We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Panther's Run Golf Links

351 Ocean Ridge Pkwy SW, Sunset Beach, NC 28469
+1 910-287-1717
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Save your money

Winter kill on the greens have left the course unplayable. Nice facility and really nice staff but... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Don H
,
Pleasant Garden
via mobile
Disappointing

They have lost their greens to winter kill. The layout is nice, but it was impossible to putt well... read more

Reviewed 11 May 2018
PawPaw64
,
Charlotte, North Carolina
via mobile
Read all 40 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Panther's Run Golf Links was born to be a different breed of golf. Winding its way throughout a pristine nature preserve, this magnificent Tim Cate design is one of The Grand Strand's all-time favorite layouts. Now featuring new MiniVerde greens, this gorgeous Big Cat is groomed to perfection and ready to help you go on the hunt for some birdies!
  • Excellent20%
  • Very good38%
  • Average25%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“tiger's eye” (4 reviews)
“nice staff” (2 reviews)
“courses” (11 reviews)
Open Now
Hours
Hours Today: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Suggested Duration: More than 3 hours
LOCATION
351 Ocean Ridge Pkwy SW, Sunset Beach, NC 28469
CONTACT
Website
+1 910-287-1717
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"tiger's eye"
in 4 reviews
"nice staff"
in 2 reviews
"courses"
in 11 reviews
"track"
in 3 reviews
"challenges"
in 2 reviews
"trouble"
in 2 reviews
"facility"
in 2 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Winter kill on the greens have left the course unplayable. Nice facility and really nice staff but this comes short of making ng up for the course conditions.More

Thank Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill L, Manager at Panther's Run Golf Links, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review Panther's Run. As I'm sure you are aware by now, our area was devastated by the extreme winter conditions of the past several months (the coldest in the last 38 years, including an ice storm that left...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2018 via mobile

They have lost their greens to winter kill. The layout is nice, but it was impossible to putt well. The cart paths need attention as well. I think some of my fillings were jarred loose. Call ahead before booking to inquire about the greens.More

Thank PawPaw64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill L, Manager at Panther's Run Golf Links, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit. You are correct, like most of the bermuda greens courses in our area, Panther's Run took a beating from the coldest winter this region has experienced in 38 years. The problem has been so...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018

Facility and staff were top notch and we were warned beforehand that the greens were not up to par... They were AWFUL...'Winter Kill' they called it...We would definitely play here again with the hope that the greens recovered...We did enjoy ourselves despite the putting...The sign...More

Thank Ernie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2017

I played this course recently with a group of members from a local North Myrtle Beach club. The condition of the practice range is an embarrassment and the range ball are so dead they hardly fly. Tee boxes are poor and fairways need serious attention....More

1  Thank 721jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill L, Manager at Panther's Run Golf Links, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

I wanted to thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit and we sincerely apologize for your unsatisfactory experience. We also want to let you know we have taken measures to address many of the issues you mention. Our cart paths are...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

Reserved a tee time for me and my brother-in-law. We needed to rent clubs so I inquired about needing to rent them when I made the reservation the day before. They had two options, a newer set for $40/player, and older sets for $27/player. I...More

1  Thank dmalobicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill L, General Manager at Panther's Run Golf Links, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

We would like to thank you for taking the opportunity to make us aware of your unsatisfactory experience at Panther's Run. It is only through such constructive feedback that we can address issues as they arise, as we strive to continue to improve our operation....More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2017

Played Panthers Run yesterday. The course layout is good with some great, challenging holes but, right now, it is in very poor condition. Lots of weeds on the fairways and fringes. I was less than 2 yards off the 18th green in the fringe and...More

1  Thank Liz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill L, Manager at Panther's Run Golf Links, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2017

Thank you for your recent visit to Panther's Run. We certainly apologize for your unsatisfactory experience. It is indeed a beautiful layout, and, as one of the most popular courses in our area, it has undergone a tremendous amount of play and traffic through the...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2017

I read a lot of reviews about this. Terms like "rude staff" and "terrible conditions" were written. Totally false. The staff was great. I was looking for someone to be rude. It never happened. Everyone was polite, friendly and made us feel welcomed. My group...More

Thank Gregory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill L, Manager at Panther's Run Golf Links, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2017

Thank you very much, Gregory! Most people don't take the time to post reviews of their positive experiences, so we appreciate it very much! We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2017

Not worth the full fare - prob $35 at best with very poor conditions from tee to green, bad customer service and slow play.More

2  Thank rbestercy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill L, Manager at Panther's Run Golf Links, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

We are very sorry to hear of your unsatisfactory experience at Panther's Run. If you would, could you give me more information on your critique, including specifics on the customer service issues and pace of play? Please send your reply to blong@oceanridge.com Once again we...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017

Been several years since we have played at this facility. We have noticed a trend in the area of declining conditions of the courses in the myrtle beach area. The concern seems to get as many people out on the course as possible. Our round...More

Thank dave c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill L, Manager at Panther's Run Golf Links, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2017

Thank you very much for your feedback. We will definitely do our best to address your areas of concern. We have several renovation projects on the schedule and expect most of the issues you mentioned to be addressed and improved. You can keep track of...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2017

Hard to express how disappointed we were at the course conditions and the low level of customer service. We played Lion's Paw and Tiger's Eye many years ago and they were then top level courses. Panther's Run is simply run-down. None of the Par 3...More

1  Thank SGB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill L, Manager at Panther's Run Golf Links, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2017

We certainly appreciate your feedback and we definitely take your concerns seriously. We do have several renovations projects in the works and many of the issues you mentioned here will be addressed. We are aggressively treating the Poa Annua outbreak right now. As you may...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Sunset Beach Hotels
Sea Trail Golf Resort & Conference Center
218 reviews
5.34 km away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
70 reviews
7.25 km away
Islander Inn
554 reviews
7.27 km away
Ocean Isle Inn
797 reviews
7.35 km away
Nearby Restaurants
La Cucina Italian Grill
367 reviews
4.63 km away
Fibber McGees
452 reviews
4.78 km away
Bagel Dock Cafe
284 reviews
4.93 km away
Sugar Shack
516 reviews
5.82 km away
Nearby Attractions
Silver Coast Winery
144 reviews
5.70 km away
Ingram Planetarium
71 reviews
4.66 km away
Sandpiper Bay Golf Course
79 reviews
2.99 km away
Maxine Putnam Therapeutic Massage
22 reviews
4.83 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Panther's Run Golf Links staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
;