We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

African Dive Adventures

Features Animals
1050 Marine Drive, Clover Bay , Shelly Beach, Margate 4275, South Africa
+27 82 456 7885
Call
Website
Save
Review Highlights
I regret to choose this club

I booked and paid for 4 normal dives with them. We I arrived, they told me: we go in baited shark... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
Simon T
,
Brest, France
Excellent dive center

This is how a dive center should be. Perfect staff, good equipment and great dives. Safety is their... read more

Reviewed 19 November 2017
Melissa-Markesteijn
,
Delft, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
via mobile
Read all 28 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
We offer a professional, safe service to experienced divers who want to dive with sharks on Protea Banks. This reef is for experienced divers only and not suited for beginners. We also offer our Sardine Run program from end June to end July on the Wild Coast. This is suitable for anyone, diver and non diver. We have perfected our Sardine Run over many years of experience and can offer an unforgettable, safe and successful experience. 21 years in business
  • Excellent87%
  • Very good0%
  • Average3%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“protea banks” (8 reviews)
“bull sharks” (5 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 6:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Suggested Duration: More than 3 hours
LOCATION
1050 Marine Drive, Clover Bay , Shelly Beach, Margate 4275, South Africa
CONTACT
Website
+27 82 456 7885
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 18 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

I booked and paid for 4 normal dives with them. We I arrived, they told me: we go in baited shark dive and after, we'll try to do normal dive. I had no choice and told them OK. - > Result: 3 black tips seen...More

Thank Simon T
SharkRoland, Inhaber at African Dive Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Pretty unfair report. We have been diving Protea Banks for over 20 years. We know the reef, the sharks and the weather. What Simon did not mention is the fact that due to strong winds we only managed to do one dive each day. The...More

Reviewed 19 November 2017 via mobile

This is how a dive center should be. Perfect staff, good equipment and great dives. Safety is their top priority. Would definitely recommend this dive center.

Thank Melissa-Markesteijn
Reviewed 11 November 2017 via mobile

Diving with Steve, Roland and skipper Spike isn’t always easy due the rough sea and weather conditions in Protea Banks. This is a dive destination for experienced divers and shark lovers. But you get rewarded by excellent shark sightings. I will come back in January/February...More

Thank Uwe J
SharkRoland, Owner at African Dive Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2017

Hi Uwe, It was a pleasure having you with us. Especially your night photography was spectacular. JJJ I love diving with people who can dive well and also can take a beating by the elements if necessary. This time of the year we have to...More

Reviewed 8 November 2017

What an amazing dive with African Dive Adventures!!! Wow. My students saw school after school of Hammerheads, the divemaster delivered a thorough dive briefing and then safely escorted the group on the dive with Oceanic Blacktips, Bull Sharks and Grey Nurse sharks at every turn....More

Thank scubasport
Reviewed 23 August 2017

We were diving in winter and if they don't have enough divers they tell you they don't go diving the previous afternoon so you cannot change plans. We didn't book directly with them, another company did. They booked 5 reef dives and a baited and...More

Thank NataliaRodriguezPar
SharkRoland, Owner at African Dive Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2017

Dear Natalia, I find it strange that you would post this comment on my page. It looks like the report rather belongs to the company you have booked with. There is one thing for sure : If anybody books with us and gets a booking...More

Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

Very friendly, divemasters were great, allowed freedom to explore whilst maintaining good dive safety and procedures. Also I can't describe how good diving with sharks is...every dive delivered! 100% going back.

Thank James L
SharkRoland, Owner at African Dive Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2017

Hi james, I am glad we and our beloved reef delivered. This is what you come to us for !!! No half measures. Love sharks, dive Protea Banks.

Reviewed 9 January 2017

My husband and I wanted to spend a night in Margate and do a shark dive for his birthday. We stayed and dived with African Dive Adventures. Firstly, their accommodation is top class! They have a self catering flat in ramsgate, and a villa in...More

2  Thank Karen W
SharkRoland, Owner at African Dive Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2017

Hey Karen, Thanks so much for your review. It is our greatest pleasure to deal and meet amazing people like yourselves.

Reviewed 26 August 2016

My brother and I spent a week diving on Protea Banks with these guys, and they are a very good operation. Protea isn't easy diving, and the team at African Dive Adventures expect you to be a good diver, so they don't patronise or mollycoddle...More

Thank RossMackenzie
Reviewed 10 July 2016

My wife and I joined them for their Sardine Run 2016 as part of our honeymoon. They were the only dive operator operating at Coffee Bay. right from the moment we landed at the airport, they did all they could to make us feel at...More

Thank oystershred
Reviewed 28 March 2016

Diving with African Dive Adventures is a highlight of your diving education. It takes experience and serenity to master the challenges... rough sea, sharks and current. The main person responsible for your security is you! On the other hand you will have a phantastic experience...More

Thank Kondor-99
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 6 hotels in Margate
St Michaels Sands Hotel
36 reviews
.24 km away
HillBillion Estate
7 reviews
.48 km away
La Cote d'Azur
72 reviews
4.66 km away
Margate Hotel
16 reviews
5.74 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Munchner Haus
90 reviews
.21 km away
C-Bali
156 reviews
.31 km away
c-bali
30 reviews
.31 km away
The Zambezi Restaurant
5 reviews
.24 km away
Nearby Attractions
Aqua Planet Dive Center and Charter
159 reviews
.26 km away
Pure Venom
51 reviews
1.71 km away
Ster-Kinekor Shelly Centre
8 reviews
.46 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from African Dive Adventures staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit