We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Creswell Crags

Crags Rd | Welbeck, Worksop S80 3LH, England
+44 1909 720378
Call
Website
Save
Review Highlights
A very interesting and informative visit

Go back into ancient history, see where the cavemen lived and the mammoths walked. Take the tour... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Doug H
Lost the plot at Creswell Crags

We visited Creswell Crags last weekend. First, we took a walk through the grounds which are quite... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
LeeFurness
,
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Read all 535 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Creswell Crags is a world famous archaeological site, a limestone gorge with caves and lake, home to Britain's only known Ice Age Cave Art. This art is thought to date to about 13,000 years ago and provide a glimpse into the rich culture and fascinating life of our distant relatives. Over 100 years of archaeological work at the site has unearthed stone tools and remains of animals providing evidence for a fascinating story of life during the last Ice Age.
  • Excellent60%
  • Very good31%
  • Average7%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“cave tour” (63 reviews)
“ice cave” (29 reviews)
“robin hood cave” (26 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
Hours Today: 10:00 AM - 4:30 PM
LOCATION
Crags Rd | Welbeck, Worksop S80 3LH, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1909 720378
Write a ReviewReviews (535)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 534 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Go back into ancient history, see where the cavemen lived and the mammoths walked. Take the tour around the caves, and the children can play in the park. There is a cafe, but slightly expensive. There is a nice gift shopMore

Thank Doug H
Creswell C, Public Relations Manager at Creswell Crags, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Doug, Thank you for taking the time to review the Crags, we appreciate all feedback we receive. We constantly strive to be competitive with our pricing, and so we will have a look at this with regard to the cafe. We look forward to...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visited Creswell Crags last weekend. First, we took a walk through the grounds which are quite spectacular and unique, though tame, great for kids and for people with mobility problems. Into the visitor centre/shop. I guess we had been expecting to go for a...More

Thank LeeFurness
Creswell C, Public Relations Manager at Creswell Crags, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Lee, Thank you for taking the time to review the Crags, we appreciate all feedback we receive. I'm sorry to hear you were disappointed with the celebration of our Rock Art. We do infact absolutely adore our art here at the Crags. We have...More

Reviewed 17 December 2017 via mobile

What a nice surprise. We were not sure what to expect but we had a great time. The art cave was closed due to bats nesting so we visited the Robin Hood cave instead with our guide, John. John was informative, fun and patient with...More

1  Thank Amelia C
Creswell C, Public Relations Manager at Creswell Crags, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Amelia, Thanks for your review - we appreciate all feedback we receive. We're very glad you had a lovely visit to us - we hope to see you again in the summer, when our Cave art Cave is reopen! (from March onwards!)

Reviewed 8 December 2017

Great to have a world class slice of history in Nottinghamshire. Beautiful, evocative setting. Poor interpretation in museum and children's activities very poor. However, an important site & natural history & play area an added bonus. Vegan options in café would be appreciated.

Thank hungryveganfamily
Creswell C, Public Relations Manager at Creswell Crags, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to review us, we appreciate all feedback we receive. We are in the process of updating our museum and the activities for children, if you have any suggestions, we would welcome them to kat.middleton@creswell-crags.org.uk

Reviewed 5 December 2017 via mobile

How is it I have lived in Notts and Derbys for 50 years and had not visited the crags. Fascinating tour of caves and centre. Really a must to visit such an important site.

Thank Simon B
Creswell C, Public Relations Manager at Creswell Crags, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

Hi Simon, thanks for your review. We appreciate all feedback we receive! We have a lot of people who are local who say they have never been to us - it's wonderful that you have now been! We hope to see you again!

Reviewed 28 November 2017 via mobile

I’ve been a few times in the past but not for a while. I know the basics are still the same( caves etc) but the whole experience seems so much better. It’s a lovely place to visit. My kids have been there on school trips...More

Thank TheOrallyman
Creswell C, Public Relations Manager at Creswell Crags, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Hi there, Firstly, we're so glad you have been more than once to us! Secondly, we are incredibly glad you're noticing changes, we are constantly trying to improve our services and facilities. We look forward to seeing you again soon, and thank you on your...More

Reviewed 24 November 2017

Such a fun day out bu all of the family. Would happily return. Looking forward to the walks, caves and the museam.

Thank Vxin
Creswell C, Public Relations Manager at Creswell Crags, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Hi there, thanks for the review - we appreciate all feedback! We would love to see you again, if there is any way we could help improve your experience and get that 5th star, please let us know.

Reviewed 16 November 2017

Stopped off at the Crags, visitor centre is really nice with coffee shop. We did not book a tour that we thought we just have walk around the lake depending on the weather you should get some good photos.

Thank Justathought2
Creswell C, Public Relations Manager at Creswell Crags, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Hi there, thanks for the review - we appreciate all feedback! We would love to see you again, if there is any way we could help improve your experience and get that 5th star, please let us know.

Reviewed 11 November 2017

Vastly improved from our first visit, 20+ years ago, Creswell crags are in a fantastic, tranquil, gorge. The caves are out of bounds, unless accompanied, quite rightly. The new (to us) experience centre, shop and cafe give a perfect complement to the Crags. The walk...More

1  Thank dick h
Creswell C, Public Relations Manager at Creswell Crags, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Hello! Thank you for taking the time to review us, we appreciate all feedback we receive. I'm so glad you enjoyed your visit more this time around - our visitors centre was newly built in 2009. We hope to see you again soon for your...More

Reviewed 7 November 2017

This is a Derbyshire Tourist experience that should not be missed. The Creswell Crags site is on the World Heritage intention list for good reason. There is so much to see including cave tours, visits to the meadow with its wildlife followed by a circuit...More

Thank Tom M
Creswell C, Public Relations Manager at Creswell Crags, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Hello Tom, Thank you for your wonderful review - we appreciate all feedback we receive. I'm so glad you enjoy our site, and we hope to see you again soon!

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 6 hotels in Worksop
Hotel van Dyk
470 reviews
4.61 km away
Ibis Chesterfield North
569 reviews
6.36 km away
Travelodge Worksop
189 reviews
6.38 km away
Dukeries Park Hotel
6 reviews
6.79 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Boot & Shoe , Whitwell
64 reviews
2.63 km away
Elm Tree Pub
503 reviews
3.13 km away
The Gate Hotel
23 reviews
3.87 km away
The Greendale Oak
479 reviews
4.34 km away
Nearby Attractions
Heist Craft
12 reviews
4.30 km away
Willow Tree Family Farm
252 reviews
6.18 km away
Sheffield Aero Club
13 reviews
6.54 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Gail H
7 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from tiarasparkle | Reviewed this property |
Yes however horse riders do go through there so you need to keep dog on the lead.
0
Votes
Jaz R
15 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from lucanor1 | Reviewed this property |
As others have answered, you have to pay for the caves. We live about 15 miles away, and first went for a walk, coffee and museum visit. This gave us the impression that we wanted to visit the caves as well, so we returned... More
0
Votes
Mary N
22 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from VirgoLady19 | Reviewed this property |
It depends on the season and the weather conditions - not all caves are accessible, but those that are, are only open when the conditions are right. If more than one is open, the guides will take you in.
0
Votes