We thoroughly enjoyed our tour with Alex. The house has a fascinating history and a visit to this historic site is a fun day outing while visiting Colonial Williamsburg.
The Castle provides Guided Tours, Gift Shopping, & Tourist Information...
The Castle provides Guided Tours, Gift Shopping, & Tourist Information on Mondays, Fridays, and Saturdays between 10 a.M. And 5 p.M. And Sundays between 12 and 5 p.M. Grounds are open 365 days a year between dawn and dusk.
Built in 1665, Bacon's Castle, originally known as the Arthur Allen Brick House, is British North America's oldest brick structure, North America's only surviving example of Jacobean Architecture, and has North America's oldest, preserved 17th-century English Formal Garden. Since 1973, Preservation Virginia restores, preserves, and presents the 40-acre historic site as a museum. The Site has a gift shop, restrooms, tourist information desk, guided house tours, Oldest Tidewater Virginia Barn (early-18th-century), 1850s Smokehouse, 1829/1849 Slave Quarters, and self-guided grounds and garden tours. Preservation Virginia's Bacon's Castle is proud to announce it is a Virginia Green certified Attraction and encourages others to participate in responsible practices. The grounds are accessible 364 days of the year between dawn and dusk.