We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cornish Riding Holidays

Features Animals
Wheal Buller Riding School Buller Hill | Buller Hill, Redruth TR16 6SS, England
+44 1209 211852
Call
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Hack and private lesson

Excellent experience, three of our party went on a hack on very well behaved horses that were... read more

Reviewed 28 August 2017
123AAS
,
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Not very helpful

We went on a 2 hour morning ride and it wasn't very organised, we weren't sure who we were riding... read more

Reviewed 29 July 2017
Indius18
,
Hereford, United Kingdom
Read all 91 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Riding Lessons, in dressage, side saddle, showjumping and cross country.Hacking around Carn Brea Castle and along the World Heritage Site of the Mineral Tramways.Riding Holidays for unaccompanied children and families during school holidays and adults during term time. Association of British Riding School, Ofsted, Quality Tourism and Club Mark Approved. All our staff are qualified, CRB checked and 1st Aid trained. All ages and abilities welcome. Shortlisted for Cornwall Tourism Awards for 2012.
  • Excellent92%
  • Very good2%
  • Average2%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“wheal buller” (46 reviews)
“cross country” (19 reviews)
“beach ride” (9 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
LOCATION
Wheal Buller Riding School Buller Hill | Buller Hill, Redruth TR16 6SS, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1209 211852
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2017

Excellent experience, three of our party went on a hack on very well behaved horses that were allocated according to experience. It was so good we returned the following day for a private lesson that proved to be equally fantastic with a really positive and...More

Thank 123AAS
janetalison, Owner at Cornish Riding Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Sorry, Trip Advisor are no longer notifying me when a review is posted, so I was unaware of your review and that is why I have taken so long to reply. Thank you so much for taking the trouble to write this review it is...More

Reviewed 29 July 2017

We went on a 2 hour morning ride and it wasn't very organised, we weren't sure who we were riding out with as there was a swimming with horses group leaving at the same time and even though we said we were novices and didn't...More

Thank Indius18
janetalison, Owner at Cornish Riding Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

I am so pleased you enjoyed your hack and encountered no problems despite the foul weather, I think it is fair to say we have some of the best hacking in Cornwall. Your girth was tightened and checked in the yard by a member of...More

Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

I honestly don't know where to begin... I have been riding at this riding school since I was 13/14 and wouldn't change for the world. When I first went to Cornish riding holidays at 13 I could ride but not very well due to an...More

Thank Laurg123
janetalison, Owner at Cornish Riding Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2017

Thank you so much for your glowing review. I am pleased you are still enjoying your riding and I hope you continue to do so.

Reviewed 20 July 2017 via mobile

I took part in three rides this week, a morning ride, an afternoon ride and an all day ride. In each of these rides, the leader had difficulties with their horse. The first lead horse had a strong fear of cycles which we met frequently...More

Thank SMW2009Uk
janetalison, Owner at Cornish Riding Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2017

I am so sorry things didn't work out the way you had hoped if only you had mentioned this to myself or my daughter as we were both in the office every day, or even to a member of staff then perhaps we could have...More

Reviewed 1 June 2017 via mobile

When we went to st Ives we called to this Riding Stables. Even though a little paint and fixing can be seen on the whole a lovely place. The instructor was very patient and gave lots of time to my family and wife and the...More

Thank arthur1914
janetalison, Owner at Cornish Riding Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2017

Thank you for your review I am so pleased you enjoyed yourself and you were well treated by my staff. The painting you are talking about is on a container that I bought believing to be new and almost immediately it arrived the paint started...More

Reviewed 4 May 2017 via mobile

Me and my friend came down to Wheal Buller to stay for a couple of days of riding holiday. I have been doing pony club holidays there since I was a child, first going down in 2010 and have had the best horses and ponies...More

1  Thank Gemma A
janetalison, Owner at Cornish Riding Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

Thank you for your lovely review I will pass this on to our staff. Hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

My 8 year old, horse obsessed daughter thoroughly enjoyed her pony day here. Wasn't quite as the itinerary but she enjoyed none the less.

Thank MaryJ18
janetalison, Owner at Cornish Riding Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

Thank you for your review, very happy your daughter enjoyed herself. There are only two reasons the itinerary is changed the main one being for safety due to riders age or experience and of course very bad weather. Hope to see you again. Best wishes

Reviewed 5 April 2017

Came for a 2 hour hack, as a novice rider I was told I would be on a 'safe cob'. My horse kept stopping to eat grass throughout the ride. Each time I pulled the reins and kicked to push her on, as instructed, she...More

Thank weekendpants
janetalison, Owner at Cornish Riding Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2017

We are so sorry you didn't enjoy your hack and had you have spoken to us at the time we would have offered you another hack on a different pony. The pony you were riding is ridden by all our novice and beginner children and...More

Reviewed 8 February 2017

I have been to Wheal Buller twice now, both for riding holidays over the summer. The staff are all lovely and always do their best to keep everyone happy, whilst maintaining a high level of safety. The activities available to participate in are a once...More

Thank janemnor
janetalison, Owner at Cornish Riding Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2017

Thank you so much, the staff and myself really appreciate your views and you taking the trouble to write them. You have odiously put a great deal of thought into your comments and I find it quite touching. We look forward to seeing you again...More

Reviewed 6 November 2016

I travelled with my friend for a week's children's riding holiday in summer. The horses were fantastic- any swaps requested were allowed ( I think I rode 6 horses!) and everyone can fin a horse to suit them. We crammed in so much riding each...More

1  Thank evangelineknapman
janetalison, Owner at Cornish Riding Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2016

Thank you so much for your kind words. We do try and make sure everyone has a good time. We think it is important for the horses to participate in a variety of activities and to be turned out to socialise each day and I...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Lanner Inn
5 reviews
1.76 km away
Carn Brea Castle
252 reviews
1.55 km away
Morrish's Fish Restaurant
292 reviews
1.36 km away
Home Ground Coffee Shop
22 reviews
2.02 km away
Nearby Attractions
East Pool Mine
104 reviews
3.08 km away
Heartlands
207 reviews
3.37 km away
JUMP 4 Trampoline Park
62 reviews
2.68 km away
King Edward Mine Museum
88 reviews
3.69 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
AngieGem
25 January 2016|
Answer
Response from janetalison | Property representative |
We no longer provide accommodation for adults for children it is 4 to a room with en -suite facilities. Aults stay mat local B&B's and cottages all within easy walking distance.
0
Votes