We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Alter Action Sandboarding

Swakopmund, Namibia
+264 81 128 2737
Website
Save
Review Highlights
A little bit scary but a whole lot of fun!

First let me preface this review by stating it is being written by someone who is not very fit & is... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
DMSmithbtf
,
Brantford, Canada
Cancelled last minute

We had booked this for our last day but the company cancelled it last minute - said conditions... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
cassy w
,
Sydney, Australia
Read all 120 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
We offer daily sandboarding trips from Swakopmund. Trips depart at 9:30 am and includes transport from your accommodation, equipment, a DVD and a light lunch. We are back in town before 2 pm. Stand up boarding done on snowboards with soft boots and bindings. No experience necessary. 500N$ Lie down boarding zooming head first down the dune reaching speeds of 70kph. 400N$
  • Excellent72%
  • Very good20%
  • Average6%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“lying down” (5 reviews)
“great fun” (14 reviews)
“sand dunes” (9 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
Hours Today: 09:30 - 13:30
Suggested Duration: More than 3 hours
LOCATION
Swakopmund, Namibia
CONTACT
Website
+264 81 128 2737
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

First let me preface this review by stating it is being written by someone who is not very fit & is not very adventurous! This activity was planned by someone else in our group & I went along without researching first. I had no idea...More

Thank DMSmithbtf
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had booked this for our last day but the company cancelled it last minute - said conditions weren't good - gave us another number for different company which they said did it in a different area. The phone number they gave us wouldn't connect....More

Thank cassy w
Beth S, Manager at Alter Action Sandboarding, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Cassy, Thanks for your comments. Yes, we had to cancel the trip that day due to high east winds in the desert and temperatures of over 30 degrees Celsius. I did call you an hour and a half before departure time to alert you...More

Reviewed 17 May 2017

My friend and I went Sandboarding on the hottest day yet for the year! Beth and her team are super helpful, friendly, accomodating and good at teaching people what to do from beginners to experts on the sand. The dune is a HIKE! Get ready...More

Thank melcalbear2000
Anne B, Public Relations Manager at Alter Action Sandboarding, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello, Thank you very much for your review and coming boarding with us. We'll done on fighting through on such a hot day and not giving up. Normally the weather stays all year around quiet pleasant due to a cold breeze blowing off the ocean,...More

Reviewed 9 April 2017

I've boarded all over the world so of course I had to add sand dunes in Namibia to the list. I have to say they didn't disappoint but the greatest fun was the sledding and the group we were with. My friend and I happened...More

Thank Undaunted_Courage
Reviewed 4 April 2017 via mobile

These guys were wonderful, they allowed us to change the date of our sand boarding excursion at the very last minute, and were super flexible. Also very encouraging. We got to do both sandboarding upright as well as laying down, which was fun to try...More

1  Thank Idil A
Reviewed 19 February 2017

I've never snowboarded before but the guides explained everything so well that sandboarding wasn't hard at all. I would really recommend it! In fact, I'd come all the way back to swakopmund just to do it again, even though walking up the dunes gets pretty...More

Thank roisinlambert
Reviewed 2 February 2017

This activity is a must if you are up for some fun. We simply made our reservation and hotel pickup, all of the gear, a video documenting the day and a meal were all included.

Thank kolarma10
Reviewed 26 January 2017

I was on a tour group so this was one of the optional activities for us. I am so glad I took this opportunity up because it was an incredible experience, only one thing I'd say is that it wasn't long enough! I wanted to...More

Thank Andrew W
Anne B, Public Relations Manager at Alter Action Sandboarding, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2017

Hi Andrew, Thank you for taking the time to review us. You must be very fit to say the trip was too short. Most people can't walk up the dune more often and that's why we run our trips not too long. But I am...More

Reviewed 5 January 2017

Me and my two kids (aged 9 and 11) did the lie-down boarding with these guys. Perhaps you could be concerned that this kind of action-packed activity would be haphazardly organized by a bunch of happy-go-lucky daredevils. Nothing could be further from the truth though,...More

Thank Mohnomishe
Anne B, Public Relations Manager at Alter Action Sandboarding, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2017

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review us, it is much appreciated. We are glad you enjoyed the trip with us. Thank you for coming with us and all the best for the new year. Best regards, Anne

Reviewed 26 September 2016

I went sand boarding with a small group whilst on our Absolute Africa Tour. It was such an amazing experience. The staff were very relaxed, friendly and professional. They didn't push you but encouraged you. The sand dunes are amazing and it was so much...More

Thank Bianca N
Anne B, Public Relations Manager at Alter Action Sandboarding, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2016

Hello Bianca, Thank you so much for taking the time to review us and sharing your sandboarding experience with other travellers. It was great to have you on the dune with us. Enjoy the rest of your trip! Cheers, Anne

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Village Cafe
633 reviews
5.84 km away
The Tug
1,880 reviews
5.92 km away
Kucki's Pub
932 reviews
5.75 km away
The Fish Deli
242 reviews
5.79 km away
Nearby Attractions
Desert Explorers
469 reviews
.89 km away
Swakopmund Jetty
514 reviews
5.93 km away
Swakopmund Museum
366 reviews
6.26 km away
National Marine Aquarium of Namibia
166 reviews
5.56 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Alter Action Sandboarding staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit