We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wanlockhead Inn

Garden dyke, Wanlockhead ML12 6UZ, Scotland
+44 1659 74535
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Totally Disappointed

Our hen party of 20 arrived in great spirits and left totally bewildered!!!! We pre-ordered our... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
sadiem1972
,
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Great weekend

Stayed in glamping pod for a weekend with friends. Pods were basic but suited our needs. Owners... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
panners from...
via mobile
Read all 58 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Wanlockhead Inn is the highest pub in Scotland based in the highest village in Scotland, Wanlockhead. Wanlockhead is also famous not only for being the highest village in Scotland but the TV show Hope Springs was filmed here so why not drop by. Events at WanlockHead InnWanlockhead Inn is the host of a fantastic atmosphere where we have function space available if you are interested in hosting anything from a birthday to a wedding part then please don't hesitate in contacting us. To keep up to date with the latest events at Wanlockhead Inn you can like us on facebook at wanlockhead inn Staying WanlockHead InnWanlockhead Inn has Wig-Wams available to rent if you were looking to stay over. Prices for the wig-wams are £12.50 per night, per person. The Wig-wams are fully heated and come with TV and have Wi-Fi access. Please contact us for more information or booking.
  • Excellent49%
  • Very good22%
  • Average15%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“the pub” (10 reviews)
“highest pub” (16 reviews)
“lead mines” (2 reviews)
LOCATION
Garden dyke, Wanlockhead ML12 6UZ, Scotland
CONTACT
Website
+44 1659 74535
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"the pub"
in 10 reviews
"highest pub"
in 16 reviews
"lead mines"
in 2 reviews
"pool table"
in 2 reviews
"real ale"
in 3 reviews
"coal fire"
in 3 reviews
"southern upland way"
in 3 reviews
"haggis"
in 3 reviews
"feel welcome"
in 2 reviews
"hen party"
in 2 reviews
"stunning scenery"
in 2 reviews
"many thanks"
in 2 reviews
"red ale"
in 2 reviews
"wig wams"
in 2 reviews
"staff were very friendly"
in 2 reviews
"pods"
in 4 reviews
"scotland"
in 16 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago

Our hen party of 20 arrived in great spirits and left totally bewildered!!!! We pre-ordered our meal (except our sweet as lets be honest how many actually know if they want one until they are there) due to the bad review this establishment had received...More

Thank sadiem1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean M, Owner at Wanlockhead Inn, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

As far as we were concerned this was dealt with at the time. The cook/owner did inform your party that, as you had not preordered the sweets, there would potentially not be enough for your entire group. Unfortunately one of your group become rather aggressive...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed in glamping pod for a weekend with friends. Pods were basic but suited our needs. Owners made us feel very welcome. Great for exploring the area if you wanting a step up from a tent. A kettle would be great in the accommodation as...More

Thank panners from Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2018 via mobile

We had booked this meal for a hen party of 20 people, but yet when we arrived we were told, there’s no pasta no steak and if you want a baked potato it will take quite a while. So basically you’re best of with the...More

Thank Kay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean M, Manager at Wanlockhead Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Hi Kay H, We’re sorry you didn’t have the best experience at our establishment. We do not claim to be anything other than a simple, cosy pub that sells simple, tasty pub grub. We make our baked potatoes in the oven hence why they take...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2018 via mobile

We often have fish and chips for lunch or an evening meal when out and about. Unfortunately, this fish served by the Wanlockhead Inn was, although tasty, probably the smallest we've ever come across - about 5 inches long. The rest of the meal was...More

Thank JuanCorrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean M, Manager at Wanlockhead Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Oh my cod,what can (of tuna) we say? Firstly,I can only apologise for the minnow you received for dinner. Our fish is always fresh and freshly prepared on the premises. We can only serve what the boat brings in but I am sorry the little...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2018

I was tired after walking this section of the Southern Uplands Way. I arrived just after the kitchen was closing, but the man kept it open for me and made me an excellent burger & chips, Locals friendly, bar staff excellent. prices good!

Thank Ross H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018

Lovely warm and welcoming pub. Good old fashioned open coal fire in the bar, which I was glad of after a long walk in the Lowther hills. Food was good solid pub grub, that arrived in good time, which I was thankful for as my...More

Thank Jay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2018

15 ladies for lunch okay pub grub ,we let them know in advance what we wanted to order ,but with one cook and one waitress she did her best to get orders out. Very friendly locals great guy behind bar .great place for walkers to...More

Thank Eleanor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017

Britain's highest and friendliest pub, on the few occasions we've visited here we've always felt completely at home. We have eaten here too and the food, though simple (which we like) is very good and very reasonable. Well worth a visit and checking their calendar...More

Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

Had just popped in for a coffee to be greeted by a lovely fire and a very helpful and friendly owner! This place is absolutely amazing. Was actually looking for a place that my father grew up and worked the lead mines at the age...More

Thank Liz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017

Visited recently for a family Birthday. Staff were very friendly and provided really good service. Food was fine some of our group were really pleased with their food and others a bit disappointed. Atmosphere was lovely and we were pleased with the lovely music provided...More

Thank Catherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Wanlockhead Hotels
Nithsdale Hotel
231 reviews
9.66 km away
Blackaddie Country House Hotel
384 reviews
10.24 km away
Abington Hotel
295 reviews
13.40 km away
Days Inn Abington M74
373 reviews
13.41 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Blackaddie Country House Restaurant
85 reviews
10.24 km away
Harry Ramsden Abington
5 reviews
13.37 km away
Poppy's Tearoom
8 reviews
14.10 km away
Thomas Tosh
182 reviews
17.40 km away
Nearby Attractions
Museum of Lead Mining
203 reviews
.31 km away
The Leadhills & Wanlockhead Railway
43 reviews
1.97 km away
Crawick Multiverse
91 reviews
6.95 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Claire O
30 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Paul T | Reviewed this property |
Not sure, best to ring them to check. There were people with dogs in our party but I don't recall any of them taking them inside but maybe they could have done.
0
Votes