We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor: This place is temporarily closed.

Ernie Els Wines

Annandale Road, Stellenbosch 7599, South Africa
+27 21 881 3588
Website
Share
Save
Book In Advance
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent61%
  • Very good24%
  • Average8%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“trophy room” (33 reviews)
“putting green” (4 reviews)
“cheese platter” (14 reviews)
Open Now
Hours
Hours Today: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
LOCATION
Annandale Road, Stellenbosch 7599, South Africa
CONTACT
Website
+27 21 881 3588
Ways to Experience Ernie Els Wines
US$62 per adult
More Info
US$93 per adult
More Info
Write a ReviewReviews (254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"trophy room"
in 33 reviews
"putting green"
in 4 reviews
"cheese platter"
in 14 reviews
"complimentary glass of wine"
in 3 reviews
"chipping area"
in 2 reviews
"golf swing"
in 2 reviews
"impressive entrance"
in 2 reviews
"easy drinking"
in 4 reviews
"burger"
in 13 reviews
"stunning views"
in 8 reviews
"welcome drink"
in 3 reviews
"beautiful environment"
in 2 reviews
"winery experience"
in 2 reviews
"worth a stop"
in 2 reviews
"lunch menu"
in 2 reviews
"surrounding mountains"
in 3 reviews
"wedges"
in 2 reviews
Filter

41 - 50 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2017

I spent a Saturday afternoon as part of my wine estate visits around Stellenbosch. I have sampled some of the wines from this estate via JNWines and this gave me the opportunity to taste others than I am not familiar with. Accompanied with cheese and...More

Thank Capt007Pugwash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

We went for a tasting at Ernie Els' vineyards for the first time. The tasting room is really grand and impeccably maintained. Really comfortable seating is provided both inside and outside. We were served by Lize , who was very friendly and knowledgeable. They have...More

Thank Birgitte E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2017

Hole in one chipping for a bottle is a very creative touch! The wines are good, food menu limited but mastered. Definitely worth a visitMore

Thank MuratErtug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErnieElsWines, Manager at Ernie Els Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2017

Good Day, Thank you for the review and taking the time to comment on your experience at the winery. It's good to know that you enjoyed your visit and the chipping, hope you were able to hit that hole in one, if not this time...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2017 via mobile

We have been wanting to visit this winery for a while now so eventually we made our way there. The old world feel of the property is really amazing, the views are gorgeous and the wines are actually better than we had expected, a lovely...More

Thank Coincut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErnieElsWines, Manager at Ernie Els Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2017

Good Afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your experience at Ernie Els Wines. We sincerely apologies for the disappointment and neglect that the staff had for not being professional, as this is not the normal standard that our staff...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017

We had previously visited the vineyard 5 years previously and were blown away. So it was on our list of must do's this visit to South Africa. The entrance and decor seemed a little worn. We decided to stay and have a wine tasting and...More

Thank Rick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErnieElsWines, Manager at Ernie Els Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2017

Dear Rick, Thank you for being a returning guest and taking the time to informing us of your visit in comparison with your first visit. We apologies that you did not have the same experience as your first visit, the winery will definitely be receiving...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2017 via mobile

Did the masters wine tasting which is recommended for red wine drinkers. We had lunch too which was tasty and served quickly - we had the chicken burger and chicken Caesar salad, both yumm. Our hostess was knowledgeable and the setting was amazing outside with...More

Thank Carolyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErnieElsWines, Manager at Ernie Els Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2017

Dear Carolyn, Hope you had a wonderful weekend. Thank you for taking the time to rate your visit at Ernie Els Wines. We are so happy that you had a good experience, enjoyed the wine, food and view, the full Ernie Els Wines experience. Hopefully...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2017

We spent a day driving around the winelands and this of course was one of our choices to visit. The real eastate is some of the most beautiful I have seen. Once you get up to the main building it has a high end feel,...More

Thank AngkorTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErnieElsWines, Manager at Ernie Els Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2017

Good Day, Hope you are doing well. Thank you so much for visiting Ernie Els Wines. It's good to know that your entire family enjoyed your experience at the winery. We hope that you come visit again soon. Kindest Regards Hospitality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2017 via mobile

We booked a private wine tour and intended to visit this winery amongst a couple of others today. When we drove through the vineyard, we saw a huge amount of cars parked along the street leading to the entrance, so we thought that the place...More

Thank donroman82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErnieElsWines, Manager at Ernie Els Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2017

Good Day, Thank you for the feedback received. Our winery is open daily for wine tasting from Mondays to Saturdays and we always welcome our guest with open arms and ensure that they have the best experience, starting with a lovely welcoming wine as they...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2017

The farm is beautiful and views spectacular. you can also practice your golf swing on-site! The restaurant's food is good too (nothing amazing, but doesn't dissapoint either)More

Thank Louise213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErnieElsWines, Manager at Ernie Els Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2017

Dear Louise, Hope you are doing well. Thank you for visiting Ernie Els Wines and sharing your response and experience regarding your visit at the winery. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience. Not sure when your last visit was, we have changed...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Visited this winery and did a wine tasting. The young waiter was very helpful and being vegetarians with a small choice on the menu, he went out of his way to find us options. Amazing setting.More

Thank perth08Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErnieElsWines, Manager at Ernie Els Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2017

Good Day, Thank you for taking the time review your visit at Ernie Els Wines, it's always a pleasure to receive feedback from our guest. Good to hear that you enjoyed your experience, we have change our menu this week and do have a vegetarian...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 18 hotels in Stellenbosch
Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch
398 reviews
5.57 km away
Stellenbosch Lodge
82 reviews
5.58 km away
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
435 reviews
6.17 km away
Somerset Lodge
21 reviews
6.81 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Overture at Hidden Valley
659 reviews
.81 km away
Guardian Peak
618 reviews
.66 km away
Longridge Restaurant
385 reviews
1.39 km away
Overture Restaurant
8 reviews
.82 km away
Nearby Attractions
Uva Mira Mountain Vineyards
164 reviews
1.10 km away
Hidden Valley Wines
105 reviews
.81 km away
Haskell Vineyards
32 reviews
1.59 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Ernie Els Wines staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit