We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sandwich Harbour 4x4

Atlantic Street, Unit B | Walvis Bay Waterfront, Walvis Bay 9000, Namibia
+264 81 147 3933
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Best Desert Dunes Experience

We had a private tour with Herman...super experience in driving in sand !! He guided us in a super... read more

Reviewed yesterday
FabioBonini
,
Key Biscayne, Florida
I wonder

Mmmm, i wonder, you cannot do this by yourself, ....is it worth it it. I like traveling and... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
Rone v
via mobile
Read all 292 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Sandwich Harbour is a part of the Namib Naukluft Park (Namibia) many have heard of but very few have ever visited. Giant sand dunes run straight into the ocean, creating breathtaking sceneries and a unique off road driving experience. Our vehicles take you to beautiful lookouts where you can feel the isolation Namibia and the Skeleton Coast are so famous for! We offer full and have day trips to Sandwich Harbour, as well as combination tours with Boat trips and Kayaking.
  • Excellent79%
  • Very good14%
  • Average4%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“sand dunes” (19 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
Hours Today: 08:00 - 16:30
Suggested Duration: More than 3 hours
LOCATION
Atlantic Street, Unit B | Walvis Bay Waterfront, Walvis Bay 9000, Namibia
CONTACT
Website
+264 81 147 3933
Write a Review
Reviews (292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 168 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

We had a private tour with Herman...super experience in driving in sand !! He guided us in a super drive from the city to the desert....almost 4 hours of fun , learning about the area the people the nation...Herman is a well of knowledge about...More

Thank FabioBonini
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Mmmm, i wonder, you cannot do this by yourself, ....is it worth it it. I like traveling and experiencing new things... paying this amount, not so sure. The guide - fabulous, the food - not to bad- but value for money, i honestly cannot promote...More

Thank Rone v
Reviewed 1 week ago

We loved our tour of Sandwich Harbour, the scenery is to die for! I would highly recommend this experience!

Thank Alli394
Theunis K, Owner at Sandwich Harbour 4x4, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to review us. I appreciate your kind words.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

For anyone looking to combine the experience of driving the shoreline and traveling through the dunes, this is it. Spectacular scenery, fun driving (as a passenger), and timely refreshments all make for a great outing.

Thank Richard L
Theunis K, Owner at Sandwich Harbour 4x4, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Richard, - Thank you very much for your kind words!!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I just read a few comments below mine, and they gave 3 stars because the weather obstructed their view...seriously?! That's not the company's fault, you can't just call the sun and schedule an appointment. ANYWAY we had a cloudy day as well but had an...More

1  Thank Sharon V
Theunis K, Owner at Sandwich Harbour 4x4, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your kind words and for taking the time to review us. I trust that we can take you on one of our excursions again soon :)

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great adventure to drive on the beach with a 4x4 sandwich between the dunes and the beach on low water tide. Make sure you now when the tides came in because there is no way out if the tide catch you.

1  Thank DrDaubie
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

One of the amazing unique places to visit in Southern African. It offers what no other southern African country can offer. It's culture, History, and the terrain is almost unique to this country. However, need to set oneself for multiple day trip across Namibia to...More

Thank BantuRes
Theunis K, Owner at Sandwich Harbour 4x4, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your kind review!!

Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

Not for the faint of heart! Exhilarating ride between ocean and dunes, followed by roller coaster ride up and down the great expanse of dune mountains. Photos don't capture the thrills, but a video does. Lunch comprised of champagne, oysters, calamari, spring rolls, and couscous...More

Thank brightspirit
Theunis K, Owner at Sandwich Harbour 4x4, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

We are happy that you enjoyed your experience with us. Thank you for taking the time to compile our review. Best wishes!!

Reviewed 9 August 2017

A must see and must do experience - stunning! A trip of a lifetime to create lasting memories of the Namib Desert.

Thank Esme P
Theunis K, Owner at Sandwich Harbour 4x4, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Dear Esme, Thank you so much for taking the time to review us, we are glad that the excursion met your expectations.

Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

Very nice dunes and going up and down was great fun. Snacks tasted good and were very welcome. Unfortunately due wind and fog the lagoon was out of view. After the trip we went to the water in Walvisbay on our own to get a...More

Thank Hhhvvv
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Anchors @ the Jetty
355 reviews
.04 km away
The Raft
548 reviews
.45 km away
Lagoon
6 reviews
1.61 km away
The Yacht Club Restaurant
19 reviews
.34 km away
Nearby Attractions
Walvis Bay Waterfront
251 reviews
.62 km away
Kuiseb Delta Adventures
214 reviews
1.61 km away
Catamaran Charters
175 reviews
.22 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Jolie J
18 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Chrisbeeoxford | Reviewed this property |
Well Jollie J of Ottawa, you certainly know how to pose a question! Tides are different around the world and change daily as you probably know and I am not a local resident. There is a web site that will give you all you... More
1
Vote
Justin C
5 December 2016|
Answer
Response from Kenn J | Reviewed this property |
We were on a tour with other people. We did not met Herman. As for the Sandwich Harbour 4 X 4 tour, it is worth the time.
0
Votes