We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Historic Sheridan Inn

856 Broadway St, Sheridan, WY 82801-3623
+1 307-674-2178
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Visit if just for the history and ambiance

We were on a walking tour of the city and stopped at this historic 1893 inn. Buffalo Bills Cody... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Pnemiller
,
Kutztown, Pennsylvania
via mobile
Quick tour lunch stop

Caravan Tours provided a quick lunch stop at this historic hotel. The food was a buffet sandwich... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
BusterYukon
,
Florence, Alabama
via mobile
Read all 127 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Constructed in 1892, the Historic Sheridan Inn gave adventurous travelers a taste of Eastern luxury in the West. Through the years, the Inn has remained a hub of activity, offering elegant New Year's Eve balls and the town's first electric lights. Buffalo Bill Cody sat on the front porch of the Inn auditioning acts to join the "Buffalo Bill's Wild West Show." The Inn is on the National Register of Historic Places. In October 2013, Bob and Dana Townsend became the newest owners of the Inn, bringing 21st century luxury to the 19th century building. The Inn is now open for overnight stays, banquets and tours. Lunch and dinner are also served in the Open Range Restaurant.
  • Excellent74%
  • Very good18%
  • Average5%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“buffalo bill” (12 reviews)
“open range” (10 reviews)
“original bar” (6 reviews)
LOCATION
856 Broadway St, Sheridan, WY 82801-3623
CONTACT
Website
+1 307-674-2178
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

We were on a walking tour of the city and stopped at this historic 1893 inn. Buffalo Bills Cody owned it for awhile and auditioned acts for his show from the front porch. Interesting old furnishings, arifacts throughout the hotel. Feel like you are in...More

Thank Pnemiller
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Caravan Tours provided a quick lunch stop at this historic hotel. The food was a buffet sandwich (ham and turkey) meal with salad and chips, and fresh peach parfait. Not a bad lunch meal. We also were entertained by a Buffalo Bill Cody impersonator who...More

1  Thank BusterYukon
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Chicken fried chicken was tasty but a little undercooked. Bread pudding desert was a glob of brown sugar and not much bread. The interior is a really great historical building. Worth a appetizer or drink to see it but not for the cost of a...More

1  Thank Matthew R
Reviewed 23 May 2017

We love to eat at the Sheridan Inn because of the historic building. Just love the atmosphere. But the food is up to par with the renovation. Excellent fillet and grilled asparagus.

Thank Elaine S
Reviewed 20 March 2017

I loved our two nights at the Historic Sheridan Inn while my husband and I were in town for business. The rates were very reasonable, and the rooms were just lovely. While our first night was in a queen room, we asked to move into...More

Thank Judy C
Reviewed 31 January 2017 via mobile

The Historic Sheridan Inn (to distinguish it from the other Sheridan Inn, downtown), has been rescued several times from the wrecking ball. In 1969, Neltje bought it and reopened the restaurant & bar, while refurbishing & repurposing rooms. Later, the Sheridan Historical Society would raise...More

Thank BlueStone2251
Reviewed 15 January 2017

Our lunch stop during our tour of national parks was quite the disappointment. The restaurant was not ready for us, there was not enough food for the group, Reuben sandwiches were burnt, soup was akin to dishwater, etc., etc., etc.

Thank Fred M
buffalobobWyoming, Owner at The Historic Sheridan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2017

Fred, we appreciate your review, however....your bus tour contracts with Open Range restaurant, not with the Sheridan Inn. The Sheridan Inn has nothing to do with the contract, food or bus line choices for meals. We hope your National Park trip was memorable.

Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

Most amazing food and people you could ask for! The 3rd floor has games, coffee, and homemade crockpot meals for special occasions! 😍

Thank Kristin W
Reviewed 6 December 2016

The food is really good here. It's a bit off the beaten track, so never that busy - always easy to get in.They offer a good variety - something lighter for lunch and then a really nice dinner menu. It's our favorite place to go...More

Thank sleonard69
Reviewed 26 October 2016

My husband remembered the Sheridan Inn from a summer job 53 years ago! We were happy to see that it has been restored (spendidly) and is open again. We enjoyed cocktails at the historic bar while I listened to his reminiscences. A happy afternoon.

1  Thank Discerning67
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Rib & Chop House
682 reviews
.12 km away
Wyoming Cattle and Creek Company
152 reviews
.77 km away
Cowboy Cafe
170 reviews
.89 km away
Open Range
191 reviews
.00 km away
Nearby Attractions
King's Saddlery and Museum
181 reviews
.83 km away
Trail End State Historic Site
59 reviews
1.10 km away
The Blacktooth Brewing Company
44 reviews
.63 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
David E
Any accessible rooms with roll-in shower? Looks like an awesome Inn! Thanks!
23 April 2016|
Answer Show all 3 answers
Response from Ron S | Reviewed this property |
Best thing to do is Call the Historic Sheridan Inn and ask. They would be a faster and more persise on what they have available. But good question. I personally have never seen a roll in shower. Good luck.
0
Votes
iTomdw
Hi, is the online contact form or reservation system not working? no response at all ...
27 February 2016|
Answer Show all 3 answers
Response from Lori Z | Reviewed this property |
Hi, Lori. Answer this traveler's question here.Unsure, I booked directly by phone with the front desk
0
Votes
3215267
What are the prices for 2 seniors and 2 children 10 and 12. How about a well behaved dog?
26 June 2015|
Answer Show all 3 answers
Response from Redgrade100 | Property representative |
There are plenty of choices when it comes to rooms for four people. Medical pets are allowed but no others. The prices are all listed on the website sheridaninn com
0
Votes