We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
School trip

Fantastic day with 38 pupils on their school trip. Children had a great fun and activities were... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
Susan W
Wonderful day out

We had a family day out to this activity centre whilst on a weeks holiday in this beautiful... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
David W
via mobile
Read all 432 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Welcome to the Galloway Activity Centre. We are situated on the banks of Loch Ken in south west Scotland and have an exciting range of activities for families, individuals and groups alike. Here you will find details of our services & facilities including activities, courses, equipment hire, accommodation and holiday packages. Choose from: Sailing, Windsurfing, Powerboating, Kayaking, Canoeing, Outdoor Laser Tag, Archery, Mountain Biking, Stand Up Paddle Boarding, Giant Water Slide, Climbing and more...Our aim is to give you a memorable holiday in a safe and friendly family atmosphere. We look forward to welcoming you.
  • Excellent89%
  • Very good8%
  • Average1%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“hot tub” (44 reviews)
“laser quest” (51 reviews)
“loch ken” (45 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 08:30 - 19:30
LOCATION
Shirmers Bridge, Castle Douglas DG7 3NQ, Scotland
CONTACT
Website
+44 1556 502011
Write a Review
Reviews (432)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 432 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

Fantastic day with 38 pupils on their school trip. Children had a great fun and activities were well organised by staff. Even with a blip in the bus time they accommodated us to allow the children the best possible day. Archery, climb and zip and...More

Thank Susan W
gac_lochken, Front Office Manager at Galloway Activity Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Great! We're so glad you all enjoyed your day with us and would love to see you again in the near future. Will pass on your comments to the instuctors too.

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

We had a family day out to this activity centre whilst on a weeks holiday in this beautiful unspoilt part of the world. Six adults one six month old baby and dog. Booked the day before and choose the things we would like to do....More

Thank David W
gac_lochken, Front Office Manager at Galloway Activity Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Awesome! Pleased to hear you had such a lovely experience here and the adder didn't give you too much of a fright! Will pass on your comments to staff too.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a group of 80+ for a 2 night camping retreat staying in tents, cabins, yurts. The staff was very helpful and accommodating - especially flexible when hosting a large group. Great location and GAC has done a great job building up the site for...More

Thank Paolo U
gac_lochken, Owner at Galloway Activity Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Lovely review thanks so much. Sorry about the weather and that I missed you but will pass this message on to all the team who will be thrilled with the feedback. Thanks so much for taking the time to give us this feedback - much...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked RYA sailing course for 2 ten year olds, who had a brilliant time despite the cold, rainy weather. When they got freezing cold they came into the cafe for hot chocolate with marshmallows and a shot on the slip and slide. You really need...More

Thank Elinor D
gac_lochken, Owner at Galloway Activity Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for this lovely review - yes, on the case with wetsuits.... Many thanks Richard

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in the yurt on the hill. Most will say it's cheat camping, but we don't mind, especially when there is 4 of us with a small car, a tent is the least of our worries. Not to mention it was extremely windy. Of...More

Thank BibblesBobbles
gac_lochken, Front Office Manager at Galloway Activity Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Glad you enjoyed your stay in our hill yurt and all we have to offer here. We hope to see you back here again soon!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Starting out as a complete novice, I spent an excellent week at GAC learning to sail under the tuition of Alba Lopez. Due to her superb teaching and with a little help from some fine weather I exceeded my expectations with RYA Level 3. Great...More

Thank shirley3056
gac_lochken, Front Office Manager at Galloway Activity Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Great to hear you had such a positive experience on the course! Will pass on the comments to Alba for you!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent day with the kids. We arrived slightly late but this didn't affect anything duevyo great laid back but very organised team. Special thanks to Ben for spending possibly the least amount of time actually on a paddleboard due to turning himself into a human...More

Thank catherine s
gac_lochken, Front Office Manager at Galloway Activity Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Catherine, great review thanks for the comments! Will pass on to ben and the rest of the team here. Hopefully we'll see you back here soon!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

3 teachers and 26 teenagers aged 12 to 14 visited GAC for 4 nights in May. We had a muti activity package which involved land and water based activities. Included was climb wall, zip wire, swing, mountain biking, laser tag, kayaking, sailing, water park. The...More

Thank JuniorAberdeen
gac_lochken, Owner at Galloway Activity Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Lovely review thanks guys.... will pass on to the staff

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked for four children to do stand up paddle boarding taster session. All equipment provided, wet suits, boards and all in good condition. Ben was the instructor and was fab with the kids. Had an hour and a half and was great value for money...More

Thank Andrew G
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Having spent the weekend in a 6 man Yurt, with my 2 young kids and friends,I have to shout about how amazing this outdoor activity centre is and how brilliant the staff were with my son who has autism and ADHD.They catered especially to his...More

Thank luckystarScotland
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Clachan Inn Restaurant
150 reviews
8.60 km away
Thistle Inn Restaurant
23 reviews
9.84 km away
Cafe at Designs
187 reviews
15.42 km away
Carlo's
219 reviews
15.43 km away
Nearby Attractions
Loch Ken Waterski & Wakeboard School
6 reviews
2.96 km away
CatStrand
36 reviews
4.77 km away
Galloway Forest Park
108 reviews
11.04 km away
Castle Douglas
22 reviews
15.29 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
vbm1461
Is there wood burning stove or cooking facility in 4 people yurt please ?
7 June 2017|
Answer
Response from gac_lochken | Property representative |
Hi, unfortunately there is no wood burning stove in the Hill Yurt but there is a small camping gas stove you can use for cooking. Victoria
1
Vote