We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tabacon Hot Springs

Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
+506 2479 2099
Call
Website
Save
Book In Advance
More Info
US$146.00*
and up
Arenal Volcano and Tabacon Hot Springs from San José
More Info
US$125.00*
and up
Arenal 1968 Park Hiking Tour with Hot Springs
More Info
US$173.00*
and up
Arenal Volcano Lava Flow Hike and Tabacón Hot Springs with Dinner
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Nestled in the heart of the tropical rainforest at the base of the majestic Arenal Volcano in the northern Region of Costa Rica. This five-star resort offers a unique blend of nature, adventure and relaxation. The resort's unique healing thermal mineral spring river emerges from the volcanic earth, cascading to form waterfalls, streams, tranquil pools and ponds surrounded by lush tropical gardens.
  • Excellent69%
  • Very good22%
  • Average6%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“swim up bar” (310 reviews)
“hot springs” (1,355 reviews)
“day pass” (190 reviews)
LOCATION
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
CONTACT
Website
+506 2479 2099
Write a ReviewReviews (3,972)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"swim up bar"
in 310 reviews
"hot springs"
in 1,355 reviews
"day pass"
in 190 reviews
"buffet dinner"
in 177 reviews
"main pool"
in 63 reviews
"hotel guests"
in 33 reviews
"locker room"
in 46 reviews
"water slide"
in 76 reviews
"costa rica"
in 233 reviews
"hot pools"
in 71 reviews
"warm water"
in 51 reviews
"after a long day"
in 47 reviews
"buffet style"
in 35 reviews
"spring pools"
in 34 reviews
"arenal volcano"
in 111 reviews
"changing rooms"
in 40 reviews
"our honeymoon"
in 32 reviews
Filter

11 - 20 of 3,127 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A must if you are in the area we stayed at the hotel and there is a private area for hotel guests but the majority of area open to the public — the water temperature is perfect and the falls are beautiful and relaxingMore

Thank Queenbee4067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community M, Gerente at Tabacon Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear valued guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tabacon. We are glad to read you had a 5 star visit and that you enjoyed our more tan 20 thermal pools and ponds. We appreciate your review and hope to...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

I probably would have skipped writing a review of this place if it wasn't for how rude the front desk staff was on both interactions we had with them. So because of that and my shock at how overrated this place is I feel the...More

Thank LivingLifeByTravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community M, Gerente at Tabacon Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear valued guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tabacon. We are glad to read we had the opportunity of hosting you however we are sorry to read about the experience you had. We appreciate that you took the time...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had we known how beautiful this place was, we would have gone earlier and spent more time. The hot Springs were tiers of hot waterfalls with pools and areas to soak and relax. Our ticket included dinner and the buffet was one of the best...More

Thank LadyDi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community M, Gerente at Tabacon Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Lady, Thank you for taking the time to share your experince with us. It's great to read you had a 5 star vist and a relaxing day with us. We appreciate your review and hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again in...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at Tabacon for one night and thought it was just perfect. The pictures you see of the hot springs do not compare to the real thing. We were surprised by how many pockets you could find to sit in the hot springs and...More

Thank petitepoutine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community M, Gerente at Tabacon Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear valued guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tabacon with us. We are glad to read you had a 5 star visit and that you enjoyed all our services and facilities. It's also great to read that base on...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

ot springs made up of 10+ Falls/pools. Exceptionally relaxing and enjoyable, surrounded by a beautifully maintained natural/Rain forest environment. Flora and Fauna reflective of Costa Rica enriches the whole experience. Hotel has a pool and an in pool pool bar to cap off the water...More

Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community M, Gerente at Tabacon Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello David, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tabacon. It's great to read you had a 5 star visit and that you enjoyed our thermal experience surrounded by the rainforest lush. At the same time, we are glad to know...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Tabacon is a resort and restaurant. The hot spring pools range in temps from 96 degrees up to 112 degrees. There is a main pool then smaller pools with high temps as you go up the property. The place is busy but not overly crowded....More

Thank BJB7775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community M, Gerente at Tabacon Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear valued guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tabacon. We are glad to read you had a 5 star visit and that you enjoyed your thermal adventure. At the same time, it's great to know you visited our Ave...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After a morning of hiking in the rain, this was an excellent way to relax in a very beautiful setting. There are several natural pools and areas to enjoy with small water falls to massage your back! We really enjoyed our afternoon here.More

Thank leahhunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community M, Gerente at Tabacon Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear valued guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tabacon. We are gad to read you had a 5 star visit and that you enjoyed our beautiful setting. As you were able to experience our natural pools and ponds are...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went on a rainy day, but it was absolutely magical. Steam rose from the river and up into the jungle foliage, creating a mystical and tropical shangri-la experience. The buffet lunch was surprisingly excellent - fish was grilled to perfection, was fresh and tasty....More

Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community M, Gerente at Tabacon Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello James, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tabacon. We are glad to read you had a 5 star visit and that you enjoyed of a amazing day surrounded by the rainforest foliage. At the same time, it's great to...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I got a day spa pass and spent a really lovely day at Tabacon, so glad we went. We arrived shortly after midday and enjoyed all of the lovely pools in beautiful surroundings which was so relaxing before having a few beers...More

Thank Hope2HaveAHappyHol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community M, Gerente at Tabacon Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear valued guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tabacon. We are glad to read you had a 5 star visit and that you spent a really lovely day at Tabacon. At the same time, it's great to know you...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in honeymoon suite which in our view were best rooms at the property. The dinners at the restaurant were excellent for all of us and cooking steak on Volcanic rock was quite an experience for the kids along with frequent visits from the...More

Thank EconomistMomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community M, Gerente at Tabacon Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear valued guest, Thank you for taking the time the share your visit at Tabacon. We are glad to read you enjoyed our property. Also, it's great to know you had an excellent thermal experience and that your kids enjoyed their visit too. We appreciate...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PreviousNext
123456313
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 59 hotels in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
3,690 reviews
.00 km away
Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa
1,297 reviews
1.27 km away
Hotel Lavas Tacotal
206 reviews
2.36 km away
Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa
1,219 reviews
2.63 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Red Frog Coffee Roaster and Hostel
291 reviews
6.94 km away
Que Rico Arenal
723 reviews
3.95 km away
Restaurante Mi Casa
392 reviews
6.93 km away
Altamira Restaurant
273 reviews
4.25 km away
Nearby Attractions
Baldi Aqua Spa
29 reviews
4.56 km away
Lake Arenal
1,528 reviews
4.51 km away
Rio Chollin
988 reviews
.16 km away
Arenal Hanging Bridges
1,507 reviews
3.40 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
aprenti3
21 February 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Community M | Property representative |
Hello aprenti3, Thank you for taking the time to share your question with us, it´s great to read you are planning to visit us. For the enjoyment of our visitors to our thermal springs we offer the option of Day Pass which... More
0
Votes
Google Translation
Steven T
25 November 2017|
Answer
Response from Community M | Property representative |
Hello Steven, A pleasure to read you are planning to visit Tabacon.Sure, you can exit and re-enter the resort as long as it is within the schedule of your One Day Pass Package. You must also keep the bracelet on your... More
0
Votes
Google Translation
jimdandyofor
5 November 2017|
Answer
Response from Community M | Property representative |
Hello jimdandyofor, We are glad to read you are going to visit us again soon. We offer more than 20 ponds and thermal pools located throughout the resort. If you are a guest of our hotel you will have access to an... More
1
Vote
Google Translation
PreviousNext
1234567