We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ashby de la Zouch Museum

North Street, Ashby-de-la-Zouch LE65 1HU, England
+44 1530 560090
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Interesting local heritage and history

Shares the same building on North Street as the local library with easy access to a car park. Small... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Grizzly_MikeM
,
Johannesburg, South Africa
Welcoming

Having visited the castle we followed up with a visit to the museum. Free entry if you have paid... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Kelly W
,
Tamworth, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 22 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
A small independent museum showcasing the history of Ashby & nearby villages, including temporary exhibitions, children's activities, talks, and lots more.
  • Excellent57%
  • Very good22%
  • Average13%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 11:00 - 13:00, 14:00 - 16:00
LOCATION
North Street, Ashby-de-la-Zouch LE65 1HU, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1530 560090
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Shares the same building on North Street as the local library with easy access to a car park. Small but well presented and maintained museum of local history. The museum is rather cramped and there is a lot packed in to a small space, but...More

Thank Grizzly_MikeM
Rhian S, Social media manager at Ashby de la Zouch Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Mike. Thanks for leaving your review here. Sounds like you got a lot out of your visit to the museum. We do update our displays and exhibitions regularly, so please do remember us again when you are in the area.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Having visited the castle we followed up with a visit to the museum. Free entry if you have paid for the castle or £1 entrance without. The museum is very small and only contains local artefacts and information however it has been well set up...More

Thank Kelly W
Rhian S, Social media manager at Ashby de la Zouch Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Kelly. Thanks so much for taking the time to write your review - we really do appreciate it. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your visit and warm welcome. I will be sure to pass on your thanks to Fred.

Reviewed 28 March 2017

Having never been to the museum before but keen to learn about local heritage, we popped into the museum. I volunteer in a local history museum and so we keen to see how it was done here. The interpretation is well done and offers a...More

Thank rwparkinson
Rhian S, Social media manager at Ashby de la Zouch Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi there. Thanks so much for leaving your review here. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to us and were able to take advantage of our volunteers' vast local knowledge. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Reviewed 16 November 2016

We visited simply because it had started to rain and there isn't much to do in Ashby town centre. We didn't expect much and to be honest we didn't get much apart from a load of hassle from the two pensioners manning the desk. Firstly...More

Thank NS57
Rhian S, Social media manager at Ashby de la Zouch Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2017

Hello. First of all, I want to apologise for the delayed response. Secondly, I would like to apologise for your less than perfect visit to us in November. We take pride in our small museum and in ensuring all our guests have an informative, engaging...More

Reviewed 14 September 2016

I live in Ashby and took a friend to the brilliant Ashby Museum last week. We were both fascinated by the current special exhibition showing the story of the 1st WW prisoner Lieutenant Gunther Pluschow of the Imperial German Navy who escaped from Donington Hall....More

Thank kathy b
Rhian S, Social media manager at Ashby de la Zouch Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2016

Hi Kathy. Thanks for your kind comments. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent visit. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

Started at the museum which was really informative and set the time and history for a visit to the castle. Much more to see and learn than we thought. Will go again.

Thank Karen H
Rhian S, Social Media Manager at Ashby de la Zouch Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2016

Thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you to the museum again soon.

Reviewed 23 February 2016

I happened to be in Leicestershire and in the are of Ashby de la Zouch and decided to make a stop this site. Is the remnants ruins of a castle. Though there's to much there, it was enough to get the feel for it. How...More

Thank Operatica
Reviewed 25 September 2015

I took a twenty something visitor from Holland and we loved it. It is so varied and fascinating. I had not expected though to find my old house details from the 1960s in one of the large ledger/scrap books. I would have stayed much longer...More

Thank marsellas
Rhian S, Social media manager at Ashby de la Zouch Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2016

Thank you for your kind comments. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your visit to our museum and hope to welcome you back soon.

Reviewed 21 September 2015

A tiny-but-sweet 3-room museum telling the long history of the Ashby and North West Leicestershire-South Derbyshire area, it's a wonderful little addition to an Ashby visit - essentially its a medalroom, a gift shop and a history room, but dont let the size fool you...More

Thank Chris T
Rhian S, Social media manager at Ashby de la Zouch Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2016

Thank you for your kind comments. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your visit to our museum and hope to welcome you back soon.

Reviewed 21 September 2015

I had a very interesting chat with the curator for over an hour so was unable to complete my visit to the rest of the museum as it was closing! Never mind, I will return. What I saw was well worth the £1 admin fee

Thank Andrew M
Rhian S, Social media manager at Ashby de la Zouch Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2016

Thank you for your kind comments. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your visit to our museum and look forward to welcoming you again.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Zamani's
669 reviews
.28 km away
The Courtyard Cafe
131 reviews
.16 km away
Lizzie's Tea Room
125 reviews
.09 km away
The Monkey Tree
102 reviews
.10 km away
Nearby Attractions
Ashby de la Zouch Castle
162 reviews
.32 km away
Rebound Trampoline Park
70 reviews
1.12 km away
The Lamb Ashby
28 reviews
.19 km away
Sweet Memory Lane
21 reviews
.25 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Ashby de la Zouch Museum staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit