We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Delta Rain - Day Tours

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Maun Airport, Maun, Botswana
Phone Number:
+267 680 0380
Website
Description:

Delta Rain provides exciting and affordable Mobile and Mokoro Safaris in...

Delta Rain provides exciting and affordable Mobile and Mokoro Safaris in the Okavango Delta and through out Botswana. Delta Rain has practiced sustainable, responsible community based tourism since our establishment in 1997. We are owner operators with a deep love of Africa and its people, together we work diligently to bring you the ultimate safari experience.

We offer itineraries to suit all tastes and budgets.

We offer bespoke tours created for families or groups. Whether your interests are wildlife or culture, birdlife or photographic - talk to us about designing your'e safari adventure.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 9 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 5
    Excellent
  • 1
    Very good
  • 1
    Average
  • 0
    Poor
  • 2
    Terrible
Relaxing couple days in the delta

As part of our overland tour we took a 2 night mokoro/camping trip into the delta. I really enjoyed this trip. We rode out about 1.5 hours on the mokoro and spent a couple days... read more

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 May 2013
mullydad
,
San Jose, California
Add Photo Write a Review

9 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 9: English reviews
Orlando, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2017

Having had the opportunity to travel and experience many different safari operations around the continent, I found our recent Delta Rain (delta) experience in December to be extremely gratifying. As we were traveling with young children (12 and 8yrs) I was very hesitant and concerned but found the staff, community polers and safari lead extremely professional in all aspects, very... More 

Helpful?
Thank gwheeler74
Gerald S, General Manager at Delta Rain - Day Tours, responded to this review

Dear Gwheeler 74. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your trip Thank you for your kind review and we hope to see you back in Africa in the near future. More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2016

Terrible value for money. The first day consisted in a mokoro trip to the camp (50 min, simply beautiful, that's the truth) and a one hour walk in the bush. The second day wasn't much better. The lack of motivation of our guide was frustrating and it was a real pity to be sitted by the tent doing nothing but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Víctor M
Gerald S, Manager at Delta Rain - Day Tours, responded to this review

Hi Mr Victor M. we are terribly sorry you didn't enjoy your Delta Trip with us. there are a few points that i would like to inform you of. 1 The guides that handle your trip are not employed by Delta Rain. In order for us to make use of the beautiful Delta area that you were in we have... More 

Galway, Ireland
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2016

We traveled with Delta Rain for a 5 days safari from Kasane to Maun. The first day we had supposed to meet our driver and assistant around noon (to have time to check the equipment and buy the food for the 5 days camping in the park) but they arrived 2 hours and an half late because they had a... More 

Helpful?
Thank d0c84
Gerald S, Manager at Delta Rain - Day Tours, responded to this review

Dear Maam, Thank you for your review, we take the good with the bad. Again we are terribly sorry for your experience. I am afraid that these situations do occur from time to time. Especially in the dry conditions that we face in Botswana. The sand does create all kinds of problems. Given the weight of the vehicle with a... More 

Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
118 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2015

We recently went on a one night accommodated delta excursion with Delta Rain and can highly recommend it! We were transported to the delta with a game vehicle from Sitatunga camp. Thereafter we went on a 40 minute Mokoro trip into the delta. The tented camp provided for very comfortable accommodation, even with a bush shower! We sat down to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shaun_Stell
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2015 via mobile

We went into the delta with Delta Rain as part of a Botswana tour. They were great! From the mokorow ride to the tents everything was well organised and all the pokers worked tirelessly to ensure we had a memorable stay. The nature walks were a bit hot and miss the evening one was great (we split into two groups,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Starling-Joneses
Level Contributor
104 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2015

went with them to their elephant bush camp for an overnight stay in the wild on an island reached by moloko canoe after a 2 hour 4x4 drive through the bush. plenty of animals and birds to see really up close. some of our party were even charged by elephants!

Helpful?
Thank sachadad
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
120 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2014

Had two really relaxing days out in the Okavango, staying at the Elephant Camp. Arrived in Mokoros and went for walking safaris which took us close up to both elephants and hippos, would really recommend!

Helpful?
Thank DanLah
Hamilton, NZ
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

The mokoro rides in were lovely, I felt very secure. We definately sped up when hippos appeared, but the polers were very good. The 'nature walks' were a bit of a let down - we saw a lot of poo and tracks, but only saw some actualy zebras. Our guide was also slow and was constantly on his cell phone.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank z0mbean
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
104 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

As part of our overland tour we took a 2 night mokoro/camping trip into the delta. I really enjoyed this trip. We rode out about 1.5 hours on the mokoro and spent a couple days taking nature walks and mokoro rides while wild camping. It was a wonderful experience, the best part being the mokoro rides. There were a couple... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank mullydad

Travellers who viewed Delta Rain - Day Tours also viewed

Maun, North-West District
Maun, North-West District
 
Maun, North-West District
 

Been to Delta Rain - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Delta Rain - Day Tours and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Delta Rain - Day Tours staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?