We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kai Kanani Sailing Charters

Features Animals
Open Now: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Open today: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Save
Share

Kai Kanani Sailing Charters
Booking unavailable on TripAdvisor

Want similar options you can book now?
514
All photos (514)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent87%
  • Very good9%
  • Average2%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“sunset cruise”(115 reviews)
“early morning”(137 reviews)
“turtle town”(277 reviews)
About
Kai Kanani Sailing Charters is the only South Maui charter to offer daily departures from Makena/South Maui. From this location, it only takes 15 minutes to sail to Molokini Crater, which means less time on the open water and more time snorkeling...more
Open Now
Hours Today: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
See all hours
Contact
5400 Makena Alanui, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8435
Website
+1 808-879-7218
Call
Reviews (1,427)
There are newer reviews for Kai Kanani Sailing Charters
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
1,404 results
Traveller rating
1,219
125
33
15
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
1,219
125
33
15
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunset cruiseearly morningturtle townexpress tourmolokini cratercaptain anthonymorning expressfishdeluxe tourmakena beachsecond stopsea turtlesmolokini expresssnorkel tripbeautiful boatmai taisboogie boards
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
21 - 30 of 1,404 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2018 via mobile

These guys were amazing, right from the get go. Seas were a little rougher than desired, but the crew we able to accommodate any weather situation. Super helpful with snorkeling in the water for anyone that needed some help of confidence. They took us to...More

Thank Sammcg281
David T, Public Relations Manager at Kai Kanani Sailing Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2018

Aloha Sam! First of all, thanks very much for the review. Second, sorry about the seasickness! It can make a day rough. But we're so glad you still had a good time. Our crew are experts at helping the seasick passenger! Hope we see you...More

Reviewed 15 July 2018

Professional crew and fun as well. Be prepared to get wet from the start as you have to wade out to the catamaran. The trip starts with course 1 of a 3 course breakfast and a cruise out to Molokini (sp). The snorkeling is good....More

Thank s0krm0m
David T, Public Relations Manager at Kai Kanani Sailing Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2018

Aloha! Glad you had a good time! It's our pleasure to have you out and all the other families that come out with us every day! Mahalo!

Reviewed 11 July 2018

Waking up at sunrise and heading out to the ocean is half the fun of the trip. It's a beautiful hour--the lighting and calm is alluring. The boat and crew are friendly and top class. The food is meh. Being up early before the other...More

Thank blungld200
David T, Public Relations Manager at Kai Kanani Sailing Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

Aloha! Thank you for the review and the kind words. We're spoiled with incredible sunrises here on Maui. Thanks so much for enjoying one with us. Mahalo!

Reviewed 10 July 2018

Thoroughly enjoyed our experience on this tour. I would recommend the earliest possible morning tour (we had a 5:40am pick up). Boat had less passengers and crater was less crowded which provided for a more enjoyable snorkeling experience. Crew was fantastic - especially since this...More

Thank Ashley M
David T, Public Relations Manager at Kai Kanani Sailing Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

Aloha Ashley, Thanks so much for the review! Love that morning trip. I was out this morning, it was incredible. Guests kept saying, "Is this normal? The whole crater alone?" Nope... just the Kai Kanani Sunrise Deluxe. You nailed it! Hope we see you out...More

Reviewed 6 July 2018 via mobile

Terrific trip for the whole family (16, 14, 10 year old kids). Had a beautiful weather day, beautiful boat, terrific crew (Captain Will, Teddy, Australian girl 😊, Kiki, josh and apologies for not remembering the other girls and guys name, but you were great! )....More

Thank regsf5
David T, Public Relations Manager at Kai Kanani Sailing Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2018

Aloha! Thanks so much for the review! And a big mahalo nui loa for recommending Kai Kanani to you friends and family. It is the highest compliment you can give. We’ll do our best to give them the best day of their vacations. Mahalo!

Reviewed 3 July 2018 via mobile

This Molokini snorkel tour is a very poor experience. Not the snorkeling, but the boat entry, a very over-crowded boat and a generally third class experience as a result. Almost no place to sit on the boat as they jam in to max capacity. This...More

1  Thank OftenTravelling
David T, Public Relations Manager at Kai Kanani Sailing Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2018

Aloha OftenTravelling, First off, we're very sorry your expectations weren't met. Though our boat is licensed to hold 80, we limit our passenger load to 60. During high season, the Signature Deluxe trip does sell out nearly every day, which is less than ideal for...More

Reviewed 30 June 2018 via mobile

My daughter and I had a great time on the deluxe snorkel trip. The boat and staff were great and we had a fun tour. We had two 30-40 minute snorkels at both Molokini and a spot near shore where we saw three sea turtles...More

Thank dakotajon
David T, Public Relations Manager at Kai Kanani Sailing Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Aloha Dakota! Thanks so much for the review! Hope you come out with us again soon!

Reviewed 29 June 2018 via mobile

Very friendly staff! Fantastic food...healthy, delicious,and plenty for all. Disappointed with ride- not much of a sailboat. Why not? No explanation, heard sail was ripped. Then why advertise a sailboat ride? Little white sail for 10 minutes? Come on crew, fix the sail,figure this out...More

Thank Timsatripping
David T, Public Relations Manager at Kai Kanani Sailing Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Aloha Tim, We're glad you had a good time with the food and the crew. We're sorry about the sail! The tour before yours, we had one of the battens in the mainsail break while tacking and because we didn't have time between trips to...More

Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

The crew was absolutely fantastic! Captain Will ran an efficient crew with amazing service. Fred was informative about Hawaii and Jake was a master in the kitchen. Sarah worked her hiny off walking up and down the stairs helping everyone with their equipment. Mallory was...More

Thank Megann H
David T, Public Relations Manager at Kai Kanani Sailing Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Aloha Megann! Thank you for the review! We'll pass on your compliments to the crew members you mentioned. (Just want to clarify for readers of this review, we do not offer scuba onboard but only snorkeling.) We hope you come out again the next time...More

Reviewed 25 June 2018

Our family came together on the island of Maui for the a week and reached out to Kai Kanani II staff to help with developing our visit. The staff was exception from the moment we confirmed our trip to the second we were back on...More

1  Thank keaneakao
David T, Public Relations Manager at Kai Kanani Sailing Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Aloha keaneakao, It was a pleasure having you and your family on board, and thank you for the kind review. Please let us know when you're coming next! We'd love to have you all out again. Mahalo!

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 54 hotels in Maui
Residence Inn by Marriott Maui Wailea
342 reviews
.34 km away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
7,283 reviews
1.17 km away
Andaz Maui At Wailea Resort
3,195 reviews
1.20 km away
Wailea Beach Resort - Marriott, Maui
866 reviews
1.24 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 1,032 restaurants in Maui
Honolulu Cookie Company - The Shops at Wailea
248 reviews
.93 km away
Monkeypod Kitchen
5,268 reviews
.08 km away
Honolulu Coffee
244 reviews
.87 km away
Matteo's Osteria
990 reviews
.35 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 1,189 attractions in Maui
Wailea Beach
1,707 reviews
1.08 km away
Little Beach
448 reviews
.85 km away
The Shops at Wailea
523 reviews
.98 km away
Wailea Tennis Club
60 reviews
.57 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Avanti P
3 May 2018|
Answer
Response from Fred P | Reviewed this property |
I have no idea. They are very friendly and willing to help so I’d say it’s worth a telephone call or email to them.
0
Votes
Voyager809411
18 April 2018|
Answer
Response from DavidT10074 | Property representative |
Aloha, We'd be happy to answer any question you have about our tours!
0
Votes
roburg
2 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from DavidT10074 | Property representative |
Aloha roburg, We no longer offer the "Express" 2 hour tour. Our morning tour is now called the Sunrise Deluxe, which is a 3 and a half hours long, with a full breakfast, mimosas and bloody marys. We'd love to have you out... More
0
Votes