We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dr. Wilkinson's Hot Springs Resort

1507 Lincoln Ave, Calistoga, CA 94515-1331
+1 707-942-4102
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Relaxing luxury to treat oneself

The mud spa is amazing - peat, sulfur water and volcanic ash. You stay in this mix for 10 minutes... read more

Reviewed 9 June 2016
Rowerbabe
,
Seattle, Washington
Day Spa

Worst ever. $358 wasted. When generating a complaint, Carolynn Wilkinson and the spa manager were... read more

Reviewed 24 May 2016
its_kathie
,
Missoula, Montana
Read all 103 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
This Napa Valley landmark soothes visitors through mud baths, steam rooms, massages and more. For 64 years and still family owned and managed, a visit to one of the few remaining family ventures is old school and good...We are real!
  • Excellent50%
  • Very good27%
  • Average11%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“steam room” (20 reviews)
“mineral bath” (21 reviews)
“peat moss” (4 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 10:00 - 16:00
Suggested Duration: 2-3 hours
LOCATION
1507 Lincoln Ave, Calistoga, CA 94515-1331
CONTACT
Website
+1 707-942-4102
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2016

The mud spa is amazing - peat, sulfur water and volcanic ash. You stay in this mix for 10 minutes, wash off, spend another 10 minutes in a sulfur water bubbly bath, 10 minutes in a steam bath, and end with a "wrap" to relax,...More

3  Thank Rowerbabe
Mark W, Owner at Dr. Wilkinson's Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2016

Thanks for the kind review! We hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 24 May 2016

Worst ever. $358 wasted. When generating a complaint, Carolynn Wilkinson and the spa manager were rude and non-compliant to my concerns. RUN FROM THIS PLACE

4  Thank its_kathie
Reviewed 20 April 2016

I stayed here with my parents, very relaxing, friendly place. The accommodations are clean but nothing special, unless you really want the true vintage feel. The baths however are lovely, and the hot bath is inside so it stays hotter, the other two baths outside...More

3  Thank pianokatiecello
Mark W, Owner at Dr. Wilkinson's Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2016

Thanks so much for the review! I am truly happy that you enjoyed your time here! Our mineral waters are fresh and come from the grounds beneath us at boiling...and indeed, there is sulfur in the water. We've just ramped up our wi-fi in all...More

Reviewed 2 April 2016

So I made a trip up to Calistoga with a Girlfriend and our kids for Easter Break and we staggered our massages so that someone was with the kids poolside while the other person was getting a treatment. I asked for a woman. But apparently...More

3  Thank Shelly A
Mark W, Owner at Dr. Wilkinson's Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2016

Dear Shelly A, Thank you so much for the review! So glad that you enjoyed your recent visit! I have passed along your kind comments to all and hope to see you here again soon! Best wishes, Mark Wilkinson

Reviewed 23 March 2016

I have been going to The mud baths for the last 25 years. This has always been a no thrill experience as far as decor.This facilityI believe started in 1952 and is an old facility. I did have the mud bath, mineral bath , sauna...More

2  Thank benjamins50
Reviewed 13 March 2016 via mobile

I don't usually write reviews, but as this experience was so abysmal I felt it was my fair duty to ! If I had read the reviews and even the managers responses on trip advisor beforehand, it would have kept me safely far away from...More

3  Thank jojojo30
Mark W, Owner at Dr. Wilkinson's Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2016

Jojojo30- So sorry that your experience wasn't as hoped. My only response is my opinion of your (alleged) claims. Vivid combined with imagination is, in my opinion, a right and as we know, the web is a place to disclose, insult, support or anything you...More

Reviewed 22 February 2016

Yes it is me again!! A happy, calm, peaceful, rested person after staying at Dr. Wilkinson's Hot Springs!! I was AGAIN greeted kindly and swiftly...never do the front desk agents make you wait...and checked into my poolside room with new age music playing...ahhhhh!! Nick at...More

1  Thank katharine m
Reviewed 17 February 2016

I have visited the Calistoga bathes for many years. If you are looking for a high end spa experience, this not your place. If you would like a relaxing mud bath experience without paying a fortune, you will enjoy The Dr. Staff is friendly and...More

1  Thank UNR91
Reviewed 17 January 2016

Although very relaxing it was extremely difficult to get out of the mud and mineral bath as they do not have any handles to crab onto. Thought I would be in there for days trying to get out. They cannot help you due to liabilities.

1  Thank PumphreyGrassValley
Reviewed 26 December 2015 via mobile

I had always heard about the mud bathes so while up there I figured I had to give it a try. The mud was extremely hot and took several tries by the attendant with his shovel to get it tolerable. Make sure it is comfortable,...More

1  Thank das404ga
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Sam's Social Club
398 reviews
.27 km away
Cafe Sarafornia
593 reviews
.20 km away
Calistoga Roastery
229 reviews
.17 km away
Evangeline
191 reviews
.19 km away
Nearby Attractions
Calistoga Visitors Center
106 reviews
.25 km away
Sharpsteen Museum
91 reviews
.25 km away
Oat Hill Mine Trail
21 reviews
.41 km away
Vermeil Wines
24 reviews
.40 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
horseloverm
9 May 2017|
Answer
Response from Albert L |
Hello. Regarding the size of the mud tubs, imagine a large bathroom tub but much deeper. When I was there I saw a very tall and large man using the tubs with no mention of a problem. Since the staff are so accommodating, I... More
1
Vote