We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chris Rowthorn Tours

Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Excellent Walking Tour

We took a 6 hour walking tour of Southern Higashiyama into Northern Higashiyama with Maki who is an... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
MequonTravelers
,
Mequon, Wisconsin
Great walking tour of Kyoto

Just had an awesome 4 hr walking tour of Kyoto w Keiko. Did walking tour 3 which seemed like best... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Beckett9
,
Boston
via mobile
Read all 126 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
  • Excellent92%
  • Very good4%
  • Average3%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
LOCATION
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
CONTACT
Website

Similar Things to Do in Kyoto

Write a Review
Reviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We took a 6 hour walking tour of Southern Higashiyama into Northern Higashiyama with Maki who is an outstanding tour guide - professional, personable and very knowledgeable about culture, history and architecture. We learned so much plus saw lots of pretty, quaint streets that we...More

Thank MequonTravelers
Chris R, Owner at Chris Rowthorn Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for the kind review of our walking tours. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your tour with Maki and I know she will be very happy to read your kind words. I appreciate you mentioning how Maki showed you some streets that you might...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Just had an awesome 4 hr walking tour of Kyoto w Keiko. Did walking tour 3 which seemed like best one for us who were only here for 36 hrs and first time visitors. Keiko was very personable and easy to spend time with--important on...More

Thank Beckett9
Chris R, Owner at Chris Rowthorn Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your generous review of the Arashiyama tour. I'm delighted that you enjoyed the tour. I appreciate you mentioning the fact that the tour included some off-the-beaten-track locations, in addition to the more popular parts of Arashiyama. I also appreciate you...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This walk was one of five tours we booked via Chris Rowthorn tours. This walk (Arashiyama - 5) helped us see a part of Kyoto we otherwise may have missed. The Otagi Nenbutsu-ji temple is relatively 'off the beaten path' with few tourists. The temple's...More

Thank wmalueg
Chris R, Owner at Chris Rowthorn Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for the generous review of our Arashiyama tour! I'm delighted that you enjoyed the tour. I really appreciate you mentioning how our guide was able to steer you away from the most crowded areas. As you can see from your time in Kyoto,...More

Reviewed 12 July 2017

Our family (kids are 12 & 14) took the Southern Higachiyama walking tour in Kyoto. It was excellent. Our guide, Kenzo, took the time to show our family some really special spots that we never would have found on our own. He was also very...More

Thank bhall4
Chris R, Owner at Chris Rowthorn Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your kind review! I am delighted that you enjoyed your tour with Kenzo. I know that he will be very happy to read your kind words. I really appreciate you mentioning the fact that Kenzo took you to some special...More

Reviewed 7 July 2017 via mobile

This is the second tour we have done with this company the last in Kyoto. We had asked for Nara expert for this tour. Our guide was pleasant good English and easy to walk with, but we soon realised we had more knowledge of gardens...More

Thank gus1233
Chris R, Owner at Chris Rowthorn Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2017

Thank you for review of the Nara tour. We appreciate this feedback because it allows us to improve the quality of our tours. In addition to passing the national guiding exam in Japan, which requires exhaustive knowledge of Japanese history, we go to great lengths...More

Reviewed 15 June 2017

We had a marvelous experience in hiring guides from Chris Rowthorn Tours. The website was easy and the company response was immediate. We hired a guide, Aya, for a day and a half in Tokyo. We hired Hiroko for a day in Kanazawa, Kazue for...More

1  Thank DougCalifornia
Chris R, Owner at Chris Rowthorn Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2017

Thank you very much for the extremely kind review of your tours with Aya, Maki, Hiroko and Kazue! I'm delighted that you enjoyed your tours with them. They will be very happy to read your comments. I appreciate you mentioning our response speed, the guides'...More

Reviewed 22 May 2017

We did two tours with Chris Rowthorn while we were in Kyoto and couldn't fault either of them. Pre-trip communications were good. Our guide Kana, who picked us up at our hotel, was quite perfect in every way, charming, knowledgeable, kind, adjusting the itinerary as...More

1  Thank aussietraveller47
Chris R, Owner at Chris Rowthorn Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Thank you very much for your generous review of your tour with Kana! I'm delighted that you enjoyed your tour and I know that Kana will be very happy to read your kind words. I appreciate you mentioning our efficient communications. I also appreciate you...More

Reviewed 24 April 2017

We booked these 3 walking tours 6 months in advance, knowing that it's peak season in Kyoto during the cherry blossom season. We did tour 2 & 3 in one day and on a separate evening did tour 4. We traveled in a group of...More

Thank PrincessS0116
Chris R, Owner at Chris Rowthorn Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2017

Thank you very much for your generous review of our Kyoto walking tours! I am delighted that you enjoyed your three walking tours with Maki. I know that she will be very happy to read your kind words. I appreciate you mentioning Maki's passion about...More

Reviewed 22 April 2017

The four of us took a night tour with this company and we were all extremely disappointed with the tour as a whole. We had to ask many questions to gain information about what we were seeing. Our guide, Ayako Furuya, whilst polite seemed reluctant...More

2  Thank Mark F
Chris R, Owner at Chris Rowthorn Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2017

Thank you for your review of the Tokyo evening tour. I take all such feedback extremely seriously. First of all, I take all responsibility for this. I spend a lot of time searching for the best and most personable guides and then I spend a...More

Reviewed 17 April 2017

Since we were staying at a VRBO in Gion, I booked an evening Gion Walk to learn the history and about our "neighbourhood". Chris Rowthorn's staff were immediately responsive and it was easy to book online with them. No deposit was needed and we paid...More

2  Thank Lady_World_Traveller
Chris R, Owner at Chris Rowthorn Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Thank you very much for your kind review of our tours! I'm delighted that you enjoyed your tour with Kazue. I know that she will be very happy to read your generous words. I appreciate you mentioning how Kazue was able to respond in a...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Kakinosato Deli
1.13 km away
Ogawa Coffee Katada
3 reviews
1.21 km away
Lemercier
1.29 km away
Tanaka
1.37 km away
Nearby Attractions
Sagawa Art Museum
94 reviews
4.44 km away
Lake Biwa Bridge
78 reviews
3.28 km away
Pieri Moriyama
40 reviews
4.26 km away
Planetarium Hotaru
13 reviews
5.20 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
cambiari
Hi I would like to ask if you can accommodate me and and my husband with the tour below. We'll bday in Shinjuku and this will be this December. Appreciate if you could reply with your email so we could talk about the rates 😊 09 HOURS GRAND FULL DAY TOUR ON SEAT-IN-COACH WITH LUNCH (starts at 7:00am) You will first visit the Tokyo Tower, where you can enjoy a panoramic view of Tokyo from the observation platform. Next is the Meiji Shrine, the finest example of Japanese shrine architecture. Then driving through the Akasaka Guest House. The Akasaka Guest House is a magnificent western-style palace built in the baroque style. Next drive by the Japanese Capitol, dominated by a massive tower and visit the Imperial Palace East Garden. Here you can enjoy a pleasant walk through the garden as a place of historical interest and scenic beauty. We drive through the shopping district of Ginza. You will enjoy Japanese style lunch (only included in the tour if lunch option is selected at time of booking). We continue to Hamarikyu garden which is a typical Daimyo (Japanese feudal lord) garden in the Edo period with a tidal pond. Next enjoy a 30 minutes boat ride on the Sumida River. After the cruise, you have a chance to see Ninja and Samurai performances at the pier. At the end of tour, visiting the Asakusa Kannon Temple and walking down the brightly lit Nakamise shopping street, then we drive through Kappabashi area where restaurant supplies and wax food samples are sold, and Ueno and Akihabara. *with hotel pick-up and drop-off for the above hotels. 11 HOURS MT. FUJI AND HAKONE BY MOTORCOACH THROUGHOUT ON SEAT-IN-COACH WITH LUNCH (starts at 8:00am) Enjoy the scenery of rural Japan during the drive to Mount Fuji. You will have a panoramic view of the Pacific Ocean and grand mountains from an altitude of 8000 feet. Then you will take the double-wired sky gondola for a breath-taking view of the volcanic Hakone Mountains, arriving at Owakudani Valley (the Valley of Hell). Admire the view of steam escaping from the rugged mountains of Owakudani. You will also have the chance to try an Onsen Tamago (an egg boiled in hot spring water). Next, a boat ride on peaceful Lake Ashi, you can sit back and relax amidst the picturesque and serene natural beauty of the crater lake. We then return to Tokyo by motorcoach. *with hotel pick-up and drop-off for
20 November 2016|
Answer
Response from Chris R | Property representative |
Dear cambiari, Thank you very much for your inquiry. We are terribly sorry to inform you that unfortunately we do not offer a type of tour you requested. Please visit our website if you are kindly interested in the... More
0
Votes
Amanda3228
26 September 2016|
Answer
Response from Chris R | Property representative |
Thank you very much for your inquiry. We are very sorry to inform you that unfortunately we are already fully booked on the date in question. We sincerely apologize for this inconvenience.
0
Votes
Russell B
1 August 2016|
Answer
Response from MrsKanga | Reviewed this property |
Hi Russell - for faster response, suggest you contact him at their website which was how I was able to contact him.
0
Votes