We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Island Breeze Luau

Courtyard Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, 75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
+1 808-326-4969
Website
Save
Book In Advance
In high demand - travellers recommend booking ahead!
More Info
US$106.01*
and up
Island Breeze Luau on the Big Island
More Info
US$213.26*
and up
Kona Submarine Adventure and Island Breeze Luau
Get 10% off your next tour or activity booking.Valid for new TripAdvisor sign-ups only.
Join TripAdvisor
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Voted the Best of West Hawaii since 2000 , the Island Breeze Lu'au and is located on the shores of Kamakahonu Bay and the historic grounds of the Courtyard Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel. An evening filled with delicious food and authentic Island entertainment. Highlights include the re-enactment of the arrival of Kamehameha I aboard an outrigger canoe, the unearthing of the imu (underground oven), preliminary arts and crafts where you have a chance to meet the performers, a 22-dish buffet, an open bar and the finale of the Siva Afi - spectacular Samoan Fireknife dance.
  • Excellent53%
  • Very good27%
  • Average13%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“hula lessons” (45 reviews)
“royal court” (32 reviews)
Closed
Hours
Hours Today: Closed
Suggested Duration: 2-3 hours
LOCATION
Courtyard Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, 75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
CONTACT
Website
+1 808-326-4969
Write a ReviewReviews (1,085)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"hula lessons"
in 45 reviews
"preferred seating"
in 55 reviews
"royal court"
in 32 reviews
"polynesian islands"
in 31 reviews
"kalua pig"
in 31 reviews
"pork"
in 57 reviews
"mai tais"
in 57 reviews
"king kamehameha hotel"
in 36 reviews
"temporary tattoos"
in 15 reviews
"pre show"
in 17 reviews
"priority seating"
in 21 reviews
"punch bowl"
in 14 reviews
"underground oven"
in 12 reviews
"courtyard marriott"
in 13 reviews
"fire dancers"
in 11 reviews
"the big island"
in 71 reviews
"the aloha spirit"
in 11 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 1,061 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were staying at the Courtyard Marriott so we chose this luau be of its convenience. Overall, it wasn't a terrible as long as you know what you are expecting. I attended a luau in Maui and I would say they were very similar. The...More

1  Thank TerraM27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J-HuGeneralManager, General Manager at Island Breeze Luau, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for letting us know about your luau experience with us. Mahalo, Jak Hu General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

NOT your traditional luau. Still trying to figure out what we witnessed - "a really bad high school talent show" I believe another reviewer said. Unfortunately, couldn't agree more. Food was sub-par. Wouldn't say it was "all you can eat" either as most everything was...More

Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J-HuGeneralManager, General Manager at Island Breeze Luau, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We're so sorry to learn of your disappointing luau experience. I will be sharing your comments with the producers of the event, along with the banquet staff at our hotel. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Jak Hu General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were staying at the hotel the Luau was held. The entertainment was fantastic, great music and singing. The food was Luau food, just ok. The night was beautiful. We enjoyed it.

Thank Shel445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
konakohala, Public Relations Manager at Island Breeze Luau, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Mahalo for your review - we are so glad you enjoyed your evening and take home special memories!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

we had a great time at the Luau. We had 8 people, me and my wife, 3 grandparents, and 3 kids 16, 14,9. Arrival and seating was easy. You dont have to get there an hour early to get a good spot. They sat us...More

Thank carsonsig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The worst most pathetic excuse for a luau. They take more than a 100$ per adult and then make you sit next a restroom. You can barely see anything sitting where you do. There is no information on the website or when you call except...More

Thank PrincessSugar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J-HuGeneralManager, General Manager at Island Breeze Luau, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Aloha, I'm sorry your visit to the luau was so disappointing. I will be sharing your comments with the producers of the event for their review and action as needed. I do want to clarify that we receive the number of expected guests + extra...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had a really good time.lits of food and the drinks were unlimited. I would recommend this to any one.

Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
konakohala, Public Relations Manager at Island Breeze Luau, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Mahalo for your recommendation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We really enjoyed this Luau located at the Courtyard Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel. It was well worth the $100 per person cost. The entertainment was wonderful, really first class with hula dancers and a fire dancing solo at the end. They had a...More

Thank Joe1976_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

If you’ve never done a luau and you’re saying I HAVE to do one, this one is pretty good. The food is great, all drinks are included (even booze), and it’s entertaining. They teach you a little something about all the Polynesian islands. The entertainers...More

Thank lyle7692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
konakohala, Public Relations Manager at Island Breeze Luau, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Mahalo for choosing the Island Breeze Luʻau during your recent visit to Hawaiʻi. Yes, everyone is definitely having fun - we are blessed to be able to call Hawaiʻi home and what better job then to enjoy a luʻau with guests to our island!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I’ve been to 3 other luaus and this one is a solid number 4 :( Staff was bored, disinterested and borderline rude [maitre ‘d]. Check in was slow & poorly organized. Food was mediocre at best. Performers were the only ones that seemed to be...More

Thank Wayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J-HuGeneralManager, General Manager at Island Breeze Luau, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We're unhappy to learn that your experience at the lu'au was not as enjoyable as it was intended to be. Thank you for taking the time to let us know. Mahalo, Jak Hu General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My family had the pleasure to enjoy the evening with this great presentation. Dancers where phenomenal, well dressed, incredible show and great music. We arrived 40 min before the show and we had drinks to entertain ourselves while we wait for the show. The pig...More

Thank 5cargotravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 47 hotels in Island of Hawaii
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
3,202 reviews
.20 km away
Kona Seaside Hotel
1,285 reviews
.32 km away
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
537 reviews
.55 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
507 reviews
.65 km away
Nearby Restaurants
One Aloha Shave Ice Co
121 reviews
.34 km away
Splasher's Grill
3,028 reviews
.21 km away
Menehune Coffee Company
185 reviews
.17 km away
Fish Hopper Seafood and Steaks
3,173 reviews
.26 km away
Nearby Attractions
Kailua Pier
290 reviews
.23 km away
Kamakahonu
102 reviews
.23 km away
Ahuena Heiau
95 reviews
.06 km away
HYPR Nalu Hawaii
531 reviews
.23 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Diana B
7 April 2018|
Answer
Response from konakohala | Property representative |
Aloha! tickets and reservations are required. You can purchase tickets by visiting our website EventsByIslandBreeze or calling (808)326-4969
1
Vote
jocelynjocelynn
18 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 12 answers
Response from konakohala | Property representative |
yes of course!
0
Votes
Timothy T
30 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from jono13 | Reviewed this property |
Seems 'free drinks' at most places are very basic limited choices from our experience. Don't go for the free drinks.
1
Vote