We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Discover Amazonia

Features Animals
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Strathclyde Country Park, Motherwell ML1 3RT, Scotland
Phone Number:
+44 1698 333777
Website

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 110 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 21
    Excellent
  • 35
    Very good
  • 28
    Average
  • 13
    Poor
  • 13
    Terrible
Review

Amazonia is nice day out, wasn't too busy so you had plenty space for viewing the animals. Only thing was the animal handling was a little crowded which was due to the little kids... read more

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 weeks ago
Fraser H
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

110 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 110: English reviews
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Amazonia is nice day out, wasn't too busy so you had plenty space for viewing the animals. Only thing was the animal handling was a little crowded which was due to the little kids jumping about and not giving enough space for others which again couldn't helped

Helpful?
Thank Fraser H
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went along with friends as they suggested to go. Wasn't as big as I imagined but size isn't everything. We all took some fab pics and spent a good hour or two in there. Probably wouldn't go back as I feel I've seen it now.. but none the less. Can't remember it being overly expensive at the time either so... More 

Helpful?
Thank James C
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2017 via mobile

absolutely terrible visit went to play golf and it was closed and not informed of this on website arrived and decided to go to amazonia instead paid our £36 and were sent to a shed that was poorly kept and animals were in very small enclosures specifically eric the Burmese python who is a big boy and was in a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jassy F
Discover_Amazonia, Manager at Discover Amazonia, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on Amazonia. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your visit and would like to explain some of the points you have made. Our Burmese python, Eric, is housed in an enclosure that measures 8 foot (length) x 8 foot (height) x 4 foot (depth). Snakes generally require an enclosure length that measures... More 

Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2016

Great day out. We had a kids birthday party here and couldn't fault it. The interaction part is amazing. A great range of animals!

Helpful?
Thank Claire M
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

Didn't plan on going but arrived too early for m and d's. Glad we did, very friendly and helpful staff.

Helpful?
1 Thank littlekev1974
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

We visited here and the kids loved all the monkeys I didn't like walking under the ant walkway but it was good to watch

Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah A
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2016

Great experience especially for the grand kids. Many thanks to all very professional staff, many thanks to Kelly from M&D's theme park.

Helpful?
1 Thank cpoole105
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2016

I would not plan to visit for anywhere over 30 mins. Very small. However, the animals are very interesting and look very well cared for. Really interesting nocturnal section and I loved the free flying toucan. All in all, I loved every bit of it except that I was done in less than 30 minutes and that included attending one... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 865sm865
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

Visited here with my 2 toddlers and they loved it. There was all kinds of different animals and creepy crawlies to see, with very informative signs attached to each one. The talking macaws were very entertaining and the nocturnal den provided that something different. We paid £1 extra for the handling session, which was well worth it. The kids had... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank mammafox85
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

I went with my husband and daughter and we had an wonderful time. It is very small although is very nice. Handling session is a must. The staff knows what they are talking about and the kids just love to be able to touch the snakes!

Helpful?
Thank Rebeca G

Travellers who viewed Discover Amazonia also viewed

Motherwell, North Lanarkshire
Motherwell, North Lanarkshire
 
Motherwell, North Lanarkshire
 

Been to Discover Amazonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Discover Amazonia and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Discover Amazonia staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?