We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Otsego Club

696 M-32 East Main Street, Gaylord, MI 49734
+1 989-732-5181
Call
Website
Save
Review Highlights
One of our Favorite Places to Stay and Golf in the Area

We come up here and stay every year to golf Treetops and the Tribute course. We stopped staying at... read more

Reviewed 9 September 2016
cascio
Tribute Was OK but Not Great

Decided to play the Tribute course after reading online reviews in Northern Michigan golf... read more

Reviewed 23 August 2016
Golfnutts
,
Georgetown, Texas
Read all 50 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
A golf & ski resort located in Northern Michigan in operation since 1939. Award winning golf & dining and the best skiing and snowboarding anywhere!! Come check out our beautiful slopes and 36 holes of Championship Golf! Founded in 1939, Otsego Club & Resort has been a prominent fixture in northern Michigan and is the oldest continuously operating private ski club in America. The resort features meticulously groomed, family friendly ski hills, 36-holes of championship golf lead by the Tribute course, which meanders in and around the Sturgeon River Valley, and the parkland style Classic course. In addition, the resort offers a variety of lodging rooms, suites, and condominiums. There are more than 24,000 square feet of meeting space, romantic wedding spaces and the award-winning Duck Blind Grille, a multi-year winner of the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence.
  • Excellent48%
  • Very good22%
  • Average16%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“ski resort” (6 reviews)
“pro shop” (6 reviews)
“mid week” (3 reviews)
Suggested Duration: More than 3 hours
LOCATION
696 M-32 East Main Street, Gaylord, MI 49734
CONTACT
Website
+1 989-732-5181
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2016

We come up here and stay every year to golf Treetops and the Tribute course. We stopped staying at Treetops years ago the the lodging got so bad there. We stay at Otsego Club and book one of the excellent updated rooms in the Hilltop...More

Thank cascio
Liesel R, Manager at Otsego Club, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2016

Thank you for comprehensive review of the Otsego Club & Resort. With respect to the Tribute, the greens have design issues which in a normal year were evident, but not as bad. This year, the drought and extreme heat exacerbated these issues. We reached out...More

Reviewed 23 August 2016

Decided to play the Tribute course after reading online reviews in Northern Michigan golf sites. The course had some interest views and was OK but it was suffering badly from the hot, dry summer that part of the country has endured. We didn't know that,...More

Thank Golfnutts
Liesel R, Manager at Otsego Club, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review the Tribute golf course. With respect to the Tribute, the greens have design issues which in a normal year were evident, but not as bad. This year, the drought and extreme heat exacerbated these issues. We reached...More

Reviewed 23 August 2016

Every year we come with a group of guys to the Otsego Club. Started to notice some short comings last year with the courses. This year yikes. We are paying a high rate for not such good conditions. The Tribute views are still there but...More

Thank Duane P
Liesel R, Manager at Otsego Club, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2016

Thank you for your review of the Tribute golf course. With respect to the Tribute, the greens have design issues which in a normal year were evident, but not as bad. This year, the drought and extreme heat exacerbated these issues. We reached out to...More

Reviewed 22 July 2016

My group always looks forward to playing The Tribute. The views, the quality of the course, one of our favorites. This time was different. I know it has been dry, but for the price they charge, our group expected more. Lots of burnt areas in...More

Thank JD1984
Liesel R, Social Media Coordinator at Otsego Club, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review the Tribute. We are sorry that the course did not meet your expectations. Yes, the extremely dry weather has brought to light some design issues which need correcting, fortunately these issues do not affect the play-ability of...More

Reviewed 22 July 2016 via mobile

This used to be one of our favorite stops on our annual trip to the area. We hadn't played there the last two years and we couldn't wait to get there. Started off with the old pro shop being closed and moved into a smaller...More

Thank BigStricky84
Liesel R, Social Media Coordinator at Otsego Club, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review the Otsego Club & Resort/Tribute Golf Course. We are very sorry to hear that your experience with us was such a disappointment. This is not the standard of service that we strive to achieve. We apologize for...More

Reviewed 4 July 2016 via mobile

Really looked forward to golfing at the Otsego Club and the Tribute course. First, I want to say that the course itself compares to some of the Treetops courses. So the course, views, and difficulty were great. The 5 hours it took to play 18...More

Thank Jim N
Liesel R, Digital Media Manager at Otsego Club, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2016

Thank you for taking the time to to write a review of your say at our property. It is because of reviews like yours that we can maintain and in some cases improve the services and standards at our resort. We would like to apologize...More

Reviewed 29 January 2016

We had a wonderful weekend here with our children! We definitely plan on making this an annual trip! Great place!More

Thank ARUSSO1977
Liesel R, Social Media Coordinator at Otsego Club, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2016

Thank you for your review of Otsego Club & Resort! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and hope you are already planning your next stay. If you are interested in joining us more often, contact us for membership information at...More

Reviewed 18 September 2015

Lovely views on the Tribute golf course. Some tough holes for female golfers. Tricky greens. Wide fairways. Round took about 5 hours midweek. Really bad placement of port-a-johns, so ladies keep imbibing of liquids to a minimum. I would give the course a higher rating,...More

Thank LukasDog
Liesel R, Social Media Coordinator at Otsego Club, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2015

Thank you for taking time to review Otsego Club & Resort, or more appropriately, the Tribute golf course. We are disappointed that we were not able to meet your expectations during your trip. We will definitely address your comments in regards to the bathrooms facilities...More

Reviewed 2 September 2015

Private ski resort in winter, golf club in the summer. Unique for golf. Motif is more ski than golf. Tribute and Classic courses share a pro shop and clubhouse. Greeted warmly by young lady organizing bags with golf carts. We played the Tribute. Cannot walk...More

1  Thank Golf_Traverler
Liesel R, Social Media Coordinator at Otsego Club, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2015

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Otsego Club & Resort. We couldn't be happier that we were able to provide you with such a "wonderful surprise"!!! We hope that you will be able to join us again soon and that this trip...More

Reviewed 1 August 2015 via mobile

Just completed a 5 night stay with my wife and 2 kids. First off, must say how nice the condo was. Stayed in 646 in Founders Village and it was just outstanding. Beds were very comfortable, great full sized kitchen and beautiful view of the...More

Thank JHallOxford
Liesel R, Social Media Coordinator at Otsego Club, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Otsego Club & Resort. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we got someone out to you on the course! Hope you will be able...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Alpine Chocolate Haus
115 reviews
1.28 km away
Bearded Dogg Lounge
262 reviews
1.46 km away
Alpine Tavern and Eatery
301 reviews
1.39 km away
Diana's Delights
184 reviews
1.23 km away
Nearby Attractions
Gaylord's City Elk Park
136 reviews
1.50 km away
Otsego County Historical Museum
8 reviews
1.41 km away
Old Spud Warehouse
16 reviews
1.45 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Otsego Club staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit