We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Historic Sheridan Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 856 Broadway St, Sheridan, WY 82801-3623
Phone Number:
+1 307-674-2178
Website
Description:

Constructed in 1892, the Historic Sheridan Inn gave adventurous travelers a...

Constructed in 1892, the Historic Sheridan Inn gave adventurous travelers a taste of Eastern luxury in the West. Through the years, the Inn has remained a hub of activity, offering elegant New Year's Eve balls and the town's first electric lights. Buffalo Bill Cody sat on the front porch of the Inn auditioning acts to join the "Buffalo Bill's Wild West Show." The Inn is on the National Register of Historic Places. In October 2013, Bob and Dana Townsend became the newest owners of the Inn, bringing 21st century luxury to the 19th century building. The Inn is now open for overnight stays, banquets and tours. Lunch and dinner are also served in the Open Range Restaurant.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 123 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 91
    Excellent
  • 20
    Very good
  • 5
    Average
  • 2
    Poor
  • 3
    Terrible
Fine food, great service, in a historic setting.

The Historic Sheridan Inn (to distinguish it from the other Sheridan Inn, downtown), has been rescued several times from the wrecking ball. In 1969, Neltje bought it and reopened... read more

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 weeks ago
BlueStone2251
,
Sheridan, Wyoming
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

123 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 121: English reviews
Sheridan, Wyoming
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The Historic Sheridan Inn (to distinguish it from the other Sheridan Inn, downtown), has been rescued several times from the wrecking ball. In 1969, Neltje bought it and reopened the restaurant & bar, while refurbishing & repurposing rooms. Later, the Sheridan Historical Society would raise money for roof & foundation repairs & stabilization. The current owners have used their HVAC... More 

Helpful?
Thank BlueStone2251
Summerville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
233 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2017

Our lunch stop during our tour of national parks was quite the disappointment. The restaurant was not ready for us, there was not enough food for the group, Reuben sandwiches were burnt, soup was akin to dishwater, etc., etc., etc.

Helpful?
Thank Fred M
buffalobobWyoming, Owner at The Historic Sheridan Inn, responded to this review

Fred, we appreciate your review, however....your bus tour contracts with Open Range restaurant, not with the Sheridan Inn. The Sheridan Inn has nothing to do with the contract, food or bus line choices for meals. We hope your National Park trip was memorable. More 

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

Most amazing food and people you could ask for! The 3rd floor has games, coffee, and homemade crockpot meals for special occasions! 😍

Helpful?
Thank Kristin W
Sheridan, Wyoming
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2016

The food is really good here. It's a bit off the beaten track, so never that busy - always easy to get in.They offer a good variety - something lighter for lunch and then a really nice dinner menu. It's our favorite place to go out for dinner.

Helpful?
Thank sleonard69
Spokane
Level Contributor
99 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2016

My husband remembered the Sheridan Inn from a summer job 53 years ago! We were happy to see that it has been restored (spendidly) and is open again. We enjoyed cocktails at the historic bar while I listened to his reminiscences. A happy afternoon.

Helpful?
Thank Discerning67
Kingwood, TX, United States
Level Contributor
106 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

We went there to eat. Food was great waitresses were also nice. I am vegetarian and they help me a lot. My dinner was very good. My wife also liked hers. I hope they they do not change their workmanship.

Helpful?
Thank John B
ULVERSTON
Level Contributor
197 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2016

This is a nice hotel and has been kept really well with the original bar intact. We had a meal there and really enjoyed it. You can just go in and have a look around

Helpful?
Thank DILLICHIP
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
323 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2016

We were coming to The Sheridan Inn for lunch on our Caravan Bus Tour. We were served in the dining room and listened to a lecture by a gentleman dressed in Buffalo Bill like attire. The history of the Inn and the locale were explained to us as well as the history of Buffalo Bill who called the Sheridan Inn... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alain L
arizona, british columbia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2016

we love to stay here - a bit more pricey than the generic chains but such a nice change in a long road trip

Helpful?
Thank elderlyones
Wilsonville, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
124 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2016

My wife and I had dinner here while staying overnight in Sheridan. A couple of things could have made this a wonderful dining experience, but three starts is all I can give it during our experience. Their prices are not too high, but high enought that a salad should be included in the price. I know that isn't done a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rbaird_12

Travellers who viewed The Historic Sheridan Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Historic Sheridan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Historic Sheridan Inn and other visitors
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Historic Sheridan Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?