We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Paxton House

Berwick-upon-Tweed TD15 1SZ, England
+44 1289 386291
Call
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Our best Christmas event ever

We came to Paxton House to take part in the Christmas Cracker. It was a remarkable experience... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Lindisfarnegirl
,
Reading, United Kingdom
Christmas fair

One of the poorest fairs I have been to. From the rather bewildered parking attendants to the entry... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
colin b
Read all 537 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
One of the finest examples of an 18th-century Palladian Country house in all of Britain. There are many activities at Paxton House to keep you busy for a whole day, including house tours, boat trips and net fishing on the River Tweed, tearoom and gift shop, extensive grounds and gardens, galleries and exhibitions. We also have different types of accommodation, including an apartment, a lodge and a caravan park if you wish to stay and enjoy Paxton House for longer.
  • Excellent72%
  • Very good24%
  • Average2%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“guided tour” (56 reviews)
“boat trip” (37 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
Hours Today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Suggested Duration: More than 3 hours
LOCATION
Berwick-upon-Tweed TD15 1SZ, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1289 386291
Write a ReviewReviews (537)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 531 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

We came to Paxton House to take part in the Christmas Cracker. It was a remarkable experience. The house was decorated from top to bottom with great skill. There were over 60 stalls plus many other attractions: Santa in the library with beautifully wrapped gifts,an...More

Thank Lindisfarnegirl
Molly S, Guest Relations Manager at Paxton House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your kind review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of the Christmas Cracker, it is always lovely to get such positive feedback for our events. We hope to welcome you back to Paxton House throughout the 2018 season.

Reviewed 1 week ago

One of the poorest fairs I have been to. From the rather bewildered parking attendants to the entry fee that gave you nothing and the vastly overpriced turkey rolls,the burnt overpriced burgers and the very poor collection of again overpriced stalls. The whole thing was...More

Thank colin b
Molly S, Guest Relations Manager at Paxton House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for writing some feedback, we will take your comments on board for next year.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a delightful visit this was on a cold day late November for a group of 8 adults. Arrived a bit early but staff happy to let us in out of the cold. Very obliging staff in restaurant who gave us a lovely lunch break....More

Thank Susan H
Molly S, Guest Relations Manager at Paxton House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you very much for your kind review! It is great to hear that you enjoyed your tour of the house and lunch in the stables tearoom. I will ensure to pass on your comments to all the members of staff involved. We look forward...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

had a tour of the house very interesting and lady who gave the tour was very informative they we had lunch in the tea room excellent good lovley staff

Thank jayne g
Molly S, Guest Relations Manager at Paxton House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your lovely review of Paxton House. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First time visit on a bitterly cold day in november. We had planned lunch at the ‘dog-friendly’ cafe and we were aware there was a separate ‘doggy room’. Sadly this room was unheated and far too cold to sit in. The young lady did offer...More

Thank badlywornroy
Molly S, Guest Relations Manager at Paxton House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review, I will pass on your comments to the tearoom staff to ensure that the room is heated at all times as this is the standard that we try to uphold on a daily basis. Thank you for your lovely comments...More

Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile

Should be top of the list of places to visit, great house the tour was excellent. Staff could not be more helpful or friendly. Cafe is a must to visit to. Garden very nice even in November and a good play area to keep the...More

Thank 986vvv
Molly S, Guest Relations Manager at Paxton House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Thank you for your lovely review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of Paxton House and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Reviewed 3 November 2017 via mobile

Enjoyed a lovely morning at Paxton House including a tour with Linda who was so knowledgable and interesting. Also enjoyed a wonderful cup of coffee and cake in the tearoom which was first class. Prior to the start of the tour we went to look...More

Thank Christine S
Molly S, Guest Relations Manager at Paxton House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Thank you for your review- it is great to hear that you enjoyed your visit despite having an unhappy experience with one of our staff. I have brought this up with our management team for them to ensure that all staff behave courteously to customers...More

Reviewed 30 October 2017

Very friendly staff at lovely pace to visit, the grounds are good and the tour of the house very interesting, good kids playground and cafe too.

Thank CubleyHall
Molly S, Guest Relations Manager at Paxton House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Many thanks for your lovely review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your tour of Paxton House along with the grounds and the tearoom. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Reviewed 29 October 2017

Paxton House is well worth a visit. The grounds and gardens along the edge of the river Tweed are impressive, with special trail walks and well designed play area for children of all ages. Tours of the house are very well organised with excellent guides,...More

Thank Anne E
Molly S, Guest Relations Manager at Paxton House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Many thanks for your lovely review of Paxton House. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your trip to Paxton House and i will ensure that i pass on your comments to the tearoom. We hope to welcome you back to Paxton House again...More

Reviewed 28 October 2017

It was the last day of our holiday and we found Paxton House. On entering reception we were greeted most warmly by two ladies, At the time I was disabled and could only walk short distances and they could not have been more helpful. They...More

Thank Michael P
Molly S, Guest Relations Manager at Paxton House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Many thanks for your wonderful review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your tour of Paxton House- i will make sure that i pass on your comments to Wilma and the the shop staff. We hope to welcome you back to Paxton House...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Cross Inn Pub & Kitchen
210 reviews
1.06 km away
Kingfisher Restaurant
128 reviews
4.93 km away
Mielle Patisserie
211 reviews
6.04 km away
Roberts Takeaways Ltd
19 reviews
6.25 km away
Nearby Attractions
Norham Castle
83 reviews
5.12 km away
The Elizabethan Walls
615 reviews
6.95 km away
Chain Bridge Honey Farm
571 reviews
1.31 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
bakedbean73
11 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Molly S | Property representative |
Dogs are allowed in the gardens if kept on leads and any refuse is removed. We have a dog friendly room attached to the tearoom for you to take shelter and enjoy a meal. Guide dogs are allowed in all areas of the house.
0
Votes
Laura P
5 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Molly S | Property representative |
You can cycle into the courtyard and car park but we would advise walking the tracks around the ground as they are gravel tracks and not ideal for bikes.
0
Votes
bronteUk
4 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Molly S | Property representative |
Yes ofcourse, we have an elevator to get a rollator to the first floor and a video for those who can't make the stairs to the second floor.
0
Votes