We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 7601 Miami Lakes Dr, Miami Lakes, FL 33014-6880
Phone Number:
+1 305-820-8088
Website
Description:

The Senator Course at Shula's Golf Club is a classic style course located...

The Senator Course at Shula's Golf Club is a classic style course located in the serene town of Miami Lakes. Sprawling over 500 tree shaded acres, players of all skill levels will be challenged by 18 holes, Par 72 championship course.

  Known as one of Miami's best Championship Golf Courses, The Senator Course is unlike the typical hotel golf course. Originally designed of Bill Watts in 1962 and later updated in 1998 by nationally recognized Golf Course Architect Kipp Schulties, is the perfect destination for great golf.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 63 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 12
    Excellent
  • 24
    Very good
  • 11
    Average
  • 5
    Poor
  • 4
    Terrible
Fort Lauderdale/Miami Lakes February vacation

We couldn't miss playing at Shula's while in Miami Lakes in Feb-2017. The course was in great shape, both the greens and the fairways. It wasn't busy for a mid-week game, which... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
VNKSmith
,
Mississauga
Add Photo Write a Review

63 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 56: English reviews
Mississauga
Level Contributor
406 reviews
131 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We couldn't miss playing at Shula's while in Miami Lakes in Feb-2017. The course was in great shape, both the greens and the fairways. It wasn't busy for a mid-week game, which made for a relaxing round - no one on our tail. The course has some challenging holes, but the back 9 are especially so, with a lot of... More 

Helpful?
Thank VNKSmith
Kenny F, Manager at Shula's Golf Club, responded to this review

ZVKSmith, Thank you for your review of Shula's Golf Club. We are glad that you enjoyed the condition of the golf course. The course has been in great shape all season. We hope that your travels bring you back to Miami and Shula's Golf Club. Sincerely, Shula's Golf Club More 

Hallandale Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is a nicely designed course that can be played well by strategic straight hitters. The 18th hole can be attacked aggressively with an accurate drive cutting the corner. Lots of water on the back 9. The staff was courteous, if not overly friendly. The greens are in good condition but not fast; maybe a 7 on the Stimp. Fairways... More 

Helpful?
Thank Murray M
Kenny F, Manager at Shula's Golf Club, responded to this review

Murray M, Thank you for your review of Shula's Golf Club. We are glad that you enjoyed yourself while playing with us and that our staff was helpful. We hope to see you again in the near future. Sincerely, Shula's Golf Club More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Beautiful course, the greens were outstanding, but this award winning course needs help. The staff and the amenities are poor. The staff is rude and unwilling to go out of their way for anything. Water coolers were empty and dirty used carts were left every where.

Helpful?
Thank Orpheus T
Kenny F, Manager at Shula's Golf Club, responded to this review

Orpheus T, Thank you for your review of Shula's Golf Club. I'm sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience at Shula's Golf Club. It appears that you played after a tournament was finishing up. I apologize if you were not treated with the same level of service that most of our customers receive. We strive to create... More 

Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2017 via mobile

Course is nice, after playing it two days, but greens need attention, many ball marks. The course yardage could be marked better. Snack bar closes at 3 pm, and there is no beverage cart. The price is fair for high season.

Helpful?
Thank JBM777
Kenny F, Manager at Shula's Golf Club, responded to this review

JBM777, Thank you for your review of Shula's Golf Club. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the course. The course provides yardage plates at 250 yds (par 5's), 200 yds, 150 yds, and 100 yds. Many golfers nowadays have gps devices and laser finders that provide exact yardages. We have installed crystal reflectors on all of our flagsticks... More 

1 review
Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

The course is in great shape and the best value in Miami. Greens are in great condition. The tee boxes could be mowed a little shorter, but that's only complaint.

Helpful?
Thank Randy H
Kenny F, Manager at Shula's Golf Club, responded to this review

Randy H, Thank you for your review of Shula's Golf Club. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the greens and your experience with us. We are currently mowing tee boxes 2 days a week due to the lack of growth this time of year. We will begin to start mowing tee boxes 3 days a week once the... More 

Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 14 March 2017

I played the course for the first time in a couple years and was pleasantly surprised by how good the greens were. I mean, they were in outstanding shape, the best I have seen in the area. The only downside was that a few holes on the back nine were wet from some rain the day before.

Helpful?
Thank Larry B
Kenny F, Manager at Shula's Golf Club, responded to this review

Dear Larry B, Thank you for your review of Shula's Golf Club. We are glad that you enjoyed the quality of our greens during you most recent visit. We have been fortunate with the weather this year. We hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Shula's Golf Club More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Shula's golf course was a wonderful outing for a mid handicap player. Greens were in excellent condition and the course itself was in good condition. The holes were varied in distance and challenge. Bring some extra balls for the back nine as there is alot of water. Staff is very friendly. A driving range is available, but not in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Formerpfe
Kenny F, Manager at Shula's Golf Club, responded to this review

Dear Formerpfe, Thank you for your review of Shula's Golf Club. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience while at Shula's. Most golfers find that the back 9 is much harder than the front due to the amount of water present. We have been very fortunate to have great greens this winter season. We are in the... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2017

Played 3 rounds in 4 days. mixed personality, too bad not kept up to snuff by management and respected by players who do not fix divots, ball marks, replace rakes, etc. etc. Nice staff and affordable.

Helpful?
Thank med9344
Kenny F, Manager at Shula's Golf Club, responded to this review

Dear med9344, Thank you for your review of Shula's Golf Club. We are glad that you found the staff helpful and the course affordable. It is always challenging to get golfers to comply with basic etiquette such as filling in divots and repairing ball marks. We will continue have our staff remind golfers of these simple things. We hope to... More 

Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

This is by far one of the best golf courses in South Florida...you will use every club in your bag..front nine has some water where as the back has lots more..greens are in great shape fairways are not so bad...price is also real good....I booked thru golf now and got a hot deal...bottom line I love this course....so my suggestion... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joseph D
UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2017

We played this at 2.10pm and finished as darkness fell - cost was about $40 inc buggy - this represents excellent value. The course is in two halves - the first 9 typically parkland and the back - the far more challenging = - has water on every hole. It is a decent test and overall very enjoyable. Sadly, the... More 

Helpful?
Thank James003
Kenny F, Manager at Shula's Golf Club, responded to this review

James003, Thank you for your review of Shula's Golf Club. we are glad that you enjoyed the golf course and took advantage of our Twilight deal. Unfortunately not every golf repairs his/her pitch marks on the greens. This can become evident later in the day. We look forward to serving you again, and hope that you can take advantage of... More 

Travellers who viewed Shula's Golf Club also viewed

 
Miami Lakes, FL

Been to Shula's Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Shula's Golf Club staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?