We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tarihi Galatasaray Hamami

Neighbourhood:
Beyoglu
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Get directions
Address: Turnacibasi Sokak, No: 24 | Beyoglu, Galatasaray, Istanbul, Turkey
Phone Number:
+90 212 252 4242
Website
Today
08:00 - 21:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 08:00 - 21:00
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Description:

Galatasaray Hamam, is in the buildings of Galatasaray Mosque - (Kulliye),...

Galatasaray Hamam, is in the buildings of Galatasaray Mosque - (Kulliye), It was originally built, together with the kulliye itself during the regin on Beyazit II.

The construction of Galatasaray Hammam stands on a mysterious story. When the Sultan Beyazit was wandering around the land where todays Galatasaray Lycee and the Galatasaray Hammam stands on now; he sees a hut. This hut belongs to Gul Baba, a respected man of his time. Sultan Beyazit meets this man and asks him "Gul Baba - do you have any wishes?" and Gul Baba wishes the the construction of a school to conquer over the centuries and a Kulliye to have a hammam with a dome. Sultan Beyazit accepts the wish and makes the kulliye be built in 1481. Gul Baba's grave is still in the Kulliye and the Galatasaray Hammam has conquered over the centuries just like he has wished.

The editor of the book " History of Galatasaray", Fethi Isfendiyaroglu, states that the Galatasaray Hammam has served the students, during his education. Thus he says, as a student of Galatasaray Lycee "Before, during our times, there was hammam service every morning, the students were gathered in their dormitories every morning and taken to Galatasaray Hammam, next to the garden of the school. When the students were in the bath, the door of the hammam was closed and no other customers were let in.

The Galatasaray Hammam, adressing the centuries, have served many pashas, muslim judges ( kadi ), and grand viziers and have participated in the pure lifes of these people.

Galatasaray Hammam, with the heritage of the past, is also modern, both in the quality of its services and the hospitality of its staff.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 139 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 9
    Excellent
  • 10
    Very good
  • 9
    Average
  • 22
    Poor
  • 39
    Terrible
Good hammam

I came to this place by accident. It's a decent place, good service. But if you had a Turkish hammam before you would realize that its average. Good service but certainly not the... read more

Reviewed 21 September 2016
wildgh
,
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

139 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 89: English reviews
Nairobi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Total wastage of time and money,they put you in the Sauna for a long time until you can't even breathe properly,the scrub is terrible and short ,its like scrubbing an infant,the massage is the worst I have ever seen,they don't pay attention,they mix up men and women,don't even try going there,spend your money in a proper Spa.

Helpful?
Thank George K
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

After many years traveling to Istanbul this was not a nice experience. The place is nice but people are not professional at all. It is a petty the massage the worst of my life. The ladies are not clean very bad smell and appearance.

Helpful?
Thank Chatica C
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2017

The hamam personell doesn't even try to give a decent service, the washing and massage is a joke. Save your money and don't come here. I can put soap on myself and make sure it's at least done thoroughly without paying 180 Lira for "full service". And they ask for a tip "bakshish" after... Lol

Helpful?
Thank Mrlegas
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2016

We went there because a turkish friend recomended us to go, but it we don't like the experience, we felt like stupid tourists. The price is high comparing the services, we asked for the full service, and it took one hour, but most of the time relaxing in the hot marble and scrub y massage were very fast. At the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Meritxell d
GalatasarayH, Halkla İlişkiler Müdürü at Tarihi Galatasaray Hamami, responded to this review

Dear guest All our prices are determined by the Ministry of Culture. Which staff helped you? You should contact us to resolve your questions. Thank you More 

Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

From start to finish the experience was uncomfortable. We were shunted around rudely. I was washed and scrubbed by a lady who was completely naked, including a rough hair shampoo and a bucket of water thrown over my head. If anything the whole thing was quite comical, but not it any way enjoyable, and I certainly resented having handed over... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank katearg
GalatasarayH, Halkla İlişkiler Müdürü at Tarihi Galatasaray Hamami, responded to this review

Your comments are important to us all. Thank you More 

Dammam, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

I came to this place by accident. It's a decent place, good service. But if you had a Turkish hammam before you would realize that its average. Good service but certainly not the best.

Helpful?
Thank wildgh
GalatasarayH, Halkla İlişkiler Müdürü at Tarihi Galatasaray Hamami, responded to this review

Your comments are important to us all. Thank you More 

Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2016

No way the locals would pay this price. Certainly rigged. The place is deserted no one goes there. I wanted to have guanine Hamam experience the kind the locals would go for and I was disappointed. I should have went to the touristy fancy ones. It says Tharihi, or historical, but that actually means just old and ugly.

Helpful?
2 Thank Ahmed A
GalatasarayH, Halkla İlişkiler Müdürü at Tarihi Galatasaray Hamami, responded to this review

Your comments are important to us all. Thank you More 

Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
305 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2016

My husband and I stumbled on this place while walking through the Taksim neighborhood and decided to try--why not? The first clue was that they only took cash payments so we had to find an ATM for $100 for both of us. There were 3 levels and we chose the 2nd one that included a wash and massage. We were... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank sherrieseg
GalatasarayH, Halkla İlişkiler Müdürü at Tarihi Galatasaray Hamami, responded to this review

Your comments are important to us all. Thank you More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2016

I would not recommend this hammam. It charges 130TL for a tokenistic scrub and my sense is that it's largely kept in business by tourist money. As someone who has been to several other hammams in the Middle East, I was shocked to find the male staff happy to walk in on the female customers as they sit in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank leloveluck
GalatasarayH, Halkla İlişkiler Müdürü at Tarihi Galatasaray Hamami, responded to this review

Your comments are important to us all. Thank you More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2016

I visited the Galatasaray Hammam during my recent trip to Istanbul. It was my first and only hammam experience so I cannot really compare this place to other hammams, but it was recommended by my tour guide as one of the best ones in town and I had a good time. And I must say I'm quite surprised to see... More 

Helpful?
Thank nicolamele
GalatasarayH, Halkla İlişkiler Müdürü at Tarihi Galatasaray Hamami, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment. More 

Travellers who viewed Tarihi Galatasaray Hamami also viewed

Istanbul, Turkey
Istanbul, Turkey
 

Been to Tarihi Galatasaray Hamami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Tarihi Galatasaray Hamami and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Ankara, Turkey
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Tarihi Galatasaray Hamami staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?

Staying in Beyoglu

Neighbourhood Profile
Beyoglu
Istanbul’s most famous street, pedestrianized Istiklal Caddesi (Independence Avenue), throbs day and night and offers a fantastic array of architectural sights, shops, treats, and throngs upon teeming throngs of people. At the avenue’s northeastern end is expansive Taksim Square, thought by many to be the very heart of the city, with many of Turkey’s most renowned restaurants and some of Europe’s most happening nightlife in close proximity. In striking contrast, Beyoglu’s less trafficked areas – such as the affluent Cihangir and the antiques district of Cukurcuma – exude Old World charm and provide contemplative calm and splendid diversion via an assortment of cozy cafes, attractive boutiques, and quiet lanes.
Explore this neighbourhood