We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Junction of Hwy 8 & 47, Rhinelander, WI 54501
Phone Number:
+1 715-369-7500
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 21 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 14
  • 5
    Very good
  • 1
  • 1
  • 0
Fund raising event

Attended Wilderness River Cruise for a fund raiser. Patty was pleasant and the cruise staff also. Food (samples of cheeses, crackers, olives provided by Wild instincts... read more

Reviewed 15 November 2016
Rhinelander, Wisconsin
via mobile

Similar Things to Do in Rhinelander

Add Photo Write a Review

21 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 21: English reviews
Rhinelander, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2016 via mobile

Attended Wilderness River Cruise for a fund raiser. Patty was pleasant and the cruise staff also. Food (samples of cheeses, crackers, olives provided by Wild instincts volunteers).I would recommend the cruise, as it does go down the beautiful Wisconsin River.

Thank wifeofdcalumni
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Not meant to be derogatory, but this cruise is an opportunity for those people who do not live or rent on a lake or river but would like to see miles of undeveloped shoreline. The pace is slow and quiet which keeps the shore birds near and very viewable. We love it and often take our visitors there.

Thank Mohawksin
Level Contributor
136 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2016

We did a brunch cruise, It would have been much better had there NOT been a brunch, we didn't get the main part of the meal until well after the half way turn around of the boat, which bout an hour after the meal started. Coffee was poor, but at least it wasn't hot. Did I mention this is a... More 

Thank jaspermunch
Patty Z, Owner at Wisconsin River Cruises, responded to this review

I am sorry your experience was not good. We strive to make everyone's visit aboard the Wilderness Queen a pleasant one. I do have to explain that we do allow our brunch cruise to be spread out for people to enjoy the fresh fruits and home made cinnamon rolls before we bring the main meal of made to order omelets... More 

Merrill, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
105 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

We just finished a brunch cruise and had a great time. Omelette to order were very tasty. We probably hit the best weather imaginable and the fall colors were gorgeous!!

1 Thank Jeff S
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

Had our employee party. What a great time!! Our numbers were lower than we expected, but Patti and her crew hooked us up!! Dinner was fantastic, drinks were good and her magic man Zach was funny!! Just wanted to give a big thank you to all of them!! Patti, Capt. Todd, Tim and Zach!! Can't wait till next time!! Hugs!!

1 Thank Tracy H
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2016

Unfortunately our reservations were cancelled due to low numbers and rough water but Patty kept us well informed. Not only did they issue a full refund, they left us a gift certificate to an awesome restaurant for our trouble. That level of service will have us definitely come back and try again. Thank you!

1 Thank Ann K
Patty Z, Owner at Wisconsin River Cruises, responded to this review

Ann, Thank you for being so understanding and we look forward to seeing you in the future. I spoke with Tracy & Wes yesterday making sure you were taken care of and they assured me you were. See you soon! Patty More 

Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

We never knew this was here. We googled things to do in Rhinelander and this came up. We had done the same thing in Wisconsin Dells on the Wisconsin River. This boat was much nicer than the one in the dells. The price was much more reasonable. The diner and entertainment was good. We spent most of our time on... More 

Thank Dawn G
Rhinelander, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2016

I've been three times and love every time. There is always some wildlife to photograph. The booze offered is also a plus! Highly recommend if you like boat rides.

1 Thank ksilvermoon
Level Contributor
98 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2016

I went here offseason in June and it was a lovely cruise down the Wisconsin river. The capt/guide was really great and grew up in the area so lots of personal knowledge. Saw an eagle next with young eagle looking for mom to come home with supper and also later saw mom taking a rest at the top of a... More 

3 Thank Rempt2
Belvidere, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2016 via mobile

We went on the Saturday night Prime Rib dinner cruise over July 4th weekend. What a delight! Perfect weather, river like glass, superb dinner. Loved the music by Mr. Dan. And one of the owners daughters and servers sang a few songs. Only thing that was missing was dessert. And we tried ordering one of the after dinner specialty drinks... More 

1 Thank Cubflyer626
Patty Z, Owner at Wisconsin River Cruises, responded to this review

Thank you so much! It was a wonderful evening with everyone. I do apologize for not having dessert available or the after dinner drink ingredients. Take care and have a great summer! We look forward to you cruising with us again. More 

Travellers who viewed Wisconsin River Cruises also viewed


Been to Wisconsin River Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Wisconsin River Cruises staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?