We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Maison Estate

R45, Franschhoek, South Africa
+27 21 876 2116
Website
Save
Book In Advance
More Info
US$143.86*
and up
Full-Day Private Food and Wine Tour in Franschhoek
More Info
US$143.86*
and up
Private Foodie Tour in Franschhoek from Cape Town
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent73%
  • Very good13%
  • Average6%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
Closed
All hours
Hours Today: Closed
LOCATION
R45, Franschhoek, South Africa
CONTACT
Website
+27 21 876 2116
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This was the fourth and final vineyard we visited during our 2 day stop in Hermanus and we loved it so much we stayed for hours. They have a really fantastic restaurant out the back of the building (it looked like reservations were a must...More

Thank Olivia O
ChrisWeylandt, Owner at Maison Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Olivia O, Thank you so much for taking the time to review our farm. We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us and are definitely hoping to see you again for lunch! Kind Regards, The Maison Team

Reviewed 2 May 2017 via mobile

This is simply the best place I know in South Africa, I go there every time I get the chance to and have never been disappointed, great food, great wine, great service, great location! Thanks and see you soon! Xavier

Thank Xavier C
ChrisWeylandt, Owner at Maison Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Thank you so much for your kind words Xavier C. We look forward to welcoming you again soon! Regards, The Maison Team

Reviewed 19 April 2017

Neither the wine-tasting building/restaurant, grounds or wine are the best to spend your time with in Franschhoek. It was just a warm day and the building was getting hot and there were lots of flies inside. Maison was recommended to me, but I can't recommend...More

Thank WRHOTEN
ChrisWeylandt, Owner at Maison Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Hi WRHOTEN, Our apologies that your visit to Maison was not what you were expecting. We welcome all feedback, please would you provide further contact details for the team to get in touch? Regards, The Maison Team

Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

We came across this place by accident. This was the first stop of the wine tram. Very nice wine, but more then that. The kids had chips and cheese and every thing was amazing

Thank Odedkramer11
ChrisWeylandt, Owner at Maison Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Hello Odedkramer11, Thank you for visiting us with the Wine Tram! It is always good to hear when guests have had a good time. Please visit us again soon. Regards, The Maison Team

Reviewed 31 March 2017

Popped in here for lunch as part of the Franschhoek Wine tram day. Opted for the deli lunch of meats and cheeses, with a couple of the small dishes. We didn't do the wine tasting but instead had a glass each of the wine. Delicious...More

Thank EMForster_72
ChrisWeylandt, Owner at Maison Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Hello EMForster_72, Thank you for your positive review. We love hosting guests from the Wine Tram and are glad you enjoyed the offering. Why not try lunch at The Kitchen next time you're in Franschhoek? Looking forward to seeing you. Regards, The Maison Team

Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

Only choice available was the taster menu. Chose three courses each with wine two courses average one good similarly with the wines. Cost £86 equivalent very poor value will not go again.

Thank John T
ChrisWeylandt, Owner at Maison Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2017

Good day John, Thank you for your review. Was there something specific about two of the courses that you felt were average? We would greatly appreciate your feedback so that we can pass them onto our team. Kind regards The Maison Team

Reviewed 21 February 2017 via mobile

We visited this on the wine tram. My experience was a disappointed. We were of the understanding that there was a wonderful deli where they claim "We don’t stand on ceremony at Maison. So if you’re in the mood for a more informal dining experience,...More

Thank M W
ChrisWeylandt, Owner at Maison Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2017

Good day, Thank you for taking the time to review The Kitchen at Maison Estate and share your thoughts and concerns with us. We are disappointed to read that you were not satisfied with your experience at the farm. However, you have raised some excellent...More

Reviewed 15 February 2017

We went to Maison Estate as it came highly recommended. When we walked through the entrance, we were told that we "weren't allowed to be here, this is a private function". (There were no signs indicating this.) Needless to say we left very quickly.

Thank BitterSweetB3AR
ChrisWeylandt, Owner at Maison Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2017

Good day, Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We will make sure to address this situation with our staff to ensure this does not happen again. We apologise for the inconvenience. Kind regards The Maison Team

Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

We did the wine tram and after the first stop at Rickety Bridge this was a real disappointment - met by very unfriendly staff who we felt were irritated by the people off the tram - wanted to consider the restaurant and was stopped by...More

Thank Abigail S
ChrisWeylandt, Owner at Maison Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2017

Hello Abigail S Thank you for taking the time to review Maison Estate. We value all feedback as this helps us improve our offering and service. Kind Regards, The Maison Team

Reviewed 30 December 2016

Went to Maison for lunch. Great welcome, very pleasant and nice environment. Great food and wine pairings. It was so nice being there, we went again...the next day....

Thank LucVerv
ChrisWeylandt, Owner at Maison Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2017

Good day, We cannot be more thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed Maison! Please join us again, soon! And then, the next day too! Kind regards The Maison Team

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Pierneef a La Motte
732 reviews
.71 km away
Ryan's Kitchen
1,003 reviews
4.03 km away
Bread and Wine
747 reviews
1.71 km away
Village Grill and Butcher
186 reviews
3.06 km away
Nearby Attractions
Topiary Wines
58 reviews
3.88 km away
La Motte Wine Estate
414 reviews
.71 km away
Eikehof
118 reviews
1.33 km away
Grand Provence Estate
343 reviews
3.07 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Maison Estate staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit