We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 360 Ocean Ridge Pkwy SW, Ocean Ridge Plantation, Sunset Beach, NC 28469-5415
Phone Number: +1 910-287-1717
Website
Today
06:30 - 19:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 06:30 - 19:00
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Description:

Tiger’s Eye Golf Links, one of the crown jewels at Ocean Ridge Plantation,...

Tiger’s Eye Golf Links, one of the crown jewels at Ocean Ridge Plantation, is an upscale daily-fee 18-hole golf course carved from a virgin pine and hardwood forest in Sunset Beach, N.C.Designed by golf course architect and land planner Tim Cate, Tiger’s Eye is one of four championship layouts at Ocean Ridge Plantation — Panther’s Run, Cate’s first solo effort, Lion’s Paw and Leopard’s Chase.Tiger's Eye has been recognized by several national golf publications as being among the best courses in the country. The layout has been consistently ranked among Golf Digest’s “Top 100 Public Golf Courses in America”. It is also Number 3 on Golf Digest's list of "Top 50 Courses in Myrtle Beach" and has earned 4 1/2 stars in their prestigious Places to Play rankings. Tiger's Eye was also ranked No. 6 in the state of North Carolina by Golfweek magazine.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 37 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 9
    Excellent
  • 12
    Very good
  • 6
    Average
  • 2
    Poor
  • 7
    Terrible
Bad Greens

Was disappointed with the condition of the course. The greens were terrible. Sanded and slow. The course itself lacked any of the lush colors you see in the pictures. Instead... read more

3 of 5 bubblesReviewed 9 May 2016
gregmo69
,
Oakville, Canada
Add Photo Write a Review

37 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 36: English reviews
Stuarts Draft, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2016

The greens were terrible. The heat burned up the bent grass. Before playing we were told they were going to aerate the front nine greens while we played the other nine. No offer was made to play one of the other courses. When we made the turn we were greeted with the worst greens I've ever seen on the Grand... More 

Helpful?
Thank johnlesliem
Bill L, Manager at Tiger's Eye Golf Links, responded to this review

We always appreciate our guests taking the time to give us constructive feedback. We would wholeheartedly agree the greens on Tiger's Eye were brutalized by the extreme summer heat this year. We had 45 straight days with less than a quarter inch of total rain and temperatures in the mid 90's and above. These weather conditions are not typical for... More 

Oswestry, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2016

As visitors from the UK we were offered this course last minute on a 48 hour deal for $90. The whole experience was awful, especially the greens. How can Tigers Eye still charge this sort of money for a course in such poor condition. Hurricane Matthew had nothing to do the poor conditions, wake up and stop overcharging. Rivers Edge... More 

Helpful?
Thank mikeshakeshaft
Bill L, Manager at Tiger's Eye Golf Links, responded to this review

We always appreciate anyone taking the time to offer constructive feedback and we fully intend to address any and all of your concerns. The bent grass greens on Tiger's Eye certainly took a beating this summer, as they were exposed to the blistering conditions of the hottest and driest summer iin recent history. We have undertaken many restorative procedures in... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2016

Tiger's Eye is supposed to the be the premier golf course in Ocean Ridge Plantation's "Big Cats Courses". Sadly, this course could not only deal with the summer heat associated with Brunswick County, where MANY other courses did a phenomenal job, but there is also a lack of care for general course quality. The greens had patches of dirt. Yes... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Dee C
Bill L, Manager at Tiger's Eye Golf Links, responded to this review

As always, we appreciate constructive feedback and will endeavor to address our guests' comments and concerns. Being one of the very few remaining courses in our area with bentgrass greens, Tiger's Eye had the misfortune of being exposed to the most extreme summer conditions on record. The putting surfaces held up very well until around mid August and then the... More 

Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2016

Nice layout and when in good shape it is a fun course to play. Unfortunately the course is in very poor shape and greens are burnt out and potentially lost.

Helpful?
1 Thank golfaddict2016
Bill L, Manager at Tiger's Eye Golf Links, responded to this review

We always appreciate anyone taking the time to offer constructive feedback and we take very seriously the concerns expressed in this review.. We deeply apologize that Tiger's Eye did not live up to your expectations on your most recent visit. You are absolutely correct when stating it is a great layout and a fun course to play. Tiger's Eye has... More 

Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2016

Was disappointed with the condition of the course. The greens were terrible. Sanded and slow. The course itself lacked any of the lush colors you see in the pictures. Instead it was dry and dusty. We had heard back at our condo from other golfers that the course wasn't that great. But nothing compared us for what we experienced. Golfed... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank gregmo69
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2016

We were looking forward to playing this course. The gentleman that greeted us should not have that job. He was rude and not helpful and definitely not welcoming. The course was good shape but with some tlc it could should be better. A huge pet peeve is charging for range. I don't get why course ps don't have free range... More 

Helpful?
Thank MJB1010
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2016 via mobile

Played here Christmas week and was extremely disappointed with the conditions. We had a lot of rain and were not told that the course was almost unplayable. Most drives were plugged in the fairways and tee boxes had not been mowed in a week or more. The course should not have even been open with almost every fairway and tees... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Dan D
Level Contributor
85 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2015 via mobile

My favorite of the Cats. Always in great shape and challenging layout. Clubhouse is very nice with delicious sandwiches. If playing the Cats, play this 9.

Helpful?
Thank scottpauli
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2015

I have played almost all of the Myrtle area courses and Tigers Eye is my favorite. Great course, playable but challenging. They had some minor issues with the greens this summer, but still totally enjoyed the course, actually played it three times in my two week stay. Staff is very friendly and accomodating, and the course is simply the best!.

Helpful?
Thank Howard G
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2015

Unfortunate timing because the greens are in very rough shape on this course. They should shut it down until they can repair or replace the greens. The other two courses are in much better shape.Another poor decision at all of the Big Cat courses, Lion's Paw and Panther's Run is the lack of drinking water on the course. This is... More 

Helpful?
Thank K B

Travellers who viewed Tiger's Eye Golf Links also viewed

 

Been to Tiger's Eye Golf Links? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Tiger's Eye Golf Links staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?