We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 8 Church Street, Lacock SN15 2LB, England
Phone Number:
+44 1249 730457
Website
Today
10:00 - 17:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 - 17:00
Description:

We are a takeaway, bake on the premises, bakery. We make real bread without...

We are a takeaway, bake on the premises, bakery. We make real bread without any additives or preservatives. The National Trust specify that we may only use one table for customers to consume food which means they must either sit together at that table or buy takeaway food. We would like to offer more but 'rules are rules' and I hope that visitors will understand when we present them with a takeaway cup! To all our lovely customers, please keep visiting!

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 57 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 17
    Excellent
  • 15
    Very good
  • 11
    Average
  • 3
    Poor
  • 2
    Terrible
Quaint shop

Lovely traditional shop in the centre of pretty Lacock. We enjoyed ice-creams and a very nice carrot cake!

Reviewed 20 August 2016
lookinglass2009
,
Durham, United Kingdom
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

57 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 48: English reviews
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago

I went to the Lacock Bakery and ordered a gluten free carrot cake. Unfortunately the staff were stand off-ish and the quality of the product was disappointing. I found the cake to be slightly stale and lacking in taste.

Helpful?
Thank westtori
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

Not so much a bakery more a sweet shop with a table for coffee & cake. Poor selection of cakes, a few loafs but lots of pasties on a Saturday morning! Don't expect to sit down for coffee as there's only one table. However there is an extensive selection of sweets. Only one person serving so had to wait while... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank M H
LacockGingerbread, Owner at Lacock Bakery, responded to this review

Thank you M.H. for your comments! We do have a varied selection of sweets due to requests from customers! We also, particularly on Saturday mornings, run out of space to display our selection of lardy cakes, sourdough, spelt bread, cookies, cakes and shortbread, flapjack, bread pudding, rhubarb and apple crumble and meringues which our dedicated bakers turn out! The reason... More 

Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

after reading the reviews . we decided to visit the bakery during visit to this wonderful untouched village . BUT A BIG DO NOT AGREE with the lovely comments . we got some possible to take away . and the staff were rude I said morning as the member of staff asked what we would like .. got no reply... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anthony R
LacockGingerbread, Owner at Lacock Bakery, responded to this review

Good Morning Anthony R. First I must apologize for what appeared to be the rudeness of my staff! I am sorry this happened as all staff are encouraged to be helpful and polite to all our customers. On this occasion however the lady in question had taken on a full time position with us a few weeks' ago but had... More 

Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

Lovely traditional shop in the centre of pretty Lacock. We enjoyed ice-creams and a very nice carrot cake!

Helpful?
Thank lookinglass2009
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2016 via mobile

The bakery is gorgeous. Everything they have is baked on site daily. Tyere is only one large table to sit inside but there is plenty of room.

Helpful?
Thank 1BIGMAMA1
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
349 reviews
167 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2016

Not a good idea to go in here when you are hungry! The lovely owner is dressed in period costume and is happy to answer any questions you have. So much to choose from, from chocolates to meringues and breads. Definitely stop in here when you visit Lacock. We came in on a rainy day and the poor ladys floor... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dave b
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2016

A cosy little place with very friendly staff. The bakery itself fits in with Lacock due to its exterior and the interior compliments this. Although there's lack of room inside, the food more than makes up for it. The food isn't expensive and it's incredible delicious, ideal for those who are peckish whilst touring or even passing through.

Helpful?
Thank Milkyknicks
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
455 reviews
159 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2016 via mobile

This is a great find. It is a wonderful bakery situated near the church in Lacock. The bakery is very popular and has seating inside. There was a queue to pay but for ice cream you just go straight to the ice cream counter and pay there. We also bought delicious fudge.

Helpful?
Thank Jules0131
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2016

This bakery is a beautiful and significant part of Lacock, It really keeps the tourists happy and is really beautiful! I really enjoy coming to visit the bakery and it just makes me smile as the smell of warm bread and cakes wafts through the door, the staff can be a little agitated, however out of the many times I've... More 

Helpful?
Thank Janice_the_great123
Hook, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2016

We had a warm welcome. The Portuguese egg tarts were as good as the one's we had in Lisbon. Unfortunately only one table inside.

Helpful?
2 Thank Ken P

Travellers who viewed Lacock Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Lacock Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Lacock Bakery staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?