We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lantern Ghost Tours

Nelson Place Syme Street | Hobsons Bay Visitor Information Centre, Williamstown, Hobsons Bay, Victoria, Australia
+61 1300 390 119
Website
Save
Book In Advance
More Info
US$26.22*
and up
Melbourne Ghost Tour
More Info
US$26.22*
and up
Altona Homestead Ghost Tour
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Be incarcerated in a Lunatic asylum, visit an abandoned morgue or be a ghost hunter for the night. Lantern Ghost Tours run award winning tours to Australia's most haunted locations. 2014 Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence 2013 Telstra Australia Business Awards Finalist2013 RACV Tourism Awards Finalist 2013 Melbourne Fringe Festival 2013 Midsumma FestivalAs seen on Postcards, Coxy's Big Break, Eat Play Stay, Herald Sun, The Age, Sydney Morning Herald
  • Excellent56%
  • Very good25%
  • Average7%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“point cook” (9 reviews)
“ghost tour” (45 reviews)
“my partner” (10 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 09:00 - 17:00
LOCATION
Nelson Place Syme Street | Hobsons Bay Visitor Information Centre, Williamstown, Hobsons Bay, Victoria, Australia
CONTACT
Website
+61 1300 390 119
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

We had a group of 11 of us and there was another group of 16 doing the Williamstown ghost tour. This was really a glorified history lesson. It became almost silly towards the end as the other younger group of teens started to realise that...More

Thank Lester M
LanternGhostTours, Front Office Manager at Lantern Ghost Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Good Afternoon Lester. Thank you for taking the time to review our Ghosts of the Old City ghost tour. It is only through feedback from guests such as yourself that we are able to offer fun, entertaining ghost tours. We are sorry to hear you...More

Reviewed 21 May 2017 via mobile

Four of us went on the investigation tour. It was advertised that we would be provided with equipment however there was not enough to go around because someone forgot to drop it off to the guides (or a similar excuse). So we shared a detector...More

Thank smelbourne90
LanternGhostTours, Front Office Manager at Lantern Ghost Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Good Morning, Thank you for taking the time to review our Altona Homestead Investigation. It is only through feedback from guests such as yourself that we are able to offer fun, entertaining ghost tours. Altona homestead is very small in comparison to Aradale and Beechworth...More

Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

We booked in expecting to have a fun night out with friends. Drove all the way into the city, finally get to the group (which is lead by someone who wouldn't be able to organise a bunch of adults if she tried) only to be...More

Thank Jordan R
LanternGhostTours, Front Office Manager at Lantern Ghost Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2017

Hi Jordan, thank you for adding a review on your experience. It is only through feedback from guests such as yourself that we are able to offer fun, entertaining ghost tours. Sorry to hear you did not make your booking and showed up to a...More

Reviewed 7 January 2017

My husband and daughter joined me on this tour. We had an informative walk around the area prior to going into the homestead to set the seen/ mood. Our guide Lisa, gave a good run down about the famillies that had lived there, and shared...More

Thank Kathy T
LanternGhostTours, Front Office Manager at Lantern Ghost Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2017

Hi Kathy, thank you for your review on our Altona Homestead ghost tour. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your evening with Lantern Tours and that you had your own paranormal experience while on tour. Hope to see you again on another Lantern ghost...More

Reviewed 2 January 2017

After an excellent meal at Young and Jacksons pub, part of the package, we were met by Stephanie who not only looked the part in a Morticia style dress, but was also very friendly and inclusive of everyone, regardless of our level of beliefs. She...More

Thank Sibby1955
LanternGhostTours, Front Office Manager at Lantern Ghost Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our Old Melbourne Ghost Tour. It is only through feedback from guests such as yourself that we are able to offer fun, entertaining ghost tours. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your...More

Reviewed 7 December 2016

Thought Williamstown and its history would be a great place to experience a Ghost Tour, sadly we were wrong! Our guide kept telling us that his boss started collecting ghost stories of this area when she was in her early teens and for 2.5hrs all...More

Thank PetaJT
LanternGhostTours, Front Office Manager at Lantern Ghost Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2016

Good Morning Peta, Thank you for taking the time to review our Ghosts of the Old City ghost tour. It is only through feedback from guests such as yourself that we are able to offer fun, entertaining ghost tours. We are sorry to hear you...More

Reviewed 3 December 2016 via mobile

If you're seriously thinking about doing this tour, forget it! All you get is a nice walk around the city and a history talk. There's absolutely nothing spooky about it. I found it to be absolutely boring and to be honest, crap! I'm glad I...More

Thank Tony B
LanternGhostTours, Front Office Manager at Lantern Ghost Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2016

Hi Tony, thank you for taking the time to review our Ghosts of the Old City ghost tour in Williamstown. It is only through feedback from guests such as yourself that we are able to offer fun, entertaining ghost tours. We are sorry to hear...More

Reviewed 22 October 2016

I had a walking ghost tour booked for this evening, however it has been very heavily raining all day and extremely windy to the point i could barely go out to the car. As it was a walking tour I contacted to see if the...More

Thank Anastasia C
LanternGhostTours, Front Office Manager at Lantern Ghost Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2016

Hi Anastasia, sorry to hear you decided not to attend our ghost tour due to weather. Our staff would have been more than happy to do a date change for you to attend on another evening. We have guests travel far for the tours and...More

Reviewed 23 August 2016

My wife booked us in for a ghost tour of the Williamstown area last Saturday night. It was wet, windy and chilly - the perfect cocktail for a 2 hour ghost tour. Waiting anxiously in the cold by the Hobson's Bay information centre my wife...More

Thank VG1302
LanternGhostTours, Front Office Manager at Lantern Ghost Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2016

Hello and thank you for your review on our Ghosts of the Old City in Williamstown, Victoria. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your evening with Lantern Tours and I will be sure to pass on your lovely review to your tour guide Ann....More

Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

We enjoyed this tour so much we went on another one to point cook homestead a few weeks later. The evening started with a ye olde costume dressed woman, with a lantern, great story telling voice and lilt. I was entranced and taken back into...More

1  Thank aussiejulie
LanternGhostTours, Manager at Lantern Ghost Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2016

Thanks so much for your review and so good to hear you discovered places you never knew existed. Williamstown and Point Cook are both very special places...it's no wonder the spirits don't want to leave! See you again soon. Happy Haunting Jacqui

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
General Food Co
47 reviews
.15 km away
Ragusa
141 reviews
.12 km away
Pelicans Landing
201 reviews
.04 km away
Ticktok
80 reviews
.18 km away
Nearby Attractions
Williamstown Botanic Gardens
121 reviews
.89 km away
Commonwealth Reserve Williamstown
19 reviews
.10 km away
Point Gellibrand Heritage Park
17 reviews
.92 km away
Williamstown Ferries
26 reviews
.08 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
TripAdviser04
Is there anyway we can organise a tour midweek over the holidays September holidays on a Wednesday night? If there's a minimum number of attendees, let me know the limit & will see if I can organise a group booking.
14 September 2016|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from LanternGhostTours | Property representative |
Lantern Tours offers private tours for guests with 15+ guests. Private tours are made up of full paying adults, (no vouchers or children's pricing) Please contact our office 1300 390 119.
0
Votes
Rose800
Hi, Would it be possible to book for 17 guests?
29 September 2015|
Answer Show all 5 answers
Response from LanternGhostTours | Property representative |
Hi Rose, yes booking for 17 guests to join our ghost tours is no problem at all, you are all welcome to join our scheduled public tours or with a minimum of 15 adults you may book your own private tour when it best suits... More
0
Votes