We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: R44 | De Zalze Winelands Golf Estate, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Phone Number:
+27 21 880 7300
Website

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 140 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 43
    Excellent
  • 25
    Very good
  • 4
    Average
  • 3
    Poor
  • 3
    Terrible
Nice winelands course

From clubhouse, caddy master to visitors a friendly and relaxing service. The course by itself was in good condition (cobsidering the watering restrictions here). Not always an... read more

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 weeks ago
mktripadvidor
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

140 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 78: English reviews
Level Contributor
74 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

From clubhouse, caddy master to visitors a friendly and relaxing service. The course by itself was in good condition (cobsidering the watering restrictions here). Not always an easy course but very fair. The only balls lost are in the water obstacles. Many players due to 6 min teetimes but we've never felt being pushed. A you'll have to play course.

Helpful?
Thank mktripadvidor
DeZalzeGolfClub, Marketing Manager at De Zalze Golf Club, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review. I 'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed the course and were well looked after by the De Zalze staff. Please come and visit us again! Regards, Leone More 

Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Fabulous course, varied, challenging beautiful with the backdrop of mountains! We were greeted with friendliness And shown where to park! Immediately a cart turned up available for us with iced water- perfect! However after 18 holes the service was slow and the only food available was pizza or 4 platters- disappointing!

Helpful?
Thank Sheila R
DeZalzeGolfClub, Marketing Manager at De Zalze Golf Club, responded to this review

Dear Sheila. Thank you for your honest review. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed the golf course. I have discussed your feedback with our Food & Beverage Manager, who is looking into ways in which to offer a wider selection for post golfers. The De Zalze team is looking forward to see you here again soon. Kind regards, Leone More 

Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
109 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2016

A good inland course in the wine area. Course was extremely busy and play was quite slow until they sent a marshal out after we complained at the turn. It helped somewhat. The course itself was a fair test required good positioning, It was in good but not great condition. Some of the views of the surrounding mountains were excellent.

Helpful?
Thank Harry S
xRachellex, Public Relations Manager at De Zalze Golf Club, responded to this review

Dear Harry. Thanks for visiting our course and your input. We apologise for the fact that our course is not in the exact tip top condition we aspire to due to the fact that we are reshaping our bunkers and teeboxes and upgrading our irrigation system etc. This always results in less than satisfactory conditioning at times, however we know... More 

Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2016 via mobile

I was with the group from Australia in March. To say our golf game was ruined by bad course management and really bad customer service is an understatement. There was no apology, understanding or any empathy for their stuff up of allowing 30 children play in front of us (we had booked nearly 8 months beforehand). A beautiful course with... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lyndsey S
xRachellex, Public Relations Manager at De Zalze Golf Club, responded to this review

Dear Lyndsey. Please refer to the response to both Jene and Ian's reviews...surprisingly very similar to yours. You are attempting to use TA to besmirch our hard earned good reputation simply because your group failed to follow golf etiquette and refused to play behind some members with children. We see that you have registered on TA and have a history... More 

Geelong, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2016 via mobile

We travelled from Australia with a group and booked our round of golf many many months in advance and teed off the first at the allocated time. However, De Zalze had also booked a large group of kids off the tenth (great to see kids enjoying golf) which meant that we were held up so much that our game had... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Jene6
xRachellex, Public Relations Manager at De Zalze Golf Club, responded to this review

Dear Jene. Please refer our response to Ian below. We have a great reputation built up over the past 10 years and will continue to provide a superior level of friendly service to all golfers visiting DZGC. Thank you DZGC. More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2016

Played with a group and had 30 or more children start on the 10th (great to see the kids playing golf BUT) meant the round strretched to over 5.5 hours part of group were not able to complete round without any acknowlegment by pro shop they made a mistake with tee times, no apology just dismissed with arrogance. When you... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank ianmct
xRachellex, Public Relations Manager at De Zalze Golf Club, responded to this review

Dear Ian, thanks for your input. What you have failed to do is to state that despite the juniors playing within the time limits provided (and under member supervision) your fourball decided to break golf etiquette and take the law into your own hands, simply because you didnt want to play behind children! You skipped certain holes and subsequently failed... More 

Cape Town
Level Contributor
73 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2016

The course is typically in very good condition and is cared for really well. Holes are designed to make players think a bit, rather than to just hammer a driver and then play a short iron in. High handicappers may struggle a bit as accuracy in shot making is essential.

Helpful?
2 Thank ScubaZorro
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2016 via mobile

Course is always in an excellent condition and the views from most greens picture perfect. It is often windy when playing here which makes it much more challenging than on a normal sunny day

Helpful?
Thank Lourens B
Dave H, General Manager at De Zalze Golf Club, responded to this review

Hi Lourens. Thanks for your kind review, we hope to continue meeting and exceeding your expectations. I was interested to read you wind comments as we don't get the south easter here at DZGC (the prevailing wind in the Cape)...or it may get to about a 1 club wind when its a 5 club wind elsewhere :)...we are lucky to... More 

Stellenbosch
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2015

This must be one of the best courses with a very relaxed atmosphere for locals and guests. After a mediocre round we settled in the clubhouse for post round drinks. We were made feel very welcome even though none of us were members here.

Helpful?
1 Thank Johan V
Dave H, General Manager at De Zalze Golf Club, responded to this review

Thanks Johan. We are extremely pleased that we continue to meet your expectations over time and hope to keep on improving. Hope to catch up one day soon. Kind regards, Dave More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2015

Challenging and beautifully presented golf course with spectacular views. Club house staff and pro shop very friendly.

Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew W
Dave H, General Manager at De Zalze Golf Club, responded to this review

Thank you Andrew. It is always a pleasure to obtain good unsolicited feedback which always energises the whole staff team. We hope to see you again in the not too distant future. Thanks, Dave More 

Travellers who viewed De Zalze Golf Club also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to De Zalze Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from De Zalze Golf Club staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?