We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Chaudanne BP 17, 73550 Meribel, Les Allues, France
Phone Number:
+33 4 79 08 60 31
Website
Today
09:00 - 19:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 09:00 - 19:00

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 83 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 13
    Excellent
  • 9
    Very good
  • 6
    Average
  • 5
    Poor
  • 6
    Terrible
Good private lessons over lunchtime

We left booking lessons rather late. Though not listed on the website, there was a good offer for five 1.5 hour lessons over lunchtime for €380. This avoided the 9am rush, the... read more

Reviewed 5 April 2016
Malcolm M
,
Northumberland
Add Photo Write a Review

83 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 39: English reviews
Woking, Surrey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2017

We had ski lessons in the group for 6 mornings and the school was efficient and dealt well with all of us and our children. They start promptly at 9.15am so plan to be there for 9am and a little earlier on the first morning to get into the right group. There were times we did not get back at... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steve_105
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2017

We signed up our child to the piu piu 3 hour morning lessons. Everyone seemed very amicable and positive at first. I let the admission know that my child spoke English. They assured me that everything would be alright. I stayed to see how they teach little kids to ski. To my surprise they rarely paid any attention at my... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kistra
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
234 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2017

I treated myself to a one to one private advanced lesson for 2.5 hours on our third day, once I had my ski legs back! Two charming ladies arranged the lesson the day before. I had a panick as I decided to warm my legs up and take the chairlift to the top of Mottaret.. the chair lift stopped for... More 

Helpful?
Thank hjohnnacepilot50
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2017 via mobile

Sent my 4 year old to piou piou, looked amazing. And it would have been if the instructors, didn't shout at him in French and drag him by the scruff of the neck around the slope. They struggle with so many kids crammed in, and find it hard to make it fun for them. All I really wanted was my... More 

Helpful?
Thank lindfieldmummy
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviewed 23 December 2016

I've been critical of ESF Meribel office staff in the past (however the ski instructors have always been great) but what a huge improvement it was dealing with them today. We spoke with Jenny (in English) at the Meribel OT office. Over the past 10 years we've probably booked 60 weeks of ski lessons / summer kids club with ESF... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andrew J
DirectionESF, Responsable commercial at ESF Vallee de Meribel, responded to this review

Dear Andrew, Many thanks for your message. We are glad to have Jenny with us at Meribel ESF. We hope to welcome you again very soon in Meribel, Merry xmas from all of us at ESF Meribel More 

1 review
Reviewed 6 April 2016

I booked afternoon lessons for 3-8 April 2016. I was alone and so had six private lessons for the cost of six group lessons. Well Done to ESF for not cancelling or rescheduling. You deserve some good publicity.

Helpful?
Thank Ian L
Northumberland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2016

We left booking lessons rather late. Though not listed on the website, there was a good offer for five 1.5 hour lessons over lunchtime for €380. This avoided the 9am rush, the slopes seemed less crowded at lunchtime and the snow was usually better for novices. A party of 4: two adults and two children, our instructor (Fabien Berrotte) was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Malcolm M
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2016 via mobile

My husband and I had 'basic' ski lessons with the fantastic ski instructor Ludovine. This is the lesson after beginners and our 2nd ski holiday. Each day Ludi pushed us that little bit further-her energy and enthusiasm were a delight and we looked forward to each morning despite aching limbs. We came on in leaps and bounds and would recommend... More 

Helpful?
Thank Clare F
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
809 reviews
524 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2016 via mobile

We signed my cousin up to classes at Ront point with ESF. My cousin was a complete beginner and we booked him into a English speaking 6-12yr old class. Sadly when we got there and his class was full of 5-7yr olds mainly all French. Throughout the 6day course my cousin was barely spoken to all week by the instructor... More 

Helpful?
Thank cg2792
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2016 via mobile

Been to several ESF schools which have been excellent and this is by far the worst Disorganised, late leaving early to finish Only highlight is Renard who's a star

Helpful?
1 Thank Dr3w66
DirectionESF, Responsable commercial at ESF Vallee de Meribel, responded to this review

Dear Dr3w66, Many thanks for your message. Are you sure you were with ESF? We do not have any ski instructor named Renard. Feel free to get in touch commercial@esf-meribel.com Best regards, The ESF Team More 

Travellers who viewed ESF Vallee de Meribel also viewed

 

Been to ESF Vallee de Meribel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from ESF Vallee de Meribel staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?