We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Blue Rock Adventure Park

Sir Lowry's Pass, Somerset West, South Africa
+27 21 858 1330
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Over priced/ no value

The entry fee does not cover even the most basic amenities e.g. shade or access to drinking water... read more

Reviewed 11 January 2016
UmmSalah
,
Strand, South Africa
Perfect family day out

Brilliant water sports. Picnic areas. Perfect family outing. Bring meat and have a braai. Own... read more

Reviewed 31 December 2015
Nokuphiwa M
,
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Read all 48 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent20%
  • Very good44%
  • Average6%
  • Poor16%
  • Terrible14%
Travellers talk about
“zip lining” (4 reviews)
“water ski” (3 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
Hours Today: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
LOCATION
Sir Lowry's Pass, Somerset West, South Africa
CONTACT
Website
+27 21 858 1330
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"zip lining"
in 4 reviews
"water ski"
in 3 reviews
"water activities"
in 3 reviews
"perfect family"
in 2 reviews
"knee boarding"
in 2 reviews
"whole family"
in 2 reviews
"cape town"
in 2 reviews
"volleyball"
in 3 reviews
"paintball"
in 3 reviews
"waterskiing"
in 2 reviews
"braaing"
in 2 reviews
"diving"
in 3 reviews
"session"
in 3 reviews
"helmets"
in 2 reviews
"excitement"
in 2 reviews
"dam"
in 2 reviews
"outing"
in 3 reviews
Filter

21 - 30 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2016

The entry fee does not cover even the most basic amenities e.g. shade or access to drinking water. A family day out can easily run into thousands of rands; clearly not geared to locals. We arrived. Paid. Drove down. THEN we were informed about all...More

5  Thank UmmSalah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2015

Brilliant water sports. Picnic areas. Perfect family outing. Bring meat and have a braai. Own alcohol not allowed. The owner and his wife are very friendly and hands on, which is a plus. Waiters are a little slow though. Be patient.

5  Thank Nokuphiwa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2015

Awesome venue to have a FULL DAY of fun. The water sports and picnic areas are awesome. A must if in the area.

Thank Roxy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2015 via mobile

We had my son's birthday party at Blue Rock. The venue is neat and tidy. Activities include water skiing; zip lining and swimming. Blue Rock is in a old quarry. Kids can have fun in a safe environment.

Thank Clinton C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2015

Visiting Blue Rock was a thrilling adventure. The water ski is absolutely awesome as is the zip line. The staff warned us many had left their undies in the water due to the sheer force if you fall in and I nearly suffered the same...More

1  Thank ChaChalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2015 via mobile

Blue Rock is a place where fun friends and excitement all meet together. Great atmosphere and the water-sport facilities will definitely not disappoint. I can't wait for summer to visit Blue Rock again. Even though it's quite pricey to spend the day it is well...More

1  Thank Odettebooysen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2015

Blue Rock is a "must do". It is an old quarry filled with water where they run a cable ski resort. There is also mini paintball, foofie slide, rock jumping and a small swim section. Nice big lawns and a amphitheatre of steps for spectators...More

3  Thank MellyCampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueRockCable1, Manager at Blue Rock Adventure Park, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2015

Hello! We are very happy to hear that you had such a wonderful experience at Blue Rock and we hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Blue Rock Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2015

it is a great place however, what a rip off! Entrance fee is clearly a parking fee because the minute you set foot in the place you pay, pay and then pay some more. I am surprised they didnt charge to use the toilet because...More

6  Thank skenjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueRockCable1, Manager at Blue Rock Adventure Park, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2015

Hello! There are various things to do at Blue Rock: Restaurant, Conferencing, Waterskiing, Paintball, 400m Fufi – Slide, Rock Jumping, Swimming and Beach Volleyball. There are different prices for everything as each individual has different likes and might enjoy the one thing but not the...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2015

I have just moved to Somerset West and have been twice this weekend with my two kids and their friends. It is an absolute pleasure to feel safe and secure and enjoy a relaxing day in a beautiful location. Wake boarding was great for the...More

1  Thank 551dgdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueRockCable1, Manager at Blue Rock Adventure Park, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2015

Hello! Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your suggestions and will take them into consideration. Please note, there is a video showing in ticket sales for beginners and there are operators available that can give you some guidance with waterskiing, kneeboarding & wakeboarding. Alternatively,...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2015

I get that it costs money to operate an expensive security system and I also understand that Blue Rock operates a strictly seasonal business. BUT- At 50ZAR just to get into Blue Rock they are making a very clear statement as to who their target...More

3  Thank RFConnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueRockCable1, Manager at Blue Rock Adventure Park, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2015

Hello! Thank you for your comments. Regarding the rental fee of the blue floating mats, Blue Rock had to put this in to place as clients just don’t take care of the rental items. It covers the repairing of them. Regarding the entrance fee, if...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 6 hotels in Somerset West
Somerset Lodge
21 reviews
2.21 km away
Willowbrook Country House
221 reviews
2.38 km away
Somerset Links
1 review
3.47 km away
Erinvale Estate Hotel and Spa
384 reviews
3.57 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Pajamas & Jam Eatery
206 reviews
1.24 km away
The Smiling Oven
29 reviews
1.39 km away
Oceans 8 Seafood & Sushi
99 reviews
.80 km away
Woolwoths Cafe Waterstone
72 reviews
.87 km away
Nearby Attractions
Journey's End Vineyards
8 reviews
1.21 km away
Proof
7 reviews
1.22 km away
Tour With Elle
36 reviews
.39 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Bascolestewart
19 October 2015|
Answer
Response from Bascolestewart |
What is or are the prices for spending 1 day at bluerock
0
Votes
;