We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Stellenbosch University Botanical Garden

Cnr. Van Riebeeck Street and Neethling Street, Stellenbosch, South Africa
+27 21 808 3054
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Great outing

Awesome family outing, had lovely lunch at the Katjiepiering Restaurant. Definitely recommend it... read more

Reviewed 9 August 2017
fhdhdbdj
,
Durbanville, South Africa
via mobile
Green oasis in the middle of Stellenbosch

A definite place to go for bonsai tree lovers - I have never seen so many in one place. Very... read more

Reviewed 7 August 2017
BWM505
,
Kent, United Kingdom
Read all 630 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
The Stellenbosch University Botanical Garden, located in the historical center of Stellenbosch, is the oldest university botanical garden in South Africa. This compact Garden houses an enormous diversity of plants, both indigenous to South Africa and exotic. The Garden is open to the public and a R10 admission applies. Although the Garden does not have a visitor parking area, a parking lot is located adjacent to the garden in Van Riebeeck Street.
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good40%
  • Average6%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“bonsai trees” (33 reviews)
“water lilies” (17 reviews)
“tea garden” (14 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 08:00 - 17:00
Suggested Duration: 1-2 hours
LOCATION
Cnr. Van Riebeeck Street and Neethling Street, Stellenbosch, South Africa
CONTACT
Website
+27 21 808 3054
Write a Review
Reviews (630)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 512 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

Awesome family outing, had lovely lunch at the Katjiepiering Restaurant. Definitely recommend it. Entrance fee was only minimal

Thank fhdhdbdj
Reviewed 7 August 2017

A definite place to go for bonsai tree lovers - I have never seen so many in one place. Very reasonable entry fee allows you to wander around the gardens at leisure. We went in winter but still plenty to see and a nice escape...More

2  Thank BWM505
Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

What a lovely Botanical Garden in the middle in the old town area of Stellenbosch.Its only R10 to enter and has different garden themes .Its a small scale Kirstenbosch with nursery and shop.And hidden cafe in the "rainforest".

1  Thank Mike_G6308
Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile

A small well kept garden with an excellent restaurant great for an afternoon visit if staying in Stellenbosch. Numerous bonsai trees. Very good value considering the small admission fee and partial refund at the restaurant.

1  Thank Phillip A
Reviewed 13 July 2017

We visited in SA's winter, but can imagine it is a haven to go to when it is hotter. It certainly was idyllic when we visited on a sunny, crisp, winter morning. Has a cafe and really easy to walk around (I would say that...More

1  Thank Maddie P
Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

I went there with my fiancé. I expected plants and trees but never thought i would see so many bonsai trees. Instantly happy. The bonsai's alone was worth it.

1  Thank 771willemb
Reviewed 30 June 2017

A lovely place to escape to for a while. Tranquil and beautifully maintained. Worth a visit, even a short one.

Thank Beverly S
Reviewed 15 June 2017 via mobile

Then it gardens in stellenbosch are a gorgeous maze of indigenous plants that have been immaculately kept and signed so that visitors can learn all about the nature that thrives in our country. If you're a bonsai lover, a trip to the bonsai garden is...More

1  Thank caebae_v
Reviewed 15 June 2017 via mobile

Great place to go if you enjoy plants or simply to relax in this beautiful green heaven. Requires 1-2 hours.

Thank FlyingDutchman68
Reviewed 11 June 2017 via mobile

Great exhibits such as the tropical and desert houses plus a large collection of Bonsais makes this a great outing. Coffee shop on the premises serves great cakes and tea.

Thank louwrih
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Helena's
784 reviews
.33 km away
Fat Butcher
366 reviews
.13 km away
Basic Bistro
640 reviews
.34 km away
De Warenmarkt
80 reviews
.19 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Stellenbosch Village Museum
269 reviews
.20 km away
Stellenbosch University
119 reviews
.55 km away
Stellenbosch Wine Route Visitor Information Centre
23 reviews
.22 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Chelsea D
13 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Martin S | Property representative |
Unfortunately wedding photography is not allowed. Other shoots are allowed with prior arrangement.
0
Votes
Twinkle-Eyez1
24 February 2016|
Answer
Response from Martin S | Property representative |
Good day. Unfortunately we do not allow picnics in the garden. Photography is allowed but prior permission is required for any commercial photo shoots.
0
Votes
JABDover
31 December 2015|
Answer
Response from Martin S | Property representative |
Apologies for the very late response. Probably to late for you but hopefully it might still help someone else. There are trains from Cape Town directly to Stellenbosch. The station is however a few blocks away from the... More
0
Votes