kids and found the schedule convenient (every 30 mins from every stop which is about right). The drivers are the real secret sauce - friendly and responsive to any... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sasch M
DamienSales, Customer Service Manager at Blue Mountains Explorer Bus, responded to this review

Hi Sasch M Thanks for your review. Your heading says it all. "Convenient, friendly and local knowledge". Our team are committed to providing you with the best possible experience, every time. No doubt the 3 children travelling with you enjoyed the big red bus. We love the joy on the faces of children who ride the bus. I'm pleased you... More 

Tamworth. NSW
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago

The best thing for visitors. Paid $44 and could hop on and off for our entire stay of 3 days. Also informed us if we were staying longer they would extend the ticket. Saved us from driving somewhere and getting lost or navigating the busy Easter traffic. The drivers were friendly and knowledgeable. A pleasure to use.

Helpful?
Thank Debbie562
DamienSales, Customer Service Manager at Blue Mountains Explorer Bus, responded to this review

Hi Debbie562 Thanks for taking the time to write this review. I'm very happy that you found our service "Exceptional". We aim to exceed your expectations. I note you visited during Easter. We provided many extra services throughout the Easter period to help our passengers see the most, and as you pointed out, avoid the traffic. We're always happy to... More 

California
Level Contributor
160 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

The bus route allows a comprehensive visit of the area. A 2 day visit is best. The drivers are friendly and extremely helpful. I consider this one of the bargains of our visit ti Australia. We took the train back and forth from Sydney, but do not bother--take a bus. The view is no better than taking a bus upinto... More 

Helpful?
Thank mittyc2016
DamienSales, Customer Service Manager at Blue Mountains Explorer Bus, responded to this review

Hi mittyc2016 Thanks for your review. I'm pleased you enjoyed your time in the Blue Mountains. Our service is definitely the best way to see the most in the Blue Mountains and is great value, particularly if you're staying here as we extend your pass to include every day, at no extra cost. I's great that you considered the Explorer... More 

Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Don't go with Blue Mountains Explorer Bus, such a waste of money!! I payed $40 for a one day tour which would have cost me $2 for exactly the same route if I'd have used the local busses where you can use your Opal card. You couldn't hear a word of what the driver was saying and he was driving... More 

Helpful?
Thank hannuthedotti
DamienSales, Customer Service Manager at Blue Mountains Explorer Bus, responded to this review

Hi hannuthedotti I'm sorry your experience was not what you hoped for. I am perplexed as to why you would think you could use a public bus and travel the same route. The public bus goes to Echo Point and Scenic World. The Explorer Bus covers almost 20km with 29 stops, bush walks, cliff tops, valleys, waterfalls, cascades and a... More 

N.Ireland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It's Easter Sunday, the place is choc a bloc, but we booked our tour and ride passes the day before and were able to get on the 0850 special to get us to Scenic world before the mad rush. Jimmy was our driver on every stage of our Hop on Hop off experience throughout the day. He was terrific and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Twotanks
DamienSales, Customer Service Manager at Blue Mountains Explorer Bus, responded to this review

Hi Twotanks Thanks for your review. Ah, Easter Sunday. Yes, it was a busy day, wasn't it. We immediately added extra services to enable our passengers to see the most. It was a great success. I'm pleased you met Jimmy. He always goes above and beyond, as do all of our team. Our main aim is to show you the... More 

1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Blue Mountains Explorer bus was definitely worth the money. It brought us around to the best Katoomba had to offer for scenic views. The drivers were very informative and told either stories or history about each site. They also suggested walks between pick up locations for those who were more fit and wanted to do more exploring. Jimmy was an... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica G
DamienSales, Customer Service Manager at Blue Mountains Explorer Bus, responded to this review

Hi Jessica G Thank you for your review. I am pleased you found our service to be "worth the money", and that we were able to show you the most. I'm also pleased that you were able to ride with Jimmy. He is a superb ambassador for our company and the Blue Mountains, and we value him very much. As... More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had a great day out by taking train from Sydney to Katoomba and then exploring using the Blue Mountain explorer bus. One particular guide, John, was excellent and helped to make our day really memorable !

Helpful?
Thank Paul L
DamienSales, Customer Service Manager at Blue Mountains Explorer Bus, responded to this review

Hi Paul L Thanks for reviewing us. I am pleased you had a "great day out..." using our service. I hope you were able to see the most in the time you had. I will pass your comments on to Jon. He will be pleased to hear you appreciated his helpfulness. Damien More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On a positive i would say the drivers were really friendly and welcoming. However for me this is very over priced as covers such a small area. The most disappointing thing for me was that we were sold this by the agent so we could visit Wentworth Falls. What wasn't explained that the shuttle started mid afternoon and you would... More 

Helpful?
Thank GarethJ19
DamienSales, Customer Service Manager at Blue Mountains Explorer Bus, responded to this review

Hi GarethJ19 It's disappointing that you didn't see the value in our service. I note that you were unhappy with the free Wentworth Falls shuttle. It is essentially a trial, and we have tried many different ways of doing it. It is provided at no extra cost to you, but great cost to the company, so it is important that... More 

Travellers who viewed Blue Mountains Explorer Bus also viewed

 
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 

Been to Blue Mountains Explorer Bus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Blue Mountains Explorer Bus and other visitors
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Blue Mountains Explorer Bus staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?