We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Featherbed Nature Reserve

Features Animals
Remembrance Drive, Knysna | Ferry from Municipal Jetty, Knysna 5270, South Africa
+27 44 382 1693
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Devistated

You cannot visit this once great spot as it was destroyed by bushfires. The company still runs a... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Robert H
,
Sydney, Australia
Worth visiting

Nice walk alongside the beach where you suddenly have to climb the suspension bridge. Bridge with a... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
mysteryguest132_11
,
Bruges, Belgium
Read all 939 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Featherbed is a privately-owned, registered Nature Reserve and a South African Heritage Site, No.59. It is a pristine piece of paradise situated on the Western Head of Knysna and is accessible by ferry only.In order to protect the splendour of the natural beauty, access to the Reserve is controlled. Numbers are limited and visits are only permitted in the company of the Reserve's specialist guides.
  • Excellent58%
  • Very good29%
  • Average9%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“buffet lunch” (81 reviews)
“boat trip” (109 reviews)
LOCATION
Remembrance Drive, Knysna | Ferry from Municipal Jetty, Knysna 5270, South Africa
CONTACT
Website
+27 44 382 1693

Similar Things to Do in Knysna

Write a Review
Reviews (939)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 781 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

You cannot visit this once great spot as it was destroyed by bushfires. The company still runs a boat trip that goes past the reserve so you get an idea of what you are missing.More

Thank Robert H
The Featherbed C, Guest Relations Manager at Featherbed Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you Robert, yes indeed our pristine Featherbed Nature Reserver was serverely damaged during the devastating fires on the 7th of June. We are however hard at work with our rejuvenation and rebuild process as we are confident that this once beautiful reserve will be...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice walk alongside the beach where you suddenly have to climb the suspension bridge. Bridge with a view...

1  Thank mysteryguest132_11
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

We were supposed to go on the cruise combined with the nature reserve (4h trip). This was booked in July. Apparently there was a fire 🔥 which destroyed a big part of the reserve so the tour only consisted of the cruise (1h30). Okay; not...More

Thank StefanEgg
The Featherbed C, Public Relations Manager at Featherbed Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Stefan Kindly send us your contact details to sales@featherbed.co.za so we can discuss your experience with you personally. The recent fires on tghe 7rh of June did destroy our nature reserve and it's facilities and we are currently not able to offer the well...More

Reviewed 11 August 2017

We went in person to reserve 2 spots for the next day. We were told to arrive at 9:30. When we got there the next day we were told that we were not on the list. There was another party of 4 that were told...More

Thank deboraholausson
The Featherbed C, Public Relations Manager at Featherbed Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Debora Kindly email us with the date of your booking and name of the person you made the booking with to sales@featherbed.co.za to enable us to investigate your accusation. We have always strived to offer excellent guest service and your review definitely is not...More

Reviewed 5 July 2017

Anybody who enjoys photography should take this trip across the lake. There are so many angles that the sun does not matter. What was not perfect from a lighting point of view there inevitably would be on the way back. The reserve itself is stunning...More

Thank RubinVanNiekerk
The Featherbed C, Public Relations Manager at Featherbed Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for yoru review!

Reviewed 30 June 2017 via mobile

We were a large company. The booking malfunction so we ended up having dinner at the restaurant instead of the boat. Two out of six mestorders failed with overcooked steak and not edible steak, the latter exchanged for another overcooked. Not sent out again since...More

Thank Gösta R
Reviewed 19 June 2017

We had an amazing experience with the sunset cruise. The scenery was really beautiful and the boat was steady as well. will definitely recommend this to couples.

1  Thank arethafarao
The Featherbed C, Public Relations Manager at Featherbed Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

Thank you for your review. We are sure you meant to place it on the John Benn's tripadvisor page rather than the Featherbed Nature Reserve.

Reviewed 17 June 2017

We did the Featherbed Tour a few years back (in our younger days). We sailed across the lagoon on the John Benn and then were taken by tractor so far up the hillside where we were then met by a guide to take us on...More

1  Thank MiloDexter
The Featherbed C, Public Relations Manager at Featherbed Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

Thank you for review Milo. William Smith no longer owns the business and the John Benn also does not stop at the Featherbed Nature Reserve. It is a different vessel entirely that is allocated to the tour.

Reviewed 17 June 2017 via mobile

This is a must to visit for the views. The guide was first class with plenty of information and some humour. The bar/restaurant on the reserve is amazing and worth seeing, you will enjoy a beer after the walk. Just loved it.

Thank David R
The Featherbed C, Public Relations Manager at Featherbed Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

Thank you for your comments.

Reviewed 7 June 2017

Our excellent visit to this privately-owned area included a ferry ride, a ride to the top in wheeled carts pulled by a powerful 4X4 vehicle, gorgeous scenery, and caves overlooking the lagoon. The scenery overlooking the cliffs is magnificent! And our lunch is the restaurant...More

Thank Providence_RITom
The Featherbed C, Public Relations Manager at Featherbed Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

Thank you for your comments

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Anchorage Restaurant
725 reviews
.44 km away
Le Maquis
353 reviews
.50 km away
Cafe Mario
982 reviews
.47 km away
Chatters Bistro
549 reviews
.42 km away
Nearby Attractions
Knysna Lagoon
514 reviews
.79 km away
Drupkelders Hiking Trail
38 reviews
1.04 km away
Pledge Nature Reserve
31 reviews
.85 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
ziphokazidlamini
13 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from The Featherbed C | Property representative |
Hi there you are welcome to call 044-3821693 to make a reservation. This will avoid any dissappointment. Regards Management
0
Votes
Delius17
20 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from valhux | Reviewed this property |
Hi sorry if its late in answering, but we booked when we arrived in the area. We stayed for one evening and did the tour the following day. However, although we paid approx £40.00 per person for the tour, we never got a... More
1
Vote