BlueWater Express
BlueWater Express
4
Taxis & Shuttles • Ferries
Read more
7:30 AM - 8:00 PM
Monday
7:30 AM - 8:00 PM
Tuesday
7:30 AM - 8:00 PM
Wednesday
7:30 AM - 8:00 PM
Thursday
7:30 AM - 8:00 PM
Friday
7:30 AM - 8:00 PM
Saturday
7:30 AM - 8:00 PM
Sunday
7:30 AM - 8:00 PM
Write a review
About
Established in 2005, the British owned and operated BlueWater Express is a rapidly expanding company specializing in high speed boat transport and boat private charter. We pioneered the fast boat service from Bali to the Gili Islands in 2006, and are consequently the longest running operator in this field, with a 100% safety record. We put the emphasis on safety, professionalism and guest satisfaction in all our services. We currently have more than 80 staff based on Bali and the Gili Islands. All crew are fully licensed with requisite certificates of competence, and have many years experience in the waters around Bali and Lombok.
Suggested duration
2-3 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours & experiences
Explore different ways to experience this place.

Top ways to experience BlueWater Express and nearby attractions

Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

4.0
960 reviews
Excellent
548
Very good
214
Average
74
Poor
46
Terrible
78

jaxe
Kerobokan Kelod, Indonesia12 contributions
Sep 2022
Great service at a price. Chose this if you want certainty or are pressed for time.

PROS
- prebooking and payment available
- pickup from hotel included
- staff at office spoke good english for check in and information
- boarding was arranged 1/2 hour before scheduled departure, so everytime was on time
- easy to communicate via WhatsApp
- windows in the hull, good for sea sickness (but no aircon)
- water, candies provided on board
- safety video before departure (if you care about these things)

CONS
- expensive
Written 19 September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi Jaxe, Glad to hear you had a good trip, just one point: our boats do have good air-con but we have had a few issues with it recently, I guess you were on one of those trips. However many guests actually prefer the fresh sea breeze from the windows.
Written 3 October 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

hs0j
Christchurch, New Zealand333 contributions
There was delays (30 mins one way and 1 hour the other) and the aircon only partially worked in the boat however you didn’t have to wait on the hot wharf they sorted your bags and called you down when needed. Seemed much better to the other crowds waiting on the wharf in the sun for their late boats.
Written 9 September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi hs0j, Thanks for the review sorry to hear about the delays, though an hour is very unusual. Padang Bai and Gili Trawangan jetties do get crowded at busy times of year, which hold things up. We make sure guests are comfortably seated in our restaurant waiting area (at Sama Sama bar in Gili T), and get bags all loaded up first as you mentioned, to avoid the crowded as far as possible! Air-Con is now fixed again.
Written 12 September 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

zoezew
The Royal Town of Sutton Coldfield, UK50 contributions
Having gone on a comparison site to look at crossing options we went with Blue Water Express as they offered free transport from your hotel to the port and as there were 6 of us travelling we wanted to keep an eye on the price.

A few days after booking I got an email to say we were entitled to the free pick up so we had to pay an extra £50. I sent screen shots of their website showing how I had entered our hotel details on booking and how it showed we qualified for free, shared transport but they were insistent we had to pay or alter our booking to a different post which would make our journey back from Gili 3 hours which I didn’t want. No apology for the misinformation on their website which I was pointing out so they would hopefully change and avoid further customers having the same issue.

We were collected in an old car, nothing like the images on their website!!! Very early, we were at the port for two hours whereas other people arrived 5 minutes before departure!

The crossing there was fine but like other customers say the return journey was incredibly rough. Obviously no fault of Blue Water express but the boat had no air con!!! It was a very hot day, many children were being sick and lots of us asked for the air con to be told it had broken!! They were also running out of water so the journey home was awful. Then the boat had a call and asked to speak to my husband…turns out they needed us to pay extra to get us back to our hotel!!! Totally disorganised that they had us over a barrel as how else were we going to arrange transport when we were miles out at sea?!

So having spent over £100 in taxis we would have been so much better hiring a taxi driver for the day! Just a warning for other people.

The staff on board were very friendly and helped us but it was the only time in Bali when I felt money came before service and I could tell it was obviously British run. Such a shame after spending so much money that we were treats like this with poor transport and broken air con.
Written 3 September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear Ben and family, We are sorry for the confusion, but thank you for giving us the opportunity to clarify this issue. I can assure you our regulations were correctly applied and you were charged appropriately as I shall explain. And transport from Nusa Dua for 6 pax costs nowhere near £100 as you incorrectly claim, the price was: IDR 880.000 You booked Aug 11th to travel August 27th from Padang Bai to Trawangan, but did not enter a hotel for pick-up or drop off (not decided yet perhaps, this is quite common). We emailed the same day, asking for hotel pick-up details, and you informed us Nusa Dua, which is way down in the southern tip of Bali. This is where the confusion began because Nusa Dua IS INDEED included as free pick up zone for South Bali (Serangan) departures as it is not so far (less than an hour drive( to the port. However, Nusa Dua is NOT included in the free a pick up zone for Padang Bai departures, as it its a loooong way (check out as map: 2-3hrs), which is why we set off so early to allow for bad traffic. Padang Bai was your chosen departure port. We explained this to you and gave you the option of departing from Serangan instead of Padang Bai so that you can benefit from the free transport available for this port. You declined to do this, hence we charged private transport with additional fee for transport per our regulations. I invite you to try entering your detail agin, but clearly stating NUSA DUA as your pick up area. Our system will automatically only offer OWN TRANSPORT or PRIVATE TRANSPORT for Padang Bai departures. If you choose Serangan, you will get the option of shared (Free) transport from Nusa Dua to Serangan. And in a final note - the air con is now fixed!
Written 5 September 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

tonymilburn3
Bradford, UK77 contributions
Fantastic service by these guys, from checking in to boarding then disembarking we were really well looked after, we were all kept indoors at the offices and our cases were loaded by the staff from the office, we didn’t leave the office/bar areas until the staff had confirmation that the boat was docking so you are not exposed to the heat. The dock side is very busy but you are escorted to
The boat when it arrives. A very good service all round so make sure you book with these guys.
Written 2 September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi Tony, Great to hear you enjoyed our service, and especially our efforts to avoid the crowds at the jetty! Yes, it can get pretty hectic so we do our best to avoid the chaos as best we can..
Written 5 September 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Hrw35
London, UK23 contributions
We had a great experience with Bluewater Express.

Unfortunately the night before we were due to have our transfer, we both got food poisoning and couldn’t travel. Bluewater were responsive and kindly arranged for our ticket to be transferred to the following day with no issues which we really appreciated.

The journey itself was smooth - we loved sitting on the top deck and the car that collected us was on time, clean and comfortable. Would highly recommend!
Written 30 August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear HRW35, Happy to hear you made a speedy recovery and had a good trip! We understand that sometimes it happens while traveling and we are happy to help out as best we can.
Written 30 August 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Jennifer W
Lancashire, UK47 contributions
Aug 2022 • Couples
We were so glad to have booked with Bluewater Express after hearing horror stories of others booking cheaper services where luggage had gone missing or the boat had broken down/sank.

We had an excellent experience l from start to finish. The check in area was lovely - bright and welcoming with drinks and snacks available to purchase. Check in was quick and easy and our luggage was taken to the boat and loaded on for us. I was worried about travelling with two heavy suitcases plus hand luggage but it was all take of first us and it was safely unloaded for us too when we arrived.

The boat itself is a giant speed boat, clean and comfortable and the staff were friendly and gave clear safely instructions. They gave out candy as we left and came around with water, soft drinks and Bintang.

On the way back from Gili to Bali, the crossing was incredibly rough and we both felt very sick by the time we arrived - not a complaint but just something that be mindful of.

Overall, highly recommended!
Written 29 August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi Jennifer, Thanks for the great review! Glad all went well despite choppy conditions upon return, not uncommon this time of year but our boats and crew handle it effortlessly. Also good to hear you enjoyed our Serangan departure lounge, we did quite a lot of renovations pre-opening in May and the coffee-shop is going well too. Perfect for a quick breakfast before our early departures, as guests often skip breakfast with early check-out. Happy to say that in 17 years (minus two) of operations we have never lost any luggage! Sometimes accidentally delivered to wrong island, but we can always manage to get it delivered within an hour or two.
Written 30 August 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Gabbie
Dubai, United Arab Emirates15 contributions
We used Bluewater Express to travel to and from Gili Air. I was a little bit hesitant to undertake this journey, as I had read a lot of horror stories online about the Lombok crossing, and so I was keen to book with Bluewater given their impressive safety record. I am pleased to say, from our initial pick up to drop off, I had a really great experience. At no point did I (a complete layperson when it comes to sea crossing) feel unsafe - the crew were very careful to only allow us onto the roof deck when it was safe to do so. We were lucky that the water was not particularly choppy, but had it been, I would have felt safe in the competent hands of the Bluewater crew. I actually really enjoyed the boat journey, as we were able to sit on the roof deck for the majority of it - and so it was more like a pleasant boat journey, rather than a mode of transportation. Bluewater is certainly an expensive option, but the cost is worthwhile paying in order to enjoy a pleasant experience that you feel safe understanding.
Written 14 August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear Flyer, Thank you very much for the review! After a difficult re-start in May, we are pleased to be back 100% and operating our two premium boats daily again, with our best crew and team, and we hope with many happy passengers such as yourself. Yes the Lombok straight can be rough at times, but so far this year Mother Nature is being kind and the seas pretty smooth, with some of our quickest transfer times to date. Rest assured both BlueWater and harbour authorities work closely together monitoring conditions carefully, and boats will only leave when 100% safe to do so. Happy Travels!
Written 19 August 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Shade Kat
36 contributions
Aug 2022 • Solo
I chose this company based on reviews about their safety practices. While the boat trip was fine, the hotel drop off service was not. The driver stopped the car in the middle of a busy road and told me to get out and walk the rest of the way to my hotel because he didn't want to deal with a one-way road. I was forced to get out, dodge cars and motorcycles while carrying all my luggage to cross the street and walk to my hotel. It was also starting to get dark too. As a lone female traveller, this was very scary and unacceptable. I advised the contract from the company and was told they'll look into it. That was it. For solo travellers, especially female - please be cautious. While I understand it's not the entire company at fault, it is their employee (it was not a third party driver-the car is the company with their logo and everything). I do not know if I'm confident enough to use this service in the future.
Written 7 August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear Kama Rak, Thanks for your review, and we are sorry that the situation was not better explained to you at the time. During busy periods, Kuta traffic can be terrible. When stuck in traffic, often guests will ask the driver how far their hotel is, and prefer to walk a few hundred meters rather than sit in a car for half an hour hardly moving. In your situation, if our driver had gone round the one way system, it would have taken at least 30 minutes, as compared to dropping you at the end of the one-way lane where your hotel was. He also had another couple to drop off as the transport was shared - everyone would be sitting in the car for ages. He helped you with your luggage and pointed you in the right direction, just a few minutes walk. However - our Front Office team should have explained this to you when you contacted us by WA, and I’m sorry this was not done. We will ensure that such communications are better carried out in the future.
Written 17 August 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Zee0822
Dubai, United Arab Emirates18 contributions
Terrible experience. We went to Gili from Bali with another company (only because Bluewater Express was fully booked and as per research was supposed to be the best). The trip to Gili wasn’t great in the sense that the boat was extremely late, and due to it being a larger boat it was hectic getting on and off.

Whereas leaving Gili on Bluewater Express was timely and a very smooth onboarding process, they also handle your luggage for you, but thats about where the positives end.

Shortly after boarding we were told the upper deck was now open and we could go, so we did, and within 10 min were drenched with unstoppable smacking waves which no one could handle, so we all went back downstairs, except now were soaking wet and can’t go back inside, so we had to spend 2.5 hrs standing, shivering, behind the engines.. it was a disaster, they never should have told us we could go to the top deck.

Moral of the story, go with the bigger boat, even if its a less “luxurious” experience, and even if you’re late, at least you won’t near die of sea sickness from the choppiness, and you’ll have space and the option to get air outside without being drenched.
Written 15 July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi Zee, Sorry to hear about your bad experience but are you sure you have your facts straight? Our crew report that sometimes there are problems about guests who insist on staying upstairs even after they have been requested to come down from the roof. While the weather looks great leaving the Gili's, it gets choppy and windy 20 minutes out into the Lombok straight and wind blows spray over the roof. We have been running these routes for 17 years (minus two) and unlike passengers, are very familiar with conditions. However - the crew clearly must be more forceful in implementing this, and we have issued reminders and ensure that Captain’s orders are more strictly implemented in the future. Not sure why you had to sit outside near the engines? All passengers are allocated a seat. Perhaps it was a warmer option considering the air-con. Regard boat size - we have now taken our 60-seat smaller vessel out of service, which although speedy does not offer a ride as smooth as our two larger ones. From now on we are only running these for the rest of the year.
Written 31 July 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Fiona
2 contributions
Jun 2022 • Couples
We were left sat waiting inside the boat and emended up being HOURS delayed. No communication was given. When I asked why we were waiting, the staff did not say anything. Instead, I found out from a customer that one of the engines was not working.

These things happen, but frustration can be prevented via good communication

I’m on a short holiday- this really was a horrible way to spend a day
Written 9 June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi Fiona, Thanks for your feedback and please accept our apologies for the delay, which was caused by a badly contaminated batch of fuel. Other boats using the same supplier had similar issues - very frustrating. We are sorry that the crew did not follow procedure by keeping you informed, as indeed they should have done. Part of the reason for this was that there were unsure of how long the repairs were going to take, and in the end they were unable to find supplies on Lombok as was hoped. It should have been a relatively quick repair, in fact, but ended up taking more than an hour. With the benefit of hindsight it is clear we should have allowed guests to chill out on land while the repairs took place. We will be conducting refresher workshops this coming week to revise our crew’s communications skills, which have no doubt become rusty after two years of non-operating! We have now switched fuel suppliers and are confident this will not occur again.
Written 20 June 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 751
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

BLUEWATER EXPRESS (Denpasar) - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go

Frequently Asked Questions about BlueWater Express

BlueWater Express is open:
  • Sun - Sat 7:30 AM - 8:00 PM
Buy tickets in advance on Tripadvisor. If you book with Tripadvisor, you can cancel at least 24 hours before the start date of your tour for a full refund.

We recommend booking BlueWater Express tours ahead of time to secure your spot. If you book with Tripadvisor, you can cancel up to 24 hours before your tour starts for a full refund. See all 2 BlueWater Express tours on Tripadvisor


Restaurants near BlueWater Express: View all restaurants near BlueWater Express on Tripadvisor