We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

SilverBlades Ice Rink Widnes

The Hive | Earle Road, Widnes WA8 0TA, England
+44 870 085 2929
Call
Save
Review Highlights
Be consistent

As a family we have visited the rink every weekend in 2018. We had an ice card from a few years ago... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Jamie F
via mobile
Fun for kids and adults

We went with the kids and had a good time. My youngest never been on ice befor but can rollerskate... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Nikki-Wim
,
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Read all 93 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent43%
  • Very good20%
  • Average19%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“silver blades” (9 reviews)
“great fun” (7 reviews)
“polar bears” (2 reviews)
Suggested Duration: More than 3 hours
LOCATION
The Hive | Earle Road, Widnes WA8 0TA, England
CONTACT
+44 870 085 2929
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

As a family we have visited the rink every weekend in 2018. We had an ice card from a few years ago but such is life, this got lost in various car swaps, purse changes etc. On the 01st jan we were told it would...More

Thank Jamie F
SilverBladesWidnes, Manager at SilverBlades Ice Rink Widnes, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi Jamie, Thank you for taking your time to review us. In answer to some of your points, the Ice Card Membership should now be a £6.00 charge to all customers and will appear on your receipt we are able to give new cards to...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We went with the kids and had a good time. My youngest never been on ice befor but can rollerskate. It took her 1 round held by the hand and then she wend of on her own. We were early, about 10.30 am and it...More

Thank Nikki-Wim
SilverBladesWidnes, Manager at SilverBlades Ice Rink Widnes, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Nikki-Wim, Thank you for taking the time to review us with Trip Advisor! We're glad your family enjoyed their experience with us. If I may request you provide us with some detail regarding the food you purchased from us, we're always looking to improve...More

Reviewed 9 November 2017 via mobile

What a wonderful Experience For my son to go on the ice in his Wheelchair. The staff where very helpful, how lovely that his carers where allowed to take him on the ice. Many thanks to widnes ice skating rink staff, There is very little...More

Thank amk014
SilverBladesWidnes, Manager at SilverBlades Ice Rink Widnes, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Dear amk014, Thank you for your review. Ice skating is an inclusive sport and everyone is welcome to join us on the ice at Widnes! Hope to see your son enjoying himself again soon

Reviewed 4 November 2017

Total price for family of 3, plus one spectator and skate aid was actually £39.10 (plus £1 if you pay by card) It does’nt state on website that prices do not include vat. Receptionist was quite abrupt when I questioned price. Also after paying £5...More

2  Thank Carol K
SilverBladesWidnes, Manager at SilverBlades Ice Rink Widnes, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Hi Carol, All our prices include VAT the prices advertised on our website are for members and there is a notice box to advise the difference in price for non-members. I'm concerned to hear about the skating aids on the main pad and will investigate...More

Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

I grew up skating so I decided to teach my 7yr old son. Good:He loves the Diddy ice rink especially when starting out with the penguins or polar bears to support him (great for adults too!). Friendly staff and ice marshals on busier evenings. Lovely...More

Thank Phil B
SilverBladesWidnes, Manager at SilverBlades Ice Rink Widnes, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Dear Phil B, Thank you for taking the time to review us at Silver blades Widnes! I'm happy to hear you and your son have enjoyed your sessions at the rink and would like to thank you for your kind words regarding our staff members....More

Reviewed 4 September 2017

We had a great visit last week .The children aged from 6 to 19 had a great couple of hours.The youngest two had the polar bear aids to help them which made it easier for everyone else too.The price was very responsible.

Thank Gillian F
SilverBladesWidnes, Manager at SilverBlades Ice Rink Widnes, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Dear Gillian F, Thank you for your recent visit and review of us! We're glad to hear everyone had fun whilst ice skating at our rink. We hope to see you all again soon!

Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

We had our daughters birthday party here we had the premium package. Our party co ordinator georgia and party host louise were outstanding in everything they did. I honestly couldnt thank them enough. They made the party great and it was stress free as they...More

Thank Kerrie M
SilverBladesWidnes, Manager at SilverBlades Ice Rink Widnes, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Dear Kerrie M, Thank you for your review of one of our Birthday Parties. I'm really glad to hear that your daughters party was enjoyed by everyone! We hope to see you at the rink again soon.

Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

What an amazing place, excellent value for money, staff can't do enough for you, we had a birthday party there and we've been back again and staff do everything they can to make your visit special. Will be going back again

Thank Colin H
SilverBladesWidnes, Manager at SilverBlades Ice Rink Widnes, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Dear Colin H, Thank you for your recent visits to us, I'm happy to hear your positive comments from your visits and will let all our staff members know what a fantastic job they're doing! Hope to see you at the rink again soon!

Reviewed 13 July 2017

good energetic evening out staff very helpful and facilities were good. prices very reasonable and suitable for all ages

Thank Vance D
SilverBladesWidnes, Manager at SilverBlades Ice Rink Widnes, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

Dear Vance D, Thank you for taking the time to review us after your recent visit. Its great to hear you had an enjoyable time with us! Don't forget our Summer Sale starts on Friday 21st July with a brand new timetable and price points!

Reviewed 25 June 2017

Visited here (24/06/2017) with my step Daughter and her friends as part of her Birthday celebrations. Had a fantastic time. I found the place to be clean with great facilities. The Staff were friendly and helpful and I can't wait to visit again as it...More

Thank Tjaytjay
SilverBladesWidnes, Manager at SilverBlades Ice Rink Widnes, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

Dear Tjaytjay, Thank you for taking the time to review us here at Silver Blades Widnes. I'm happy to hear your group enjoyed your visit with us and we hope to see you again soon! Don't forget we have our Wild West Fun Day on...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 4 hotels in Widnes
Premier Inn Widnes Hotel
398 reviews
.09 km away
Travelodge Widnes
180 reviews
.44 km away
Campanile Runcorn
233 reviews
2.61 km away
Best Western Everglades Park Hotel
431 reviews
2.75 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Arroy Thai Restaurant
179 reviews
.64 km away
La Cantina
297 reviews
.49 km away
FM Caffe
108 reviews
.64 km away
Tea for Two
108 reviews
.64 km away
Nearby Attractions
Catalyst
205 reviews
1.27 km away
Spike Island Nature Reserve
79 reviews
1.47 km away
Widnes Market
78 reviews
.77 km away
Crazy Club
35 reviews
.04 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Soxdawson
17 January 2018|
Answer
Response from Phil B | Reviewed this property |
Take them to the rink shop. You might need to leave them there. The sharpener comes every week I think.
0
Votes
Julie O
30 December 2017|
Answer
Response from Vance D | Reviewed this property |
yes I did
0
Votes
Sophie M
18 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from SilverBladesWidnes | Property representative |
Hi Sophie, The mega skate is longer sessions allowing children to be active and entertained whilst off school. We will be playing a mixture of chart music with a few spooky tracks mixed in between. If your after a "scarier... More
1
Vote