We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Packhouse

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Tongham Road | Hewett's Kilns, Farnham GU10 1PJ, England
Phone Number:
+44 1252 781010
Website
Today
09:30 - 17:30
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 09:30 - 17:30
Sat - Sun 10:00 - 17:00
Description:

With so much more to offer than the high street, our ever-changing interior...

With so much more to offer than the high street, our ever-changing interior and lifestyle store is full of handpicked items to give your space some soul. ​ Set within the Surrey hills between Guildford and Farnham, our 400-year-old Grade II-listed building sells a huge variety of vintage, antique and one-off buys from furniture and interior finishing touches to gifts and fashion accessories. You won’t find a more diverse mix anywhere else. Next door is our super-stylish restaurant Bears, offering a locally sourced menu from coffee and breakfast to evening meals and everything in between. Parking is free and we also run craft workshops and events throughout the year. It's the ideal place to come for a browse, a catch up with friends, or some serious shopping. We change our stock every single day, so there’s always something new to see.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 107 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 49
    Excellent
  • 29
    Very good
  • 19
    Average
  • 5
    Poor
  • 4
    Terrible
Time to browse

Well worth a visit - I've been many times and it is always different. if you haven't been for a while then it has been updated but is still nice and quirky. Lots of little rooms... read more

Reviewed 20 March 2017
rosalin101
,
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

107 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 106: English reviews
Farnham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A great place to look for gifts or things for the house and then have a lovely lunch. The new Restaurant and menu is really good and sitting outside to eat was lovely although the metal tables and chairs weren't very comfortable and had bird poo on them! Other than that though it was lovely.

Helpful?
Thank JKFarnham
PackhouseTeam, Public Relations Manager at The Packhouse, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review and glad you had a lovely time. New tables and chairs arriving very soon, although sounds like we need to give the current ones a wipe - will get on the case! Thanks again. More 

Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2017

Well worth a visit - I've been many times and it is always different. if you haven't been for a while then it has been updated but is still nice and quirky. Lots of little rooms to visit.

Helpful?
Thank rosalin101
PackhouseTeam, Public Relations Manager at The Packhouse, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review - hope to see you again! More 

1 review
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Could not believe that you had to book a table for coffee, then as my friend and I were at the front of a queue in mid way of asking a question, the member of staff left us to speak to a regular customer who had obviously booked!, will not frequent this establishment again... very poor customer service

Helpful?
Thank Ali D
PackhouseTeam, Public Relations Manager at The Packhouse, responded to this review

Really very sorry to hear this, and please accept our apologies for your disappointment. It's true that we do get extremely busy, so booking is always advised, but being busy does not excuse poor customer service. We will pass on your comments to our restaurant, Bears, to make sure this doesn't happen again. More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2017 via mobile

Very Good Pub, nice furniture and open Fire Place. But Guinness is very expensive (4,50£) The Food was 😋 tasty.

Helpful?
Thank Alexander K
PackhouseTeam, Public Relations Manager at The Packhouse, responded to this review

Hi Alexander, I don't think this review was meant for us (we don't have an open fire, or Guinness!) But thank you anyway! More 

Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2017

The Packhouse is a wonderful barn crammed full of lovely interior decorations, lighting and furniture. Some antiques, genuine and faux vintage, recovered and repurposed items for your home and garden. All you need bring is your imagination, sense of style and you are away. I have visited the Packhouse several times over the last 18 months, each time I leave... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Foodielovefind
PackhouseTeam, Public Relations Manager at The Packhouse, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, and so pleased you enjoyed what you saw. Our apologies that you felt you had poor customer service. It's something we're constantly striving to get better at, and we do try our best to greet all our visitors, so I'm sorry you were missed on this occasion. However, we'll take your comments on board and... More 

Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2017

Fell across this place after a recommendation from a friend. It's now one of our favourite places to just go and browse on a rainy afternoon. Every time we go we find new items on sale, and have picked up a few fantastic pieces that we would never have considered buying beforehand. Some of the items are "vintage" which is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jamie I
PackhouseTeam, Public Relations Manager at The Packhouse, responded to this review

What a lovely review. Thank you, we really appreciate it! More 

Haslemere
Level Contributor
83 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2017

First time here. Lots of interesting articles for sale,lots of areas to browse with different levels to explore too. Some quite expensive items! The cafe area is light and airy. Service good with helpful staff. Only had light lunch which didn't give indication of all food. Fish cakes fair , could have done with more fish in them not so... More 

Helpful?
Thank Crispin55
PackhouseTeam, Public Relations Manager at The Packhouse, responded to this review

Thanks Crispin, we really appreciate your review. Feedback on fishcakes and 'facilities' taken on board. We hope you come back and see us again! More 

Farnborough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 February 2017

Wonderful selection of goods for sale spent an enjoyable hour browsing and buying, thought we would finish off with coffee and cakes, it was mid morning Monday and can only assume the cakes were the left overs from the weekend and stored in the fridge, they were hard and cold not light with creamy fillings as you would hope a... More 

Helpful?
Thank 351jen
PackhouseTeam, Public Relations Manager at The Packhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we're really glad you enjoyed your trip to Packhouse. Sincere apologies for your disappointment with the cakes at Bears, we're going to look into it to make sure it doesn't happen again. I hope you will come back again and we can impress you more next time. More 

Hindhead, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 February 2017

Wow! Not been to the Packhouse in almost a year and what a transformation. Beautifully put together with fabulous displays and lots of fantastic interior ideas to take home and ponder. Some fabulous finds and even the kids found things they thought we could find use for! Will be back again very soon

Helpful?
Thank katiegillett
PackhouseTeam, Public Relations Manager at The Packhouse, responded to this review

Thank you so much! Wonderful review, and we'll look forward to welcoming you back soon. More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2017

First taken by a friend and returned with my wife. A great place to visit for antiques and all sorts of collectables and items to furnish your home and garden. Lots of rooms. Friendly and helpful staff

Helpful?
Thank Clive R
PackhouseTeam, Public Relations Manager at The Packhouse, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review, and really pleased you've enjoyed your two visits! More 

Travellers who viewed The Packhouse also viewed

 

Been to The Packhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Packhouse staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?