We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Clearwater Marine Aquarium

#7 of 85 things to do in Clearwater Features Animals
249 Windward Passage, Clearwater, FL 33767
+1 727-441-1790
Website
Save
Book In Advance
More Info
US$21.89*
and up
Clearwater Marine Aquarium General Admission
More Info
US$78.98*
and up
Clearwater Marine Aquarium Day Trip from Orlando
More Info
US$77.98*
and up
Winter the Dolphin Tour at Clearwater Beach from Orlando
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
As a non-profit 501(c)(3) organization, Clearwater Marine Aquarium's mission is to restore and preserve our marine environment. We accomplish our mission through leadership in education, research, and the rescue, rehabilitation, and release of marine life.
  • Excellent47%
  • Very good26%
  • Average16%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“dolphin tale” (1,040 reviews)
“sea turtles” (325 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
Hours Today: 09:00 - 18:00
LOCATION
249 Windward Passage, Clearwater, FL 33767
CONTACT
Website
+1 727-441-1790
Write a Review
Reviews (5,949)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 5,583 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

This is a busy place & there is just not enough to see or do. It is narrow & very difficult to see any animals. We would not recommend & felt the entry / boat trip / parking were too expensive.

Thank corklas1
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

This was a fun day out, getting to see dolphins, sea turtles and other sea creatures up close! It is a little pricy for a family to all get in, but the money goes to a good cause. There were plenty of presentations to watch...More

Thank Aron-UK
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

We wanted to see Winter and Hope because we love the Dolphin tale movies. The Clearwater Aquarium was wonderful it was a little on the expensive side as far as day trips go so be prepared it cost us about $105 for two adults and...More

Thank GaryMorello
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

This is not your typical aquarium as it doesn't have many animals, but that is the point. It is primarily a hospital with the goal of re-releasing animals, if they had a lot of animals they wouldn't be doing their job. With that being said...More

Thank Tanner R
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Very small facility, there is not much to see. When you're looking through the viewing glass you can tell that a lot of the tanks are dirty. I will say that when we were there there was a lady giving a seminar about turtles and...More

1  Thank Serena B
Clearwater M, Guest Relations Manager at Clearwater Marine Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

We're sorry to see that Clearwater Marine Aquarium wasn't quite what you expected, Serena. Our facility is small and humble, as you observe - in fact, it's actually a converted wastewater treatment plant that we've occupied since the 1970s. While the building has come a...More

Reviewed 2 days ago

We visited on a Tuesday and the crowds were fairly light. Parking was easy. There was a charge (I believe it was $6) and you paid for that at the same time you purchased your ticket. Look through the tourist magazines. We found a BOGO...More

Thank 667maribetha
Clearwater M, Guest Relations Manager at Clearwater Marine Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for visiting us at Clearwater Marine Aquarium, and supporting our work and mission!

Reviewed 3 days ago

It's always fun to go and see Hope, Winter and Nicholas the dolphins. It's always amazing how they change the programs frequently so that each year we are learning something new. While some may feel this place is a little on the expensive side, I...More

Thank ajanderson10
Clearwater M, Guest Relations Manager at Clearwater Marine Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thanks for coming back to see us over the years at Clearwater Marine Aquarium! Hopefully the next time you're here, our expansion plan will be completed for you to enjoy!

Reviewed 3 days ago

We attended the Clearwater Acquarium on an afternoon. The facility is old and decrepit. The concrete steps are uncomfortable to climb. The number of animals is very low. We wnt to a whale show and all we received was a 30 minute presentation, with no...More

2  Thank Netanel
Clearwater M, Guest Relations Manager at Clearwater Marine Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

We're sorry to see that Clearwater Marine Aquarium wasn't quite what you expected. Our facility is a converted wastewater treatment plant that we've occupied since the 1970s, and while it has served us well, we recognize that it has several limitations in terms of layout...More

Reviewed 3 days ago

This is one of the most touching places I have ever traveled to. We saw Winter and Hope! They have other great animals as well. It is a rehab aquarium. If you are expecting just pure entertainment like Seaworld you may be disappointed. What I...More

Thank Nicole P
Clearwater M, Guest Relations Manager at Clearwater Marine Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

We appreciate your kind words, Nicole, as well as your support of our work and mission! Thank you so much for visiting us at Clearwater Marine Aquarium!

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

What can I say we had a fantastic time here at CMA. We couldn't wait to see Winter and Hope and all the other animals that have been rescued. My husband and son chose to do the boat tour to look for dolphins and see...More

Thank Kirsten M
Clearwater M, Guest Relations Manager at Clearwater Marine Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you so much for your kind words, Kirsten! We're so happy to see that your family had such a wonderful experience at Clearwater Marine Aquarium!

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Marina Cantina
527 reviews
.72 km away
Salt Cracker Fish Camp
547 reviews
.74 km away
Pearly's Beach Eats
462 reviews
.80 km away
Beach Shanty Cafe
772 reviews
.84 km away
Nearby Attractions
Dolphin Encounter
33 reviews
.81 km away
Clearwater Beach Jet Ski Rentals and Guided Tours
321 reviews
.58 km away
H2O Jet Ski Rentals & Tours of Clearwater Beach
269 reviews
.78 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Mark G
14 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Ziggy0017 | Reviewed this property |
Hi Mark, I too was there this past Easter Sunday so don't let that get in your way, come on down & enjoy Winter and the gang.
0
Votes
Laurie E
10 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Douglas C | Reviewed this property |
Yes they do have discounts for Vets, I don't remember what it was exactly but I think it was like half off. The money goes to the center so that they can help the rescues, that is some what comforting, I guess. :)
1
Vote
Monica L
2 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Connie M | Reviewed this property |
We went during the week. I would check the web site or phone to check the activities scheduled for the weekend vs the week. My experience in Florida has been that weekdays are the best for any activity.
1
Vote