We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hidden Valley Animal Adventure

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 2887 Royce Rd, Varysburg, NY 14167-9640
Phone Number: +1 585-535-4100
Website
Today
17:00 - 22:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 10:00 - 15:00
Thu 17:00 - 22:00
Fri - Sat 10:00 - 22:00
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Description:

The Adventure is closer than you think! Escape from the ordinary, and take...

The Adventure is closer than you think! Escape from the ordinary, and take a ride on the wild side at Hidden Valley Animal Adventure. Get up close and personal with some of the world's most exotic animals in a breathtaking setting. It's an experience you won't soon forget. You can take a 60 minute guided trolley ride through our scenic park that features over 300 animals and 40 exotic species including zebra, camel, elk, ostrich, emu and more!Our tours and restaurants are wheelchair accessible!HVAA Restaurants•We have 2 restaurants on-site they are The Trailside Grill & Bar which is open whenever the public tours are running and The Lodge at Hidden Valley is a beautiful timber frame restaurant that is available for weddings and special occasions•The Trailside Grill & Bar is a quick service restaurant and is a great place to celebrate birthdays and all occasions.•enjoy the picturesque views and outdoor seating at our four season destination!•We are only 20 minutes off of the 400 in East Aurora, and 20 minutes off of the I-90 in Batavia and if you like to snowmobile we are located right on the trail in Varysburg, NY.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 129 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 77
    Excellent
  • 37
    Very good
  • 8
    Average
  • 2
    Poor
  • 5
    Terrible
Fun in spring and winter

Went in the spring and saw animals giving birth and new babies. Took a sleigh ride in the winter and saw animals in the snow and the tropicals in a barn. The ride was very... read more

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 weeks ago
anne h
,
varysburg
Add Photo Write a Review

129 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 129: English reviews
varysburg
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went in the spring and saw animals giving birth and new babies. Took a sleigh ride in the winter and saw animals in the snow and the tropicals in a barn. The ride was very beautiful and fcomfortable.

Helpful?
Thank anne h
Attica, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2016

The restaurant food was very good. My party ordered everything from regular burgers to water buffalo & bison. The wait staff was very friendly & the service was fast. I loved the animal tour ride that they gave & the tour guides were informative & very knowledgeable about the place.

Helpful?
Thank FyreGal043
mspowers1964, Marketing Director at Hidden Valley Animal Adventure, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the experience and the food in the Trailside Grill. The Water Buffalo and Bison burgers are a little different than regular beef burgers and are actually a little healthier, but we make them all and try to make the best in the area. More 

Weston, Vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2016

what a setting! extremely well maintained. safari and petting zoo fun for the whole family. highly recommend the adventure!

Helpful?
Thank Kristen M
mspowers1964, Marketing Director at Hidden Valley Animal Adventure, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. It does take a little bit to get to us, but it is a pretty drive, especially during fall foliage time. The Safari Tours are complete for 2016, but we hope winter visitors come out for dinner any Thursday, Friday or Saturday evening. If the snow cooperates, we hope to have sleigh rides through the park... More 

Franklin, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
146 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2016

Perfect day for this...Place wasn't real busy, not too hot (70's).A nice place,well kept.Ride was fun,small animal park was ho-hum,but would be good for youngsters.very nice cafe&bar area.Our food was great! Nice rural area of ny&scenery.

Helpful?
Thank cecustard
mspowers1964, Marketing Director at Hidden Valley Animal Adventure, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind words and for visiting. More 

Cattaraugus, NY
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2016

Great opportunity to see up close and hand feed large animals like bison, water buffalo, camels, elk, long horn steer, emu, ostrich, zebra's and many others while riding on a trolley being pulled by a wagon. The 50 min ride was most enjoyable and seeing home much the young children enjoyed it made a great memory. The grounds were so... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sally W
mspowers1964, Marketing Director at Hidden Valley Animal Adventure, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind words. We're glad you had such a good experience with us More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

Road trip was beautiful, weather was nice , people at the place were very helpful and smiley . We did get to interact with all animals maybe because we went afternoon and animals were full and not hungry .

Helpful?
Thank Saldertrip
mspowers1964, Marketing Director at Hidden Valley Animal Adventure, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind words. I'm glad you had a good time. There is a chance that on a busy day, the animals did indeed have their fill for the time being. More 

Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

We found this on trip advisor as a local place to visit. We had a blast! It was well worth the $ for the trolley ride and the animals were awesome. To the reviewer that wrote the animals were dirty if you had listened to the announcer you would have learned that it was hot out and the animals coat... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank quirkiekate
mspowers1964, Marketing Director at Hidden Valley Animal Adventure, responded to this review

Thanks for writing. We are glad to know you had a good time More 

Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

The tour was fantastic although they could do with some upgraded digital speaker systems on the wagons. The animals were sooooo friendly and fun!!! Unless you want ice cream dont gi ti thier grill restaurant. The service is horrible the waitress didn't seem to want to be there. They were slow and we might as,well been eating in a barn.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andrew J
mspowers1964, Marketing Director at Hidden Valley Animal Adventure, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We're glad you had a positive experience with the Wild Safari Tour. I hope that you would try the Trailside Grill again sometime. You are correct, we did have a few issues, but have been in the process of addressing personnel performance and what exactly got the fly issue going. That has been allieviated and we... More 

Nyaung Shwe, Myanmar
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2016

It was a very nice place. Charging people 20 bucks for a wagon ride was little pricey, plus animals looked so unhealthy and dirty. Plus a dollar for a cup of corn if you needed more to feed animals... so bring $$ if you want to enjoy animals.

Helpful?
Thank mtia6969
mspowers1964, Marketing Director at Hidden Valley Animal Adventure, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind words about our location. The animals here do get to wander and play on their own so that may account for the dirty you saw. We do have a vet on staff and the animals are regularly checked and if one proves unhealthy, we do everything to nurse them back to full health. Their safety is... More 

Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2016

Have always wanted to go here and am so glad that we finally made it. This place is so well taken care of....the landscape at beautiful when you first arrive and there is a huge pond with all kinds of ducks and geese and a wooden bridge that you can walk over with a gazebo. Just lovely. After you purchase... More 

Helpful?
Thank J S
mspowers1964, Marketing Director at Hidden Valley Animal Adventure, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are thrilled that you had such a good time during your visit. Hope you return More 

Travellers who viewed Hidden Valley Animal Adventure also viewed

 

Been to Hidden Valley Animal Adventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Hidden Valley Animal Adventure and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Franklin, Pennsylvania

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hidden Valley Animal Adventure staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?